We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The most attentive, friendly staff never left any wishes open. The cuisine always was superb and offered delicious and interesting Italian dishes.
The hotel beach is just a few steps away through dunes and a few pines, equipped with deckchairs, umbrellas and service staff even there.
Several weddings were celebrated while we were there, but apart from the jointly used garden, these events did not interfere with us. A very comfortable place to relax, to visit the archeologic site of Paestum or (whith a little drive) to go hiking in Cilento National Park.

Room Tip: Though weddings did not disturb us, in rooms away from the garden you'll presumably notice even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axel_M796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were passing through Paestum, on the way south to Sicily and stopped here for the night. Now, I gotta tell you that this is a strange little place. Lots of old Greek ruins and an old timey beach scene- like Coney Island. Beach front spots and tons of Camping places with plenty of dives.
That notwithstanding, this hotel is a gem. It is a modern, wide fronted building with wings, a great pool and beautiful gardens. The place is a wedding place on the weekends.
The rooms were nice and well appointed with a classA bathroom and terrific shower.At a very reasonable rate, this is a place to stop and check out the area.
The front desk was handled by Maria, who had suggestions and restaurants that were on the money.
The town,itself was also fun and a bit of a throwback.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

At first impression the hotel exudes modernity.The grounds and landscape are impressive as is the pool area.
Rooms are well appointed and modern. Front desk service was friendly and efficient. Maria took good care of us throughout our stay. We ate one evening meal at their dining hall and weren't diaspointed. All in all a bargain.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlobalguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

There are lots of positives about this hotel. The location is perfect if you want to use the hotel as a base to explore the area. Paestum's centre is approximately two miles away. It is an historical treasure trove with three magnificent Greek temples to marvel at, Roman ruins and an incredible museum filled with perfectly preserved Greek artifacts. It is truly spectacular. Pompeii and other major sites are about an hours drive away and the Amalfi coast line, Capri and Naples are all easily accessible.
The hotel is situated opposite the beach - there is a private stretch of beach owned by the hotel which is perfect for a spot of R&R after a day of exploring. The facilities in the hotel are good and the staff are very helpful indeed. The food is good (as you would expect in Italy). The local wine, buffalo mozzerella seafood and seasonal fruit were particularly delicious.
We had an excellent stay in this well appointed hotel as it suited our purpose as a family - somewhere to relax, swim, play tennis and somewhere to use as a base for exploration further afield. The one downside is that the hotel is a 'Wedding Mecca'. Weddings seem to be the hotels main source of revenue and as such the pool area is hijacked by wedding parties from the late afternoon on most days during the summer. We didn't use the pool area that much - only for a quick dip in the early morning, before lunch or early evening - so the wedding parties didn't bother us that much as we managed to avoid them. However, if you are looking for a pool side holiday without a car, this is perhaps not the best hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Don't be fooled by the hotel's pictures. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere,surrounded by houses and there is nothing else to do by the way of local shops, restaurants or anything else that you can explore by walking to. The hotel clearly favours wedding clients to the exclusion of normal holidaymakers. We were told on many occasions that we had to leave the pool as we were not wanted in the wedding photos!! We were given the alternative of the hotel next doors pool, but exactly the same thing happened there.We started to notice them putting signs by the pool all in Italian but had no idea what they meant. The hotel receptionist hardly spoke any English and neither did the restaurant staff, and as a result we were often disappointed with our food as often there was misunderstanding on what they had thought we had ordered. There was only one other option to eat at a beach cafe, however when ordering a steak for example, that was it, no veg/salad or potatoes, also a rip off. The beach is found after walking through woods, but during swimming/snorkeling my boyfriend.saw sanitary towels and we regularly observed couples doing things in the sea that did not involve any kind of swimming. So be warned not somewhere that could be described as child friendly...unless you want to answer some very awkward questions! The room was a small double with an even smaller balcony, at least there was air conditioning.Ignore this advice at your peril, and if you still go, car hire is essential.This was not cheap and our holiday was completely ruined.Never again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mum1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The good bit- this is is a stylish immaculately kept hotel set in beautiful grounds. Our rooms ( a twin and a double ) were spacous spotless and comfortable.
The Athena beach club associated with the hotel provided a very decent dinner in a relaxed and friendly manner - most appreciated and enjoyed

The not so good bits- a wedding on the day of our arrival while beautiful to look at precluded our use of the grounds and pool and made our balcony virtually unusable due to the noise and general activity below. The aircon in the double room failed on what was a blistering afternoon and staff were disinterested and plainly could not be bothered to find a solution. It should be noted that the only way to attract front desk's attention is to telephone.
It was our experience that priority was always given to a ringing phone over face to face contact, Management needs to get a grip on this area. Lunch in the restaurant was very good but the service tended to be over attentive.
All in all, probably a poor choice on our part, given earlier T.A reviews regarding the priority given weddings in this hotel but does not excuse the less than professional behaviour of some of the hotel's staff.

Room Tip: AVOID the rooms overlooking the gardens and pool in the event of a wedding- roadside rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beech71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel from the 17th till 24th of July 2013.
The first impression was amazing, and that impression never stopped. The rooms are lovely: good comfortable bed, nice bathroom with a rain shower, air-conditioning and a little balcony where we could sit and hang our towels to dry.
The bar and the garden with the swimming pool were my favorite spots to sit at the hotel.

The service and staff are amazingly good.
We rented bikes twice and the staff also gave us good advice about restaurants and places to visit. All the staff at the reception speaks English fluently. At the bar and restaurant the English is good enough. The last day we had a lovely dinner at the restaurant. Thanks to Pasqualle to invite us over for dinner and give us good wine-advice.
Thanks to Antonio, for all the area-info and for bringing us to the train station when we were heading home again.

The location is really nice but I would also advice to; if your not going here by car, rent one. It is a nice area to drive around and except for the beach and the ruines of Pæstum, there isn't that much to see in close vicinity.

Only one negative note: The WiFi only reaches the ground floor. There is a internet connection available for in the rooms with a internet cable, but it would be nice to be able to use internet everywhere (also at the pool or garden)

Thanks to all the staff for making this a great stay and holiday in Italy!! :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the backside of the hotel, which is at the side of the swimmingpool. We had the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JolienSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
0.4 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
667 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#2 of 33 in Paestum
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#10 of 33 in Paestum
415 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#12 of 33 in Paestum
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Address: Via Poseidonia, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy (Formerly Hotel Esplanade)
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paestum
#6 Family Hotel in Paestum
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paestum
#8 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
Price Range: £68 - £435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Esplanade
Best Western Paestum
Paestum Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing