We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice beach but many weaknesses”
Review of Hotel Cerere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cerere
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I was here in August (very high season for the place), probably the stay would have been better in other periods.
The hotel beach is very very nice, the available space for person is huge, compared to other beaches in the area.
The staff is very kind and friendly, but they are probably trying to manage too many rooms and events in the same time.
I didn't want to use the swimming pool but if I wanted I had no chance, since Cerere hosted a marriage everyday, during my stay.
Furniture in the room was very nice, just the moquette needed to be replaced. The balcony was just above of the kitchen and my view was a wall ten meters from the window, other rooms will of course have a better location.
Few minutes after entering the room I asked for the replacement of a broken lamp and for the phone, since there was no phone in the room. After some hours I've got the lamp replaced, but I am still waiting for the phone (I asked only twice for it).
The first night we came back at 4, after 10 minutes ringing the bell we decided to look for an open back-door, that we have found. We have then found the concierge sleeping and our key on the reception desk. We were late the other nights, too, but the concierge was awake (1st night experience was mentioned the morning after).
The buffet breakfast was below average, lunch menu looked interesting but we didn't have chance to try it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mauro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cerere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Both my husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the overall ambiance of this hotel. I would rate the cleanliness at the top of any hotel we have stayed at including the best in Las Vegas. The reception we received by all from the front desk to the morning breakfast server and the manager was awesome. The owner has done a wonderful job with the decor. If possible will return with family and friends. Only one small thing since I am very fussy about my pillows, I will bring my own next time.

Thank you to all at Cerere for a wonderful evening.

Anthony and Elvira Gentile

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

building was nice and decorative, rooms were fine too, but the hotel staff can not speaks English mostly , and some of them are not helpful at all and not organized, i asked them to arrange for a taxi and made sure about it 3 times and when it's time to go to the train station the taxi didn't show up and the guy in the reception at night shift doesn't speak English at all !!! and after a lot of yelling we just discovered that there are only 2 phone no. for taxis and he could just call them !!
there was also a hassle for canceling a night to leave early
the restaurant is nice looking and food taste great but they also considered one entry and one main dish as 2 meals !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santakarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here with a Air Transat deal for one week. We enjoyed the hotel and the location a 5 minute walk to the beach. We biked to the ruins in Paestum and also biked to Agropoli with the hotel bikes. The ride to Paestum was approx 30 min and to Agropoli approx 1.5 hr, by slow bicycle riding and stops along the way.
The hotel was very relaxing and quiet through the week. It got busy for the weekend with a wedding and more weekend guests, however it did not affect the relaxing feel and great service.
It costs approx 10 euros to take a taxi to Cappacio, where there is a train or bus.
We usually walked to Cappacio to the train, it took us 40 minutes approx to walk to the train from the hotel.
All the people that worked at the hotel were very helpful with directions and making us feel welcome.
The breakfast was buffet daily from 0730 -1000. Cornetto's (italian croissants) with jam, cream, plain or chocolate. Provolone with salami or ham. Also cold cereals with milk or yogurt. Coffee, espresso, latte or various teas. Also panettone.

For dinner it was always different and fresh. We would choose our selection for dinner the night before. The first course was always pasta, followed by a meat dish with 2 veggie side dishes. Then there was a dessert. The meals were served in a beautiful white dining room all marble. The meals were served with white or red wine. The red wine was not to my liking, very acidic. However the white was fantastic.

We travelled around from the area to Pompeii, Amalfi and Sorrento.

We really enjoyed that this hotel was not in a busy area and that there was no bus in town gave the area a very relaxed feel. The whole stay was fantastic.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101, faced the front of the hotel, looked down on the fountain. Basic room, cle...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lillytail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My friend and I just returned from a one week stay in Hotel Cerere as part of a package from Transat Holidays. This hotel had a wonderful clean, modern, spacious feel. While I agree that this hotel would serve people who are driving through the Amalfi coast much better than those relying on public transportation we did not find it too much of an inconvenience to travel through the area. We were able to arrange transportation to all off the different areas we wanted to see, Pompeii, a drive throught the Amalfi Coast, Agropolis, 2 day stay in Rome etc. Our one challenge with the local bus transportation provided us with an opportunity to meet up with a local who willingly gave us a ride back to our hotel, and who provided us with many laughs on our ride back into Paestum.

The food at the hotel was fantastic, service was wonderful, special thanks to Natale, who patiently waited for us on many nights when we ran in late for dinner and who was always gracious. Also thanks to Luciano and Omar for their helpful tips and attention.

The pool was beautiful and the proximity to the beach was fantastic as well. As many have stated, there are lots of weddings at this hotel which to us seemed to add a festive air to our nights, after a day of touring it was wonderful to sit by the pool, listen to the music and enjoy a glass of wine as we watched the nights festivities.

We fell in love with this charming hotel, and cannot wait to return on our next trip through Italy. There may be other hotels with easier access to the Amalfi coast, but rarely will you come across a hotel that will provide you with such wonderful customer service. The owner of the hotel, was alway visible and always took time to make us feel welcome, and to ensure we were enjoying our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank scoop9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

the good:
- the common areas have a very elegant feel are light and airy, comfortable and there are a lot of nice open spaces
-a very large swimming pool
- one receptionist was able to speak english reasonably well
- internet was reasonably priced at 15 euros for 3 days

the bad:
- the rooms are poorly positioned at the front of the building overlooking the street and parking lot. no views here!
-the pool was closed early one day without notification because of a wedding. our usual dining room was taken over by the wedding as well. we were not informed and after asking at reception were led to a small, tired looking conference room cluttered with chairs and other storage items. a very loud, bad sounding band kept the music going until well after 1am.
- we asked the reception about going to paestum by bus and she reluctantly gave us directions to a grocery store where we could ask. i asked how long it would take to get to the grocery store but she curtly said she didn't know. she was keen to call a taxi for us (11 euros for the 4km trip). After an hour on a wild goose chase, we retured to the hotle and booked the taxi. she was much obliged.

the ok:
- the rooms are fine but not 4 star, they look a little tired and are a bit on the small side, although the ceilings are nice and high. the bathroom shower stall is tiny but everything in the bathroom is functional and it was clean. there is a flat screen tv but no english channels
- the food was nice but the wine list consists only of white and red house wine by the bottle. house wine is usually bottom feeder plonk but this was better than that.
- the location is good if you are interested in things in the immediate area but if you want to see naples, pompeii or the amalfi coast it is pretty far away so get ready to pay extortionist rates for a taxi, hire a rental car and experience deadman's curve as many times as you'd like, take a tour (only pompeii is on offer) or mess around with buses and trains that don't come all that frequently, the 'choice' is yours.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank addie00063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We stayed at Hotel Cerere for our 10th anniversary as part of a package from Transat Holidays. The package came with flight, 8 nights with two meals (breakfast and dinner) and a car for under $2000.00 each, a great price. I could write endlessly about the terrific week we had but I'll try to be brief.
The flight landed in Rome (why not Naples, one hour away?) and so we had a four hour drive south to the hotel in crazy Italian traffic with a GPS (we had never used one before...can you say crash course?). The thing about Italian driving, they drive fast and offensively with often no regard for lanes, signals, etc. so be defensive! It took a day or two but soon I was driving like a pro.
The hotel is itself is smaller but gorgeous (many Italians have their wedding receptions here). Everything was impeccably clean at all times (although to be fair, there were only about 50 people in the whole hotel). The rooms were VERY small compared to North American standards but neat and clean. The 10" TV got 3 fuzzy Italian stations but we weren't there to watch TV. The dining room was a fancy reception room and the service was very good. Italians have many courses, of which pasta is only the second (an appetizer) so that may take a little getting used to. The food was good to great with a real taste of Italy and the free bottle of wine with every meal was a bonus...my wife doesn't drink wine so I had it all to myself but you can have it corked and either take it to your room or finish it the next night. The staff was always friendly, courteous and helpful even if the language barrier was difficult at times. The pool was gorgeous and the beach was a five minute walk but the weather was the coldest for that time in almost 40 years so there was no swimming for us (the average temperature is around 23-25 degrees Celsius so we brought lots of summer clothes that we didn't even take out of our suitcases...every picture has us in the same warm clothes!). There isn't much to do within walking distance and in fact the nearest city, Salerno, is 35 minutes away.
We jammed our week with things to see and do, the best preserved ruins in the world at Paestum (only 5 km from the hotel), the ancient city of Pompeii, the volcano Vesuvius, a whirlwind day in Rome (where we had our vows renewed...a highlight), a ferry down the Amalfi coast to Capri, a visit to a buffalo farm where they make REAL mozzarella (a must) and a visit to Reggia di Caserta (a 17th century palace larger than Versailles...well worth the one hour trip).
If you want any other info on these sites or travel in Italy in general, let me know.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank argento2665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
0.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
3.4 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#2 of 33 in Paestum
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#13 of 33 in Paestum
444 reviews
1.3 mi away
Minerva Resort Hotel
Minerva Resort Hotel
#15 of 33 in Paestum
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cerere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cerere

Address: Via Laura MAre | Localita Laura, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paestum
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paestum
#3 Family Hotel in Paestum
#6 Business Hotel in Paestum
#7 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
Price Range: £78 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cerere 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cerere is an exclusive refined hotel, located at Paestum, just one kilometre from the archaeological area and the National Museum; at 350 meters from our private beach. Directly managed by the owners, the complex is made up of a central structure, containing 38 rooms ando 2 suite all with private balcony, air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer and cable radio, and of an annexe, about 30 metres from the hotel, containing21 rooms and two-bedroom apartments with 4/5 beds. The hotel also has a tennis court, a 5-a-side soccer pitch, a semi-Olympic pool, a private parking area with surveillance, restaurant and private beach, equipped with parasols, sunloungers and changing cabins at just 200 metres away, easy to reach with the hotel minibus shuttle service. Open throughout the year, The Hotel Cerere also has a well-equipped conference hall, with a capacity of between 100 to 400 seats and spacious and elegant restaurant rooms with 100 to 500 places, which make the ideal setting for receptions and especially for wedding banquets. For quality of service offered and the professional attention and efficiency of the management, the Hotel Cerere is the ideal place for a comfortable and relaxing holiday a stone's throw from the limpid and clean sea, not far from some of the most popular resorts of national and international tourism, such as Capri, Pompeii, the Pertosa Grotto, Padula Priory and Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Cerere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerere Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing