We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family of five loved it!”
Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Reviewed 4 July 2011

On one day's notice, the Tourism office of Orvieto recommended Hotel Posta for our family of five. Located on a tiny alley off the main piazza, Hotel Posta was clean, affordable and the hostess was very friendly. We had two adjoining rooms for less than most hotels were charging for one room. Don't expect anything glamorous, but for comfortable, economical rooms, you can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining rooms if you have 4+ in your gr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLCSteve2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a very pleasant stay for a few days in the cheapest double room with common used bathroom. The price is the best in town, and the hotel is easy to find. We enjoyed the ambience very much, but we don't need much luxury. In springtime it wasn't crowded with other guests either. The view is on the Torre del Moro, and there's also a nice patio.
The only thing that could be a approvement is the shower, for it is now a bath and this costs to much water (this counts also for the toilets).
But next time I do come there again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex652223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Orvieto is an amazing place to visit and Hotel Posta was a nice place to stay. The only difficulty we had was when we got there - the hostess was not at the check in desk. We stood there and were not sure what to do for a little while - but about 10 minutes, the hostess came and checked us in. The room was clean as was the bathroom.
I guess there was one negative but it wasn't a negative about Hotel Posta but of Orvieto. Orvieto has more than its fair amount of bell towers..... Unless you are used to the ringing bells - it may make it a challenge to sleep.
The bells were just a slight nuisance. It certainly wouldn't keep me from going back to Orvieto or the Hotel Posta.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattRizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The lady on the reception desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and had all we needed, we used the shared bathroom which was a little poorly designed the toilet is wedged in the corner and there is no shower curtain or shower just handheld extension so hard to shower without wetting the whole bathroom. The hotel is undergoing renovations which mean it's not perfect but no doubt when they are finished it will be excellent. The location is great right in the centre of Orvieto, and there is a supermarket across the lane where food can be purchased. Orvieto itself would be better visited as just a day trip on the train from Rome though, it's beautiful and interesting and obviously relies heavilly on tourism for it's income, however we got spat it in the face by two young men on a scooter which was very upsetting, especially as it was a deliberate act. My partner went on the cave tour under the town which was interesting. I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers but best to visit Orvieto just for the day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here for one night without having a reservation. The location is great, just a half-alley off of a main drag, and the woman working the front desk was friendly and helpful. On first sight, our room (double, no bath) seemed great...small and quaint, with a window overlooking a courtyard and a full-on view of the clock tower (the chiming didn't bother us, but I can see how it might bother some people...it's a little loud). Unfortunately, the garden/courtyard was under major renovation/construction, and was nothing at all to look at (messy, in fact), though I can imagine once it's done it'll be very nice. And after a little while, we started noticing the holes in the walls and exposed wiring and unfinished updates throughout the interior...but nothing was a problem, it was just a little unsightly. We didn't use the shared showers, so I can't speak to those, though they did look very small. Overall, if you don't plan on doing much in your room but sleeping, the Hotel Posta is just fine.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malisams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Easy to find in a good central location near the duomo. Also very near a large clock tower that tolls through the night. Stayed with my spouse and a 2 year old in a double room with a private bathroom. Small room, larger bathroom with bath tub and bidet. Our window with a courtyard view was blocked by scaffolding. However, the front desk was nice and friendly, the room was clean and the shower was hot.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elwarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

After much research we thought we had booked the Magnolia B & B in Orvieto but weeks before leaving we discovered we had booked a property with a similar name 400 km away. When we discovered the mistake they were booked up. We ended up at Hotel Posta based on reviews and availability. We had paid to have parking which turned out to be in a 1 car garage that already had 1 car stored in it! I had to park with an inch between the drivers side and other car and climb out the other side via a small sliver of space.

The lobby is old and very run down, lobby sofa was old, saggy and not too clean. There was scaffolding everywhere out back of the lobby. No English was spoken at all, keys were left out on the front desk unattended and with staff rarely around we could have easily entered anyones room at anytime. There were big holes in walls/stair wells with wiring hanging out and besides being unsightly I am not sure how safe it was/is??

The bathrooms have a tub with hand held shower and no shower curtain. The water pressure was non existent and dribbled out making a shower not much fun. The church bell accross the street rung on the hour and 1/2 hour making sleeping a challenge.

We ended up leaving a night early for Rome where the Hotel Aberdeen turned out to be marvellous. Unfortunately we met folks in Venice who had stayed at the Magnolia B&B and raved about it. I would take a pass on this Hotel and in fact I think Orvieto is best done as a day trip or one night at most.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank no1hockeymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
795 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#9 of 30 in Orvieto
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#15 of 30 in Orvieto
283 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Penisola Hotel
La Penisola Hotel
#22 of 30 in Orvieto
84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oasi dei Discepoli
Oasi dei Discepoli
#12 of 30 in Orvieto
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Address: Via Luca Signorelli 18, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range: £40 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Posta 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing