We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best B&B’s in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Poseidonia Mare
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“One of the Best B&B’s in Italy”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We arrived in the late afternoon at the end of a long drive from Rome. As we walked through the front doors, we were graciously met by Fabio, who knew immediately who we were. He then removed our bags from our car, checked us in, and escorted us to our room, which was spacious with a long balcony from which the sea could be seen. Our criteria was a location close to the sea, i.e., within walking distance, and as close to the Paestum Archeological Park as possible, just half a mile.

The service was excellent with the breakfast, without question, being the best we’ve had in ten years of traveling in Italy. Nino, who owns the Hotel Poseidonia Mare, produced breakfasts that had the best scrambled eggs ever and an egg with bacon that can’t be found anywhere in Italy. Nino and Fabio’s recommendation for dinner was perfect, within a short walking distance, close to the beach, and excellent food.

Nino, Fabio, and Alessandro made our stay a high point in our travels through Southern Italy. Both my wife and I highly recommend the Hotel Poseidonia Mare, one of the best B&B’s in Italy. We are looking forward to returning someday soon. At the end of our stay, Fabio went out of his way to assist us in planning our drive to Taormina, which went exactly as he hoped it would. In fact, we arrived at our destination earlier than anticipated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    48
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
92
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Excellent service, clean rooms with balconies, best location in Paestum! It's only a short stroll to the beach with grocery stores and alimentari nearby. Also close to many ancient ruins and buffalo farms that make amazing mozarella!
The hotel has a great patio for lounging/dancing and very accommodating staff. They know how to mix a good stiff drink if that's your thing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our experience wasn't quite as wonderful as the other reviews. We had booked two rooms for one night. Our room was alright, albeit very dark and depressing. Our daughter & her husband's room had a bad smell that the staff obviously tried to cover up with air freshener which made our daughter quite nauseous. After we informed the front desk, they did change rooms for them. Otherwise the staff was kind and friendly and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colskibabegoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

What made our stay here so wonderful was the staff. Fabio was a true friend to travellers. He was unbelievably kind and thoughtful. He really was outstanding with helping us with bookings and ensuring our comfort. Nino made the best bacon and eggs in Italy. The food was incredible . The use of the local products in the gourmet cooking was the best experience of our month in Italy. The best coffee. The hotel was literally 2 minutes from the beach. Walking to the ruins was another adventure.
The hotel had lovely big rooms, and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was great. This was an unforgetable experience of the best Italy had to offer. Absolute magic. The best memories. Did we have a great time- yes we did because of the staff, the hotel and the locality were incredible. Thank you so much from 2 Australians.

Room Tip: Do not miss the dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

we stayed here for one night. rooms were clean and quite adequate for our needs. the staff is obviously committed to serving the guests. Protected parking on site free of charge. Nice breakfast included. we had dinner here as well, two choices for menu each night, nicely prepared and served. Reasonable prices for the dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldrunner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a good stay here. The hotel is a short walk to the ruins and also right next to the beach.The staff were the most friendly and helpful people, to us and to other guests who were in need of more assistance. Decent rooms at very reasonable prices. Lots of restaurants surrounding it so food is always available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Simply put, the Poseidonia Mare is the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Between Alessandro, the owner, and Fabio, the manager, you will feel welcomed as you never have before. This family-owned establishment takes exceptional pride in caring for its guests. Everything about our stay was amazing, from the comfy train station transfer to the welcome drink to the room to breakfast and gratis bike usage. We loved it so much that we changes plans ... originally, we had only planned to stay one night, but we couldn't bear to leave so quickly. Please, try it yourself ... the region is lovely, not-to-be-missed, and the Poseidonia Mare is the best place to base yourself while visiting.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashbarlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#2 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#9 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidonia Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidonia Mare

Property: Hotel Poseidonia Mare
Address: Via Torre di Mare 16, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidonia Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-minute walk from the beach and 1 km from the archaeological site of Paestum, Hotel Poseidonia Mare offers free private parking, free bicycle rentals, and a free fitness area. The air-conditioned rooms feature free WiFi, a minibar and satellite TV. Poseidonia Mare Hotel's restaurant, open for dinner, serves delicious local cuisine including homemade pasta, buffalo mozzarella and organic vegetables. An American-style breakfast is prepared daily. The wine bar offers an interesting regional selection. During spring and summer aperitifs can be served in the garden near an ancient water spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Poseidonia Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing