We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful house in a delightful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The building is wonderfully restored stone barn. Our room was like a room in your well-to-do grandmother's country house if your grandmother had really good taste in furniture. We also had a glassed-in porch all to ourselves. The restaurant was a pleasant room and the other public rooms were so inviting we wished we were planning to stay for a week instead of one day. The Paestum ruins are a 5 minute walk from the hotel, so the location could not be better. Since the hotel is on a side street, it is very quiet, which is no small thing because the road in front of the ruin was a pedestrianized circus on the Sunday when we arrived.

The people running Il Granaio could not be nicer or more obliging. We were the only guests that evening but they rustled up their excellent cook who provided us with a terrific three course dinner on short notice. Breakfast was much more ample than we could eat, served in a very beautiful glassed-in terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFeHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

I'll start with the location:perfect. Right on the main road Via Tavernelle. You buzz the front door and they guide you into the car park.
The Innkeeper is a fashionable and pleasant lady who is on top of the place, she "lives" the Innkeeper role and it shows in all aspects of the Inn.
Dinner was very good, we were the only ones there in the off-season. A perfect fixed price meal
and afterward we strolled back to look at the Temples at Night. The Italians do not have a concept of bringing wine to a restaurant... there is no word for "corkage." I asked the lady if we could bring a bottle we got along the way...she said it is not done, but "I am the owner.... you can do it"
One tiny complaint: the bed was without a doubt the hardest we've slept on. But we did sleep.

Room Tip: Our friends got a large room with a seperate entrance fro the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattlesez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is a really great hotel. It is very close to the temples, and is an easy walk to both the temples and the archeological museum. It is very comfortable, with many downstairs common rooms to sit in and relax. (We were there in early March when it was unusually cold, and we spent many hours in one of the downstairs rooms in front of a large fireplace, which was just what we needed after long days of touring the Greek ruins.) The staff was very nice, very amenable and very helpful. Also, the staff spoke English, which made it very easy for us to communicate since we unfortunately spoke no Italian. We ate dinner every night at the hotel and the dinners were excellent --- in fact, some of the best meals we had in Italy. The dinners were cooked with local farm ingredients, and the hotel served delicious local wines. Breakfasts were included in the price of the hotel and were also very nice. Great coffee! We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This small and comfortable hotel was perfectly located for our trip in the area. The owner is very knowledgeable of the area and very friendly. Her passion is this hotel and it shows. The place is clean, comfortable, quiet and nicely landscaped. My favorite time was in the mornings and going downstairs for my daily cappuccino(s) and small breakfast. The friendly and helpful staff made you feel comfortable and welcomed. A must stay if you traveling in the Agropoli Paestum area.

Room Tip: Get the room on the end that has a separate entrance and stair case going down to the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brew2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here for one night in mid-October. Selected this property from Trip Advisor comments and because it was close to the ruins.

We had a very large clean room on the first floor overlooking the beautifully manicured gardens in the back yard. Room also had a separate little enclosed balcony with access to an outside staircase to the ground floor. Both rooms had tiles on the floor. Bathroom was also quite large, shower good pressure. There was no lift and there were 28 steps to the first floor.

Breakfast was served in a small room attached to the restaurant on the ground floor. Breakfast itself was very poor. Choice from 2 cereals, 2 cakes, sliced bread for toaster, jam, yoghurt, 2 different fruits and some very ordinary fruit juice. There was no cold meat, no cheese, no hard boiled eggs. Actually very little of anything appetising. This was even more disappointing for us as we had eaten both lunch and dinner in the restaurant on the day of our arrival and had been very pleased with the meals. The seafood risotto at lunchtime was very tasty.

There are a couple of very large and very tastefully decorated communal rooms on the ground floor with very comfortable lounges. Free wi-fi was available and this worked fine.

There was no safe in the room but to access the property via car or on foot you had to enter via electronic security gates that were operated by the person at the front desk so we were not overly concerned with personal security issues.

Property itself was a 7-10 minute flat walk away from the entrance to the ruins, which close approx. 30 minutes before sunset.

Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Ioana, on the front desk, was particularly bubbly and keen to ascertain whether guests were enjoying themselves and whether there were areas where the hotel could improve. I advised her that breakfast was one area and I'd be surprised if this hadn't improved since as she seemed to be a lady of action. The chef was also very helpful. We did not arrive on the first day until 2-20pm to find the restaurant closed but he stayed on to cook a very good seafood risotto for us - even acted as waiter and barman. This was much appreciated by us.

Ruins are excellent and apart from the breakfast, which has hopefully improved since our stay, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Very attractive old building. Quaint, large room with old furniture. Very pleasant grounds. Short walk to temples. Owner (at least, I think she was) chatty and helpful. Also spoke very good English. Breakfast a good example of the Italian style.
I would have liked a few more days there. Paestum is very atmospheric in the evenings.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreakwentFlyer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here on our first night of our Italian trip. Our stay was for only one night but the hotel and restaurant were so wonderful we wished that we could have stayed for several more days. The hotel is close to the temples, just a short walk. The food and service both for breakfast and our evening meal could not have been better and the employees were helpful and very nice. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend this property to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#10 of 33 in Paestum
413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Castello dei Principi
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Tenuta Duca Marigliano Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Granaio dei Casabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Granaio dei Casabella

Address: Via Tavernelle, 84, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range: £65 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Granaio dei Casabella 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Granaio dei Casabella" is an old barn turned into a traditional hotel, which preserved its original charm. It is located next to the Porta Aurea, one of the four gates of the old Paestum city and very close the ruins of the temples. The guest house is situated in a enchanted environment, having a marvelous, colourfull garden, where the guests can admire oleandres, lemon trees, orange trees and other typical mediterranean plants and flours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Granaio dei Casabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing