We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding in the Most Amazing Setting”
Review of Ristorante Nettuno

Ristorante Nettuno
Ranked #10 of 81 Restaurants in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Wedding in the Most Amazing Setting”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband and I had our wedding reception at Ristorante Nettuno. We had the most amazing time and our guests were stunned by the venue:

Food: The food is remarkably fresh and delicious. Our guests told us repeatedly that the food was amazing. We enjoyed everything, but my personal favorite was the marinated salmon and my husband loved the crepes with the buffalo mozzarella. Remember to save room for desert. Because after our amazing meal when we didn't think we could eat anymore, we enjoyed an assortment of incredible deserts.

Location: The setting is beyond breathtaking. It is in a historic building, next to the Greek temples. Our guests were blown away with the amazing backdrop.

Service: In one word: EXCELLENT!! Sig. Pina and her staff are wonderful. They are friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we and all of our guests had all we need.

Even though we had our wedding here, the restaurant is not just for special events. We ate hear a few other times and the food, atmosphere, and service have always been stellar. So whether it is a special occasion or just a normal night out, there is no better restaurant in all of Paestum than Ristorante Nettuno.

Sig. Pina, thank you to you and your staff for all your help in creating the wedding of our dreams.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    108
    42
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
167 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant to dine in.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We accidentally found this restaurant after our Tour at the Archaeological Site, and what a lovely surprise. The food is fresh and good tasting and we enjoy the tranquility atmosphere. I could understand that it is a Michelin recommended Resto.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsLigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After walking around the ruins it was nice to find a reasonable restaurant for lunch situated in the grounds. No rip off prices or bad food €14 for a wonderful lunch with wine and dessert. Excellent service

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank soobroo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good restaurant in an amazing location!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Who would imagine that the food would be so good in a restaurant so close to a world-class heritage site? Maybe I am cynical, but I always suspect that restaurants right next to tourist hot spots are going to be disappointing. But this restaurant - Ristorante Nettuno - has forced me to revise that idea - the food was really very good, the welcome and service charming, and the location - a stone's throw from the amazing temples of Paestum.
We'd just walked past the last of the temples, and we feeling in need of sustenance, when we saw an attractive old building just beyond the permitter fence of the site. Walking over to take a closer look, we saw a gateway between the site and the grounds of what we could see to be a restaurant. Without hoping for much, we walked over to look at the menu. It looked appealing - classic Italian dishes and not "pizza and chips". Looking inside, the restaurant's decor looked very promising.
Once inside, we immediately knew that this was a proper restaurant and not a tourist trap. The welcome was warm but professional. There were several tables of other diners - all seemed to be Italian and all seemed to be enjoying their food.
Our waiter was friendly and welcoming. We chose grilled sea bream, pancakes with porcini mushrooms, and a dish of linguini with a sauce I can no longer remember! The sea bream was as good as one would find anywhere - supremely fresh and cooked to perfection. The linguine delighted my fussy 14 year old son (excellent!) and my pancakes were a delight - not a huge quantity of porcini, but the cheese-based filling was delicious. We could not have been more pleased with our food and we would certainly eat here again of we were to revisit the temples - personally, I can't wait to go again!
Ristorante Nettuno is a seriously good restaurant. A beautiful building with a wonderful high-ceilinged dining room in which the tables are well spaced. A classical Italian menu with excellent produce very well cooked. Excellent service from friendly waiters. All this, and it is right best door to a site of fabulous ancient Greek temples! How surprising, but how wonderful!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Billecartsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield
Level Contributor
702 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Superb location and food.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Ristorante Nettuno is located in a lovely, ancient building, which on its own would be a special experience, but it is also situated right next to the spectacular temples of Paestum. That alone is reason enough to eat there, but add in impeccable service, an exquisite dining room, and delicious food, and you have a truly outstanding restaurant. The whole package--wow!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArlettaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Nettuno also viewed

Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 

Been to Ristorante Nettuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing