We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Home and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2009

We drove here from Taormina Sicily crossing Straits of Messina on autostrada. Then on narrow roads with vineyards loaded with October grapes from mountain down to Paestum. Hotel/Inn was in a gated large courtyard and a former granary. Lovely conversion, wonderful living and breakfast room with old furniture and antiques.. Owners are charming and so welcoming. Our room was large corner room, with big bath. We dined the first night at the adjacent restaurant. Gourmet individually cooked pasta and longastina shell fish, great wine, and dessert. Come to think of it, most food and wine in Italy is superb!! Owner charming, wonderful service, his mother does the cooking was an expensive and well worth it splurge for us. Reason we came here are the Greek ruins across from the inn more about that in Tips. We would return, check their schedule they are closed during the slower winter months.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2008

We spent two nights at Il Granaio dei Casabella in August, 2008. I recommend the hotel. Our room and bathroom was big and comfortable. There are a number of cozy reading rooms and a lawn with many places to sit. Because there are only 12 rooms, the hotel was quiet and relaxing. The breakfast was very good. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the train breaking down and Regina was very efficient in arranging for a cab to meet us late at night at a station about 11 km away. Thanks to a suggestion in Trip Advisor, we requested and received a room with a view of the Temples, which were lit up at night. In addition, because it was a holiday, we had a view of the fireworks nearby. The hotel is an easy walk to the Temples, which are definitely worth visiting.

The only minor issue we had was that the hotel is close to a highway that was very busy when we visited during the holiday season. We could hear the traffic at night when we had the windows open. With the windows closed, we heard no traffic noise. Since the room had an air conditioner that worked well, this was not a big deal.

We had friends who stayed at the Ariston while we were at Il Granaio. After visiting the Ariston, which seemed like a generic hotel that could be found anywhere, we were certainly glad we chose Il Granaio.

If you come from the North, you have a choice of taking a bus or a train to Paestum. My suggestion is you try to catch the bus. Of the four trains we took south of Rome, one was cancelled, one broke down and one was seriously delayed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bunkhedena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stayed at Il Granaio in November 2007 and liked it so much that we returned with visitors in January 2008 and have since recommended it to other friends. The location is amazing - only a 5 minute walk to the ruins of Paestum, the most magical ancient ruins in Italy. The atmosphere is elegant and comfortable and the owners and staff are extremely hospitable and conscientious. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated in the style of a gentleman farmer. They reflect an old world elegance while providing the conveniences of modern fixtures and comfortable beds. The two fire places downstairs provide a wonderful place to read and relax during the cooler months. We felt more like we were staying at a friend's elegant home than at a hotel. We did not notice any hotels that were at all comparable in the area.

The attached restaurant merits a Michelin rating with fresh cuisine prepared with the mindset of a gourmand. If you get up early, the grounds of Paestum and the local roads make for excellent jogging. Nearby is an old medieval look out tower and the sandy beaches are inviting even in the winter. We look forward to returning to Paestum and Il Granaio.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cablefuhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2008

We selected our stay based on Trip Advisor reviews - we weren't disappointed -- in fact we were very pleasantly surprised. We have visited Paestum at least 8 times in the past 18 months - we take all of our visiting friends from the US there though usually on day trips from our home in Avellino. This was our first over night visit and the first time we got to see the Paestum temples at night - truly remarkable - and the amount of restoration and digging going on at Paestum is amazing - we saw new things uncovered since our last visit in March 2008.

We found Casabella without too much difficulty - GPS got us to the right address. Staff greeted us until the proprieter - Angelo - arrived to check us in. We were traveling with two friends from the USA - we were lucky enough to get 207 which has a direct view of one of the temples and is right next to Angelo and Laura's home on the hotel premises. Angelo and Laura are special people and run a great place.

You are close enough to walk to the north east entrance of the ancient city if you don't mind a 500 meter walk.

The hotel common rooms and grounds are grand in the tradition of Italian country gentry; our room was large, air, and very clean. Breakfast was served in a beautiful room overlooking their garden.

Food-wise, the restaurant next door to the hotel was convenient but middling in terms of quality - Cafe Nettuno located at the south entrance to the ancient city is considerably better; we make a point of eating there each time we visit Paestum. The Gelateria which is about 200 meters from the hotel - turn left at the large intersection at the corner of the ancient city's wall - is excellent - we never miss it when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfbAvellino_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Lovely setting near the temples. Beautifully restored building with antique furniture. Lovely gardens. Our room had its own conservatory, overlooked only by the trees. Food in the restaurant was some of the best in Italy, and we weer made to feel at home by the marvelous staff. Breakfast was fantastic. We wished that we could have stayed longer. When, after departure, we were stranded at the railway station due to a cancellation, they sent a taxi to rescue us

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skindoc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2007

I travel to Europe quite a bit and am picky about hotels, this is hands-down the nicest place I have stayed in Italy. The bed and breakfast hotel is impeccably decorated, combining beautiful restoration with expensive antiques, and looks like a first rate interior decorator was brought in to create the look. Downstairs, there are two common rooms, both with wood burning fireplaces (lit in the evening), and comfortable couches. There is a sun-room and dining room, with a nice breakfast spread in the morning. The bedroom was also beautifully done, and the bathroom was spacious, immaculate and outfitted with quality fixtures. The shower was the best I have taken in Europe, a spacious glass enclosure with lots of hot water.
The hotel is optimally located within walking distance to the Greek temples, and we ate at two restaurants (one as fashionable and quirky as any in Napa Valley, an old farmhouse with modern art on the walls and travel books conveniently at the tables) and one local joint with excellent veal. Both were also walking distance to the hotel.
Service at the hotel was excellent. Regina, who lives on-site to handle guest needs, was very helpful and patient with us, despite our tendency to return late in the evening.
We were so happy here that we cancelled our following reservation to prolong our stay at il Granaio.
HIGHLY, highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NanWaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Milan Italy
13
Reviewed 30 May 2006

"Into the history, a step from the history", that is what I thought when I saw for the first time this hotel.
Once it was a silo and ten years ago has been completely restored. Now it has 14 beautiful and comfortable rooms all antiques furnished.
The owners are very friendy and the food is a surprise. You can have meals into a marvellous room looking the garden. Dishes have the typical and traditional Italian taste, cakes are simply delicious and everything is homemade, starting from the breakfast (really rich for a 3 stars rated hotel) to bread, they serve it warm!
If you ask for, you could sleep in one of the rooms looking at the Temples, in the evening when they are lighted there is such a magic atmosphere, the same you can breathe walking along the wall of the ancient city just opposite to the hotel.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.3 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#10 of 33 in Paestum
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Castello dei Principi
0.9 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Granaio dei Casabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Granaio dei Casabella

Address: Via Tavernelle, 84, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range: £67 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Granaio dei Casabella 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Granaio dei Casabella" is an old barn turned into a traditional hotel, which preserved its original charm. It is located next to the Porta Aurea, one of the four gates of the old Paestum city and very close the ruins of the temples. The guest house is situated in a enchanted environment, having a marvelous, colourfull garden, where the guests can admire oleandres, lemon trees, orange trees and other typical mediterranean plants and flours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Il Granaio dei Casabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing