We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fine budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Posta
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Orvieto
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A fine budget hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel Posta is a safe bet in a central location for budget travelers. Others have mentioned the church bells, but I wasn't bothered by them at all. The desk clerk, Alessia, is a hip young woman who's charming, friendly and helpful. My single room was spotless, and although basic, it had a pleasant atmosphere and a comfortable bed. I'd stay here again without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    78
    43
    11
    9
See reviews for
25
97
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essendon, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A lovely hotel, with atmospheric, pretty rooms. Friendly staff. Just a few minutes' walk from the Duomo, and the beautiful piazza there.

Room comes complete with an ensuite containing an actual bath, and is clean and comfortable. Other reviews have mentioned the damn bells from churches and towers which rang every 15 minutes right through the night, but I guess you'll hear these no matter where you stay in this absolutely wonderful medieval town. Maybe I'll try earplugs next time.

The hotel was supposed to have free wi-fi, but while I was there, it wasn't working, and the lady at the desk was unable to sort out whatever was wrong. That one small issue aside, a perfect stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Churches' bells all the time. And there is a tower right next to the hotel. The bells keep going even during the night.
room floor feels dirty but otherwise everything's fine.
Simple breakfast and wifi only in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Very nice place situated in a perfect spot in beautiful Orvieto. Family hotel. Basic. Friendly.
Room are not top notch, but definitely do not lack atmosphere. Cleanliness is so so and the towels are not much more then pieces of cotton. But the location, the extreme friendliness, easy going atmosphere, atrractive price and wifi make up for the shortcomings. Will go back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirkaarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We are two older Australian women friends who recently made a trip to Italy. In Orvieto we were lucky to have found Hotel Posta. It was like a "Pensione" of old. The staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. Our twin room was spotless, spacious and tastefully furnished with old furniture. Breakfast was simple but good and served in the dining room which overlooked a courtyard and garden.
The hotel is central to everything, with good restaurants (are there any bad restaurants in Italy?) nearby, a supermarket across the little street and a pleasant walk up to the Duomo.
The beautiful sonorous bells added to the pleasure of our 5 night stay at Hotel Posta in Orvieto.
We both agreed that we would definitely stay there again and can highly recommend this budget hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street. A room overlooking the garden would probably be quieter but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lazylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Cheap and conveniently located hotel. Nothing special but the staff were always very helpful and willing to go out of their way for you. We would stay here again. Orvieto is a quite little village that is definitely worth a quick visit and is a great place to stop before catching the train onwards to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_travell0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

When we decided to do a stopover in Orvieto, we checked out availability and found this hotel as a budget option. It turned out to be one of the nicest places we stayed in during our trip. The room was large and comfortable, very clean with crisp white sheets. We looked on to a garden below, which was a great place to relax and have a picninc, and the town clock tower. The tower bell did ring early and late, but it really added to the ambiance. We had a shared bath, which was clean and functional. Note that internet is weak and only available right near the main reception desk, but there is a great cafe on the square nearby across from il Duomo that offers good cappuccino and fast internet. Breakfast is generous and served in a lovely formal dining room. All in all, great value for a good hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: There are street and courtyard rooms. The courtyard rooms will have the town clock tower bell ringi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 29 in Orvieto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#15 of 29 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oasi dei Discepoli
Oasi dei Discepoli
#13 of 29 in Orvieto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Picchio
Hotel Picchio
#8 of 29 in Orvieto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Property: Hotel Posta
Address: Via Luca Signorelli 18, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Posta 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing