We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent artifacts but perhaps too many”

Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Paestum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.70*
and up
Salerno and Paestum Day Tour from Sorrento
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Excellent artifacts but perhaps too many”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The vast array of objects on display at the museum is really impressive. It really is amazing how many vases, statues and frescoes have been found almost perfectly preserved in Paestum.

The highlight has to be the tomb of the diver. The simplicity of the artwork and its near perfect state of preservation make it really memorable, and it is makes a visit to the museum entirely worthwhile.

My only slight criticism is that there are an awful lot of almost identical artifacts, which make it a little overwhelming, but it is definitely worth a visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    374
    83
    22
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Top Notch Museum”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Only the Naples Archeological museum holds a candle to this awesome museum in Paestum. I only wish we had more time as you can easily spend several hours enjoying the relics and art here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FloridaTravelfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good museum with good artifacts”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was the second stop on our tour after visiting the ruins. Lots of good artifacts. 7 euro for both the museum and ruins.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le françois,martinique
Level Contributor
111 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

A small but interesting museum with what they find in the site. there is color master piece very old.
A visit to do before entering the site and by book for visiting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing museum”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I could not Expect so Many treasures, during my staying for MBTA I visited the museum three times, spending hours admiring masterpieces : the Greek section , the roman section, the Neolithic section and the breathtaking tomb of diver , never knew before of Etruscan sites in southern Italy !! A true discover, such as the multimedia section where I enjoyed oleo grams and most updated technique for archeo reconstructions and movies about the most magnificent Greek Colony , Syracuse . A true discovery !

Helpful?
Thank INESMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Paestum also viewed

 
Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum
 

Been to Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Paestum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing