We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hosts in a spacious farmhouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Granaio dei Casabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming hosts in a spacious farmhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

This former grain store has been imaginatively restored to an attractive and comfortable guest house. Our room was simply furnished bu very spacious and immaculately clean with a comfortable bed and views over the garden. Dinner was home cooked and delicious; breakfast was generous and included more home baked cakes. Our hosts and their staff were unobtrusively helpful and friendly. The location, right next to the archeological site of Paestum, could not have been more convenient and it meant that we made one visit during daylight, but we also returned for an after dinner stroll to see the Greek temples lit up by night and to have a nightcap in one of the local cafes.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    62
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
137
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Pros: The B&B is very peaceful and has very nice grounds. The room was nice sized, good bed, spacious bath. The best part was a private, glassed–in terrazzo that overlooked the gardens. We took advantage of a 5-course dinner cooked right in house, with a local wine. It is a 10-minute walk to the archeological site, very convenient. Breakfast was a nice buffet in a very attractive garden room. Parking was within the inn’s yard. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Poor lighting in the room. No restaurant close by.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyMtnBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin, texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

We were there in late October for one night and it was the loveliest stay of our entire trip. We drove down from Rome and found the ruins were already closed for the day. The museum was open, however, so we spent several hours there and then checked into Il Granaio. A fire was roaring when we arrived. The beautiful building and furnishings were a delight. If we had been there longer, I would have enjoyed exploring the grounds. Our room on the second floor was large, with a spacious bath and our own porch! It was wonderful to be so close to the ruins, which we explored early in the morning and as a result, practically had the place to ourselves. Il Granaio is so special, that I recommend planning an overnight in Paestum.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancythenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

We arrived by car from Rome late in the afternoon & didnt realise that access to the temples closed at 3pm. So I would suggest that if you are travelling outside of the peak tourist times, as we did, that you check in advance of the opening hours for the temples.However all was not lost as the excellent Museo Di Paestum just across the road from the temples houses plenty of valuable information & artifacts including the famous frescos from the Tomb of the Diver.
We enjoyed our overnight stay at Il Granio dei Cassabella: nice room, friendly staff & an excellent breakfast.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HayLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

The hotel was very quiet when we stayed, as it was coming to the end of the season. But as it's walking distance to the archaeological site, it's the perfect base if that's what you've come to see. (By contrast, if it's the beach you want, there are hotels much closer to the sea.)

There were a couple of good restaurants within walking distance, which was good because the hotel restaurant was not open during our stay.

As it's essentially a large house set back from the road, you can simply park on the gravel driveway in front - which is secured from the road by a gate controlled remotely from the hotel reception.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d0gwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

The antithesis of hostelries in throbbing urban centers like Naples, Il Granaio dei Casabella is a large, quiet country house where you can breathe easy and enjoy the rooms filled with delightful country antiques as well as the extensive garden, where marvelous homecooked dinners are served by candlelight. You are welcomed without restraint, as a personal friend rather than a client, and the level of hospitality is high.

Several bedrooms have views of the temples, which are perfectly lit at night. Upon stepping out the gate of the hotel courtyard, you see the only complete set of ancient city walls remaining in Italy, and you need only follow along them for a 10-minute walk to reach the main entrance of the archeaological area and/or the museum. As mentioned in other reviews, the Via Tavernelle does carry a fair amount of traffic during the day, but given the tranquility of the countryside in every direction, and the smallness of the town of Paestum, it simply did not seem hectic or noisy to us (and there was even a summer festival of entertainment being staged in a temporary arena next to the ruins!).

We were travelling without our own car, and were delighted to obtain the services of Leonardo D'Onofrio who operates a fine car-and-driver service in Paestum and whose gentility and refinement were simply beautiful and a joy to receive.

We could not have been more pleased with our decision to stay overnight in Paestum. The attractions are certainly worth a day trip, but by staying overnight allows you more time to focus and appreciate what a jewel box of antiquity Paestum is, from the glowing splendor of the temples to the moving silence of the Tomb of the Diver which occupies its own room in the museum. We thought Il Granaio added the perfect element of hospitality to a wonderful visit and would encourage all who are visiting this area to think about pairing up the exploration of antiquities with the refreshment of an easy stay in a country home , as we did.

And finally, greetings to Laura, Regina, Rosa, the sweetly-smiling porter whose name we never could pronounce, and whoever belonged to those bustling shadows in the kitchen from whence appeared that delicious dinner. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomonoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

This is a perfect place for a couple to come and enjoy rooms with rural vistas, charming hosts, drinking wine by a large fireplace and having beautifully prepared dinners. My wife and I arrived on a rainy afternoon and were greeted by our hostess and service personnel. Our room was large and had a view of the Paestum archeological site. The house is very spacious as are the grounds. We arrived from Naples by train. The train station is about two miles from the hotel and the archeological park is located inbetween. Everything is close and the area is flat so the walking is easy. The place can also accomodate families and small groups.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfe_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.0 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#9 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#4 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#2 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Granaio dei Casabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Granaio dei Casabella

Property: Il Granaio dei Casabella
Address: Via Tavernelle, 84, 84063 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Granaio dei Casabella 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Granaio dei Casabella" is an old barn turned into a traditional hotel, which preserved its original charm. It is located next to the Porta Aurea, one of the four gates of the old Paestum city and very close the ruins of the temples. The guest house is situated in a enchanted environment, having a marvelous, colourfull garden, where the guests can admire oleandres, lemon trees, orange trees and other typical mediterranean plants and flours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Granaio dei Casabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing