We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good on the Budget”
Review of Hotel Posta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Posta
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Woodstock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location, Good on the Budget”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed one night at Hotel Posta to be close to everything in Orvieto, and for a break on the budget. We were not disappointed. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. Our room faced the garden and the church bells, but having heard about them, we closed the windows and shutters and had earplugs and slept solidly through the night.

The staff was friendly and helpful.There are enough couches in the lobby to access the public area internet with comfort. We enjoyed the breakfast that came with our room. There were mosquitoes in late September so we did not sit long in the garden.

This hotel was excellent value in a prime location in central Orvieto. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    80
    45
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
101
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have been to Orvieto a number of times and I love it but I have never stayed so close to the Duomo before and I am afraid I would not stay so close again. The bells toll every 15 minutes all through the night, and it is very hard to sleep through them.
Apart from that, the rooms were old style,with very old beds and furnishings but they were clean. The bathroom was small but clean and the problems with their internet connections seem to be an ongoing one, so I wouldn’t rely on it being available or working. There was a really nice garden area with tables which I am guessing, was for the use of guests and you could have breakfast there if you wanted.
You get what you pay for, and it is in great position if you can sleep through anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel Posta is a safe bet in a central location for budget travelers. Others have mentioned the church bells, but I wasn't bothered by them at all. The desk clerk, Alessia, is a hip young woman who's charming, friendly and helpful. My single room was spotless, and although basic, it had a pleasant atmosphere and a comfortable bed. I'd stay here again without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essendon, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

A lovely hotel, with atmospheric, pretty rooms. Friendly staff. Just a few minutes' walk from the Duomo, and the beautiful piazza there.

Room comes complete with an ensuite containing an actual bath, and is clean and comfortable. Other reviews have mentioned the damn bells from churches and towers which rang every 15 minutes right through the night, but I guess you'll hear these no matter where you stay in this absolutely wonderful medieval town. Maybe I'll try earplugs next time.

The hotel was supposed to have free wi-fi, but while I was there, it wasn't working, and the lady at the desk was unable to sort out whatever was wrong. That one small issue aside, a perfect stay. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Churches' bells all the time. And there is a tower right next to the hotel. The bells keep going even during the night.
room floor feels dirty but otherwise everything's fine.
Simple breakfast and wifi only in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Very nice place situated in a perfect spot in beautiful Orvieto. Family hotel. Basic. Friendly.
Room are not top notch, but definitely do not lack atmosphere. Cleanliness is so so and the towels are not much more then pieces of cotton. But the location, the extreme friendliness, easy going atmosphere, atrractive price and wifi make up for the shortcomings. Will go back here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dirkaarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We are two older Australian women friends who recently made a trip to Italy. In Orvieto we were lucky to have found Hotel Posta. It was like a "Pensione" of old. The staff were helpful, friendly and courteous. Our twin room was spotless, spacious and tastefully furnished with old furniture. Breakfast was simple but good and served in the dining room which overlooked a courtyard and garden.
The hotel is central to everything, with good restaurants (are there any bad restaurants in Italy?) nearby, a supermarket across the little street and a pleasant walk up to the Duomo.
The beautiful sonorous bells added to the pleasure of our 5 night stay at Hotel Posta in Orvieto.
We both agreed that we would definitely stay there again and can highly recommend this budget hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street. A room overlooking the garden would probably be quieter but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lazylily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#14 of 30 in Orvieto
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valentino Hotel
Valentino Hotel
#15 of 30 in Orvieto
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Filippeschi
Hotel Filippeschi
#18 of 30 in Orvieto
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#20 of 30 in Orvieto
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posta

Property: Hotel Posta
Address: Via Luca Signorelli 18, Orvieto, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Posta 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Posta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posta Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing