We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Home away from Home in Orvieto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View
Ranked #1 of 57 Orvieto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middle Grove, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Home away from Home in Orvieto”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

It's truly possible to feel at home away from home in this lovely apartment. My wife and I stayed in Sabrina's apartment for 2 weeks in November, 2012 and returned for another 3 weeks in May, 2013. I think that amounts to a tremendous vote of confidence in the apartment and in a warm attentive hostess who has now become our friend. The view is everything it's reputed to be and the location is perfect for exploring Orvieto, which is now "our town" in Italy. Sabrina also rents the two rooms as a B&B but we rented the full apartment so we could make full use of the kitchenette and invite guests to join us. If you drive to Orvieto, Sabrina provides free parking less than 5 minutes away, which is a significant plus considering the parking situation in most of Italy's Hill Towns. In our case, we took the train from Rome and reached Orvieto in about an hour and a quarter. The funicolare which takes you up to the town is just a few steps from the train station. From there, a shuttle bus takes you to the center of town, about 2 blocks from RipaMedici. Orvieto is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation in a town rich in history and culture and RipaMedici is the perfect place to stay in Orvieto.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    43
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
350
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Sabrina met us where the bus dropped us off in town and took us to the apartment, which is on the first floor. There were two rooms plus a bathroom and a kitchenette. The first room had a table with four chairs, some lovely cabinets and a sofa bed made up for our daughter. The bedroom had a double bed with a canopy and a small table with two chairs. The bathroom contained a toilet and shower, and was very clean. The kitchenette contained a fridge, four gas hotplates, an electric oven, a coffee maker, a kettle and plenty of cutlery and crockery. Tea, coffee, sugar, salt and cooking oil were also provided. There was wi-fi in the apartment. Ripa Medici is on the edge of the cliff, so the views from both rooms were wonderful! Breakfast was at Sabrina’s place just up the street. It was fantastic – eggs, pastries, breads, meats, cheeses, homemade cake (still warm from the oven!), cappuccino, tea, juice. More than we could possibly eat! Sabrina herself was lovely and suggested places to eat and (most importantly) where we should buy gelato. Orvieto is an absolute gem and we loved Ripa Medici.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loki_crazycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed only one night at this lovely B&B and would have stayed much longer if it had been available. The room we stayed in was very nice and the view out over the valley was spectacular. There is also a shared sitting area which is very comfortable. And, the breakfast was probably the best we had in a month in Italy. The key to all this is Sabrina, the owner, who treats every guest as though they are a personal guest in her home. She is thougtful, has a wonderful sense of humour, and very focused on the well being of her customers. In fact, you never feel like a customer, more like staying with a friend.

We will be returning to Italy next year and you can be sure that if we are in Orvieto again, this is where we will stay. Thank you Sabrina for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toucantango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Ripa Medici B & B for 3 nights in April. Of the week and a half that we vacationed in Italy, this was truly our most favorite B & B. There is so much that I could say, but in short, Ripa Medici is a little piece of heaven here on earth and we felt like we were leaving family when it was time to go.

Both of the rooms are beautiful, each with a spectacular view. The beds were so comfortable and the location is quiet!!! My favorite was spending time with Sabrina at breakfast. She served us in her welcoming Italian kitchen! I still dream about those breakfasts (again, the best of our whole trip). Each day was a little different, ranging from crepes, fresh fruit,fresh eggs, homemade bread, pastries, panna cotta (so delicious!!!!!), fresh meats and of course cappuccino! Sabrina and her family were so kind to take time to answer all of our questions about Italian life; even when her dear friend, Francesca visited, they made us feel like we were family! (Francesca also has a B & B, called Michelangeli and it is obvious that she is also eager to accommodate!!)

Definitely visit the Mezza Luna Restaurant, just a walk from the B & B. Order the pasta carbonera - absolutely amazing!!!!!!!!!!

We fell in love with Orvieto. It's people, it's food, it's beauty….sweet memories. In my dreams, I'm retiring there!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrihop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This apartment is well situated near the outer wall of Orvieto with superb views over the valley. It is conveniently located near to one of the main car parks with elevator access only 100m away. It is an easy 15 minute walk through the heart of Orvieto to the Funicular at the opposite end wall. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment, by combining the two single bedroom options, providing 2 bathrooms, kitchenette, washing machine and lots of room. It was great, close to everything and with really good WiFi. We organized the booking with Sabrina through the website. She welcomed us and gave us a map with recommendations for restaurants and was available for any queries. She even gave us a reserved car park pass for when we had the hire car, which made things very convenient. I would recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Orvieto.

Room Tip: The apartment has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieve di Cadore, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Long after the photos have faded we still have our beautiful memories of mornings spent together around the breakfast table at the home of Sabrina and Federico. Each morning Sabrina would surprise us with delicious homemade breads, cakes, tarts, crepes, panna cotta, fresh fruits along with cheeses and meats from the Umbrian country side. Our days began with much laugher and good conversation. Our room was lovely with spectacular views over the walls of the city. The B&B is well positioned and provided a quiet respite. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaPasquale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ripa Medici two weeks ago. Sabrina and her family were the perfect hosts and warmly welcomed us to Orvieto. The room was charming with a canopy bed and beautiful view of the surrounding countryside, as the B&B is perched just above the town walls. The breakfast was the best that we had during two weeks in Italy, served in the family apartment 25 meters from the B&B. Sabrina directed us to two of the best restaurants that we had on the trip, Trattoria La Palomba and Trattoria Del Moro.
Ripa Medici has two rooms with a common area between the two, so it would be perfect for one couple, two couples, or a family that needs two bedrooms. It is located just a few hundred meters from the main street and in a perfect quiet neighborhood of the city. Orvieto is a perfect get-away from Rome and is just an hour away by train.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chez61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#6 of 28 in Orvieto
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#4 of 28 in Orvieto
704 reviews
2.0 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 28 in Orvieto
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 28 in Orvieto
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Michelangeli
B&B Michelangeli
#2 of 57 in Orvieto
336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Altarocca Wine Resort
Altarocca Wine Resort
#2 of 28 in Orvieto
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View

Property: B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View
Address: Vicolo Ripa Medici 14, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ripa Medici is perfectly located in the medieval quartier. The light airy rooms are large, furniture is elegant and comfortable and there are parquet floors. The home has a romantic atmosphere, every window is like a picture: the landscape is wonderful! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B Ripa Medici Rooms with a View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Ripa Medici
b&b Ripa Medici Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing