We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a lovely place with beautiful grounds and fabulous rooms. It's within easy walking distance of the Greek ruins and the beach isn't too much further away.
The staff were very helpful and recommended an excellent restaurant to eat at that night and booked it for us.
WiFi was free but intermittent unless you accessed it in the main areas downstairs.
They do offer a limited menu of fresh local food, we would have eaten there on the night of our visit but it was pizza on offer and we fancied a change. Be aware though a lot of the local restaurants are closed on a Monday out of the main season.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ozzie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Il Granaio dei Casabella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Room and bathroom clean as a whistle, Fifi the receptionist very professional and helpful even gave us complementary tickets to a live show! Our suitcases was taken to our room and we were spoilt by ice cold beers. No need to drive to the local village and restaurants as well as to the ruins, as it is a short walking distance away. Breakfast was continental and good.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 763Anneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I checked in for a quick overnight getaway. We arrived and met a receptionist that spoke perfect English and was extremely welcoming. She showed us to a room that was comfortable and well appointed. It wasn't listed as an amenity, but there was air conditioning in the room. The bed was a bit hard, but otherwise, the room was great!

The B&B is about a 10 minute, leisurely walk from the museum and ruins of Paestum. It also has rooms with a view of the ruins, so just ask if any are available when you book.

The breakfast that was included in the room rate was ok, but not a standard American-style breakfast. If you are hungry when you wake up, you will need to go elsewhere!

All in all, this is a cozy B&B that is right near all the sights. It is a great value for the money and very comfortable. If I am ever in the area again, I will not even look for other accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingwithNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed one night in late June in Room 203. It was huge (Texas-style!). There was no elevator, but the desk clerk offered to help us up the two flights with our suitcases. The room was large with a double bed, firm mattress, desk and chair, wardrobe, and A/C. The bathroom was large, with a large sink, a large shower, and even a small stool plus hooks for towels. Both were very clean. There were three windows, two with screens, but not enough ventilation to avoid using the A/C. It was very quiet (a back room). The windows also had wooden shutters which eliminated any possible noise as well as darkening the room – completely. Breakfast met our needs as well as giving us a taste of Italy. In addition to sliced bread, cereals, juice, yogurt and fresh fruit (apricots, watermelon, cantaloupe, and mulberries), there were 7 varieties of sweets (cakes, tortes, cookies, etc.). They were generous and allowed two cups of coffee. Since Paestum is a small town we met two other American couples who were also staying here. We met one couple at the restaurant that they recommended: Il Gallo e la Perla. And the other at the train station and at breakfast. They were also at the restaurant, but we did not notice them there. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would gladly stay here again.
Any location in Paestum has some challenges. We walked from the train station using Googlemaps info I had gotten prior to departing on our adventure. The pictorial was worth a 1000 words! Forget the lefts and rights and three sets of highway numbers and street name! Signs are few and far between! We saw one of the road numbers and did not see the street name, except a taverna had that street name in the name of their establishment. The street numbers were good. However, the picture of our route was great, with a little bit of common sense. Walk north, curve to the left, stay straight until reaching the intersection where the museum entrance goes to the left, the highway goes to the right and via Tavernelle goes straight ahead. Allow 20-25 minutes to walk it – more depending on your speed with suitcases. When returning to the train station, allow 35-40 minutes.
Another suggestion, before leaving any train station (after arrival), photograph the departure information. It will remind you of your departure time, but also provide you with the stops to your next connection or destination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for one night to explore the ruins of Paestum and escape ghastly Naples. The hotel is a bit like a French "bastide" and we were in a nice, spacious and pleasantly old-fashioned room. Staff were very friendly, breakfast was good, the location is just 400m from the ruins entrance and the museum. Can't fault it for the price. Restaurant was closed when we were there (other than for breakfast) but there are places within a couple of mins' walk. We booked this last minute in order to get out of Naples a day earlier and were very glad we did. Staff were lovely. Secure parking is a plus as you don't have to worry about leaving your car next to the ruins. I would highly recommend turning a visit to Paestum into an overnight stop at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our stay at this hotel was wonderful. The common rooms are large, comfortable, and attractively decorated. The staff was extremely friendly, efficient, and helpful. Our room was large, attractively furnished and decorated, and had a bit of a view of one of the temples. The breakfast was very good, with a nice selection. Parking was free, and in a secured area. Easy walking distance to the archeological site and museum, and a number of fine restaurants. The helpful staff recommended a nice place to us, and even called ahead to make a reservation for us. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ofamof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Before I even arrived at the hotel, Francesca was so kind as to arrange a tour of one of the buffalo di mozzarella farms and arrange transport for me. When I arrived at the hotel, it was like a country oasis. The gardens are tended to meticulously and the owners have restored this building to the nines. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was incredible. The staff however is really what makes this place outstanding. They bent over backwards to help me with so many things. Thanks so much Francesca and all the rest of the staff. I would definitely stay here again if in the Paestum area!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank cls808808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.3 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
4.1 mi away
Hotel Castello dei Principi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#10 of 33 in Paestum
407 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
647 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Granaio dei Casabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Granaio dei Casabella

Address: Via Tavernelle, 84, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range: £66 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Granaio dei Casabella 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Granaio dei Casabella" is an old barn turned into a traditional hotel, which preserved its original charm. It is located next to the Porta Aurea, one of the four gates of the old Paestum city and very close the ruins of the temples. The guest house is situated in a enchanted environment, having a marvelous, colourfull garden, where the guests can admire oleandres, lemon trees, orange trees and other typical mediterranean plants and flours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Granaio dei Casabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing