We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Orvieto, Province of Terni, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
yns_10
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
839 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Modern, spacious, luxurious two bedroom, two level apartment which integrates elements of the historic building it is in. The location on Corso Cavour is ideal. Thoughtful inclusions from bathroom amenities, water in fridge, some basic kitchen supplies, washing machine liquid, band aides, etc. the small balcony was perfect for viewing Corpus Domini procession in comfort! The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen state of the art – I was almost tempted to cook but the restaurants were just too good! Charming hosts that were very helpful with recommendations and organising transport. Highly recommend both the city and this exquisite apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KSD444
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect home base in Umbria”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Il Palazzaccio for 9 nights in April and I recommend it highly. First Valerie was very responsive and helpful both before our stay and when we arrived. The apartment itself is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We loved being on the main street and within easy walking distance to all of Orvieto. We kept our rental car parked at the free lot at the bottom of the funicular and rode the funicular up when we came and left Orvieto. We purchased groceries both at the large COOP on the way to the parking and at the small grocery just a few doors away from the apartment. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen well set up for cooking. We appreciated having the washer and used the great drying rack (and the balcony on sunny days) to dry our clothes. Thank you so much Valerie for being such a wonderful host.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcclay14
Bendigo
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a wonderful apartment and Host”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had been travelling for 6 weeks when we arrived at this beautiful apartment, Il palazzaccio feeling travel weary, we were able to relax and really unwind in this gorgeous place. The apartment has the best of everything, memory foam mattress for weary travellers, washing machine, terribly important when you have been travelling for a period of time. The apartment is opposite the Theatre in the centre of town, we were able to sit on the balcony and eat a lovely meal that we cooked ourselves in the state of the art kitchen and listen to opera. Wow. Our host Valerie could not have been more helpful. Thankyou Valerie we would love to stay with you again some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this apartment is fantastic
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“It was PERFECT!”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Upon our arrival we had a bit of a challenge to get to location as the funicular was not working. Fortunately our host was outside location to make sure we found our way. As it is with the walled city we walked to location which is right across from the Theatre and close to main square. (pack light). The 2 bedroom apartment was brilliant and newly renovated to be over the top amazing. We had a wonderful stay and would come back again. YOU really need 2 days here to even touch all the area has to offer. Our Host were he BEST!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and apartment
Liked least: That I had not stayed an extra day - Loved the city
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Steven...
2 reviews
“Il Palazzaccio”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Il Palazzaccio is an immaculate, stylish apartment in the centre of Orvieto. It has an elegant feel, with everything you need provided generously. Valérie Baloux is happy to provide help, advice or support when needed, without being intrusive. All amenities are close by; bakery, supermarket etc, and the magnificent Duomo is a few minutes walk away. It is difficult to imagine a more central and comfortable place to stay in this delightful town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OttawaShe...
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous location, comfortable palazzo with all modern conveniences. 2 storey apt with bedrooms on upper floor. Across from theatre on main street. Well supplied with everything from tea bags to jam. Great gas hob, dishwasher, washing machine etc. Comfortable beds, sofa, chairs, sweet little balcony. A great base for a visit to a great town. We stayed 4 nights and loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extra details like coffee, milk, detergent included so we could spend all our time touring or relaxing
Liked least: No air conditioning though there are 2 portable fans.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cwatts201...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment in an idyllic hilltop village”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The apartment is very special it is like walking into a property from 'Grand Designs' . Valerie has thought of everything when kiting out the apartment. All of the home from home comforts made the difference. Great location with a little balcony to sit out and drink wine on whilst watching the world go by. Valerie was a great host and when asked to recommend places to visit as part of our Italian tour she gave us names of idyllic little towns and villages. She helped make our holiday in this region special. Trying to think of negatives but no sorry can't!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How beautiful the apartment was.
Liked least: Steps down the well in Ovietto.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing