We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Poseidonia Mare
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

What sets Hotel Poseidonia Mare apart is the staff - they are truly wonderful and inviting. It's rare these days when staff genuinely seem happy to see you. But in the case here folks like Nino are truly great. The hotel itself has some funky decoration that alludes to the Paestum motifs. But the rooms are clean and functional. Bikes can be rented or loaned. That's a plus. For restaurants the nearby collection is okay, but you're better off either walking or driving to those right next to the Paestum ruins. For those arriving by car via Salerno, don't be dissuaded by the strip malls and sprawl on the road into Paestum. These drop off as you get near the beach area and the ruins.

Room Tip: I think all are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem. It is located within easy walking distance of the beach and a short hike from the historical sites in Paestum. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The rooms were very nicely furnished and quite clean. My only complaint (and a minor one at that) would be the shower in my room which was the approximate dimensions of a wash basin and threatened to overflow. On the whole, however, the Hotel Poseidonia is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubberMeetsRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Driving to the hotel was a little honky tonk, which was why we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The room was very good size and had a bunk bed for our daughter who was traveling with us. We did have dinner at the hotel and were a little surprised that the hours were 7:30 to 9:00, but it did work for us. The balcony that was off our room was very cozy and had a nice view of a stream.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have been coming to this hotel since the summer 1999 when I was studying abroad in Italy. Of all the things my professor introduced me to, Paestum and Hotel Poseidonia Mare are what I loved the most. It truly is paradise. If you're looking for someplace a stone's throw from the beach, where "la dolce vita" is way of life, this is your place. From the ruins, to the local restaurants, to the buffalo farm, to the beautiful Mediterranean beach, Paestum is a hidden gem. I really can't say enough good things about the place. I will come here whenever I can until the day I die. Lastly, the staff at this place will make you feel like family. They think of everything and bend over backwards to make you feel at home. I can't even put into words the way they make you feel like one of the family. I wouldn't even consider staying someplace else if I were in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar. What's most important is that you eat the seafood from their restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a very worn hotel. The owners were very nice and were so accommodating - but they couldn't make up for the mold on the bathroom walls and terrace. The room and bathroom smelled very musty. Towels were small and worn. Breakfast wasn't very good. Location was good if you wanted to walk to the beach. The hotel is close to the ruins. The front desk was so nice I feel badly writing this review - but I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TERRI SCHWARTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is a real gem. It is brilliantly located, some rooms having a sea view and with easy walking distance of the amazing Greek temples on the archeological site. Local Mozzarella production is a feature. The service was excellent - the breakfasts and evening meals likewise. We went past the high season and so the hotel as with much in Paestum, was quite quiet. In addition to local sites, you can get easily into Naples, Herculaneum, Pompei and the Amalfi coast.

The rooms were very comfortable with real attention to detail in the decor. The staff were exceptionally helpful. We would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms face into the street, others to the rear over the garden and have a view towards the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The staff was friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable about the surrounding area. They suggested to go to a buffalo farm where you could see every stage of the buffalo's life and the process of how mozzarella cheese is made. We had amazing meals at the hotel including pasta with fresh vegetables and sword fish. The best part of breakfast was the spread of fresh fruit and the warm football sized cornetti. In addition, the hotel is 500 feet form a beautiful beach. I had a wonderful view of a small river coming down from the mountain to the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccaval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.6 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Minerva Resort Hotel
Minerva Resort Hotel
#15 of 33 in Paestum
248 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
631 reviews
1.0 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidonia Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidonia Mare

Address: Via Torre di Mare 16, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range: £69 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidonia Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-minute walk from the beach and 1 km from the archaeological site of Paestum, Hotel Poseidonia Mare offers free private parking, free bicycle rentals, and a free fitness area. The air-conditioned rooms feature free WiFi, a minibar and satellite TV. Poseidonia Mare Hotel's restaurant, open for dinner, serves delicious local cuisine including homemade pasta, buffalo mozzarella and organic vegetables. An American-style breakfast is prepared daily. The wine bar offers an interesting regional selection. During spring and summer aperitifs can be served in the garden near an ancient water spring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Poseidonia Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing