We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oleandri summer vacation - Kids club/poor English”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oleandri summer vacation - Kids club/poor English”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We decided to stay at Oleandri Resort in Paestum based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, in particular the Kids Club. We have a 8 year old son and wanted him to really have fun at the Kids Club.
We stayed in Garden Appartment with nice patio and fair size for the 3 of us. Fully equipped kitchen. Close to swimming pool area. Great large pool and plenty of sun beds around for the guests to use.
The Kids Club was very disappointing and our son refused to go because the Italian staff could hardly speak any English and seemed only to cater and care for the Italian guests. The Kids Club was open from 10-1200 and again 14-1600. But we had no idea about the daily activities in the Kids Club as no information or programmes was available. Every night there was some kind of show for the kids,but always in Italian and same songs and music for children jumping around the stage.

In general we found the staff to have very limited English speaking skills and very difficult to communicate as the resort appeared to only cater for their Italian guests.

There was no information pack or folder in the room or via the TV in the room so a bit frustrating as we didn't know what was avaikable, meal times, car hire etc.

The beach club was great - only 250 meter from the hotel and with plenty of beach chairs, private restarant and toilet and shower facilites - excellent venue.

We had booked with half board and found the food to be of high quality, four course dinners. Also good provision for gluten free food which we had informed hotel about our son's dietary issues. But special selection provided by the hotel.

The WI FI worked very well in the public areas.

In general a very nice resort, good quality and decent facilities on offer. But my main concerns are; the lack of communication to the guests, very poor English speaking skills by almost all staff and the Kids Club which was a huge disappointment for our son and ourselves, especially considering the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and former guests rating Oleandri and voted the Family Resort in 2013. Oleandri should cater and care for Italian and English speaking guests alike.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAtraveller160411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    225
    56
    25
    13
See reviews for
583
151
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

When we arrived at the Oleandri we weren't sure what to expect, but the Reception staff were very welcoming, even if we weren't offered our welcome cocktail. The apartment we stayed in was a good standard, there was plenty of space for us and our 2 children and it was clean. The pool area was really lovely and we spent a lot of time here with the children. The beach was also wonderful and we were pleased we had reserved a front line spot as it meant we could relax while the children played on the beach. However, we were very disappointed by the kids club. I tried to take the children there once, only to be met with a young woman who hardly spoke any English and so I didn't feel happy leaving the children with her. My daughter was willing to give it a go as they were making necklaces, but after a few minutes she came to find me as she said it was boring just sitting watching the lady in charge cutting out. She had made no effort to include my daughter. It seemed that not many people in the kids club spoke English and so overally I didn't want to leave my children there. The restaurant was also unwelcoming. We were told there was a children's menu - chips - but we couldn't work out what else there was for the children to eat, the waiter hardly spoke any English and wasn't very helpful, and so alot of the time we ended up getting takeaway pizza. The breakfast was very good however. On our second day on the beach one of the lifeguards tried to tell us to move away from our reserved space as it was for hotel guests only until his colleague came and told him that he remembered us from the day before. Overall, we felt a bit left out of everything that was goin on at this resort. It was geared very much towards Italians and their families, but it would have made our holiday more enjoyable if the kids club had been a bit more inclusive for our English children. There was one afternoon when practically everyone at the hotel was involved in filming a video in the pool and we felt as if the invitation hadn't been sent to us! We didn't have a clue what was going on! In summary, a nice hotel but we wouldn't return. The location was ok, but you definitely need a car and it felt as if there wasn't enough nearby to stay longer than a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mckeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichenau, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We loved our holiday at the Oleandri and our expectations were set very high, as typical. I stayed two weeks with my husband and our 5 years old daughter half board from 20 July to 03 Aug in a deluxe room; the room was spacious and with a nice balcony were we did us to relax after lunch; everything was kept in top condition and clean.
The food is excellent and the staff always helpful to accomodate any request we had for our daughter. Really fantastic breakfast buffet. Excellent gluten free options.
We did spend our morning on the beach, just crossing a splendid pine forest and the afternoons by the swimming pool, extremely appointed.
The beach is simply fantastic: wonderful water, possibility to have lunch at the restaurant on the beach, beach volley, aqua gym and games arranged by a wonderful team. Big area between the umbrellas and beds, lots of chair and beds; lifeguard always ready.
But for us and our daughter the real highlight of this holiday has been the kids club and all the other activities organized during the day and evenings by a great team. A special thank to Ms Antonietta, the owner of the Resort, who makes our holiday special with all the attentions, like to be part of the family: this is the real quality that make the difference. Our daughter truly loved the babydance in the evening. This is a great resort for families and we would definitely recommend it if you have young kids and want an holiday that combines great food, fun and relaxation in great settings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We loved our holiday at the Oleandri and our expectations were set very high after reading all the reviews of the other travellers before our arrival. I stayed two weeks with my husband and our 3 year old daughter half board from 13 to 27 July in a deluxe room; the room was spacious and with a nice balcony were we did us to relax after lunch; everything was kept in top condition and clean.
The food is excellent and the staff always helpful to accomodate any request we had for our daughter.
We did spend our morning on the beach (just across the road) and the afternoons by the swimming pool.
But for us and our daughter the real highlight of this holiday has been the kids club and all the other activities organized during the day and evenings by a great team. A special thanks to Maria, Anna, Mauro, Domenico, Luisa, Nando and all the other members of the team for making this holiday special. And our daughter truly loved the babydance in the evening. This is a great resort for families and we would definitely recommend it if you have young kids and want an holiday that combines great food, fun and relaxation in great settings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRWeybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice stay here. Kids loved animations and baby dance. My 4 year old is still singing Italian pop songs! I wouldn't stay here if no kids but was extremely comfortable and family oriented for us. Really fantastic breakfast buffet. Excellent gluten free options. Pool and beach were extremely well appointed. lots of beach chairs and umbrellas. lifeguard at beach too. Evening dinners were expensive but hassle free and alot less stress than time we tried to go out. Nearby Greek temples are a fantastic must see very nice area around temples at dusk with tourist shops gelatos and restaurants. Really good air conditioning and very clean rooms. A bit spartan in decor, but not important as why would you stay in room? A long drive to Pompeii and Amalie coast by we managed to sightsee those locations. Next time will splurge when kids older for Amalfi coast but if smaller kids this is better option.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After a very warm welcome with a wonderful fresh fruit plate and juice, we saw our DeLuxe room in the park area and is was better then on the photos : Modern & cosy, modern technik, a top working airco and a very nice bathroom with wonderful ceramik.
Further was it very pleasant that we booked half-board before : Very tasty, good choices and a amazing service team around our outside table.

And the prices are in the whole resort very low for this region : Big bottle water 2 €, beer 2,50 €, a very tasty white wine 12 € (a big 0,75 l bottle )
And the owner family is all the time in contact with the guests and it gives a very comfortable & a "feel home" feeling.

One thing is clear : We come for sure back!

Room Tip: For a quiter and relaxing stay choose the new DeLuxe rooms in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed four days at the Oleandri Resort in June 2013. We had the standard family apartment, which was fine for us (me, my husband, and our two teenage sons). There were two twin-ish size cots in the kitchen area that doubled as "living room" seating. The bathroom was nice and modern and the bedroom had both a queen-size bed and another twin. They're truly designed for families with small kids.

Oleandri is a beautiful resort. They offer some fun planned activities like water aerobics, table tennis and foosball tournaments, musical performances (by guests) at night, etc. The pool was super and the beach area is accessed by a really cool walk through a pine forest. There are snack bars at both the pool and the beach, and you can charge everything to your room so you don't need to worry about having cash with you. The beach also has many umbrellas and lounge chairs available for guests to use free of charge. No reservations were needed at the time we were there.

The food in the restaurant was good for the most part. We only had one dish that we weren't too crazy about (the grilled seafood platter). The pizza was excellent, but the pizza kitchen isn't always open at night. Breakfast was pricey but pretty good if you're really hungry. We only ate breakfast there once.

Our first night there we woke up to no air conditioning. It was fixed by late morning but it really got hot and uncomfortable very quickly.

The front desk staff were all super friendly and most spoke at least some English. There isn't a gift shop at the resort, so we rented bikes from the resort and rode to the closest stores to buy sun screen. We also rented the bikes and rode to the Greek ruins, which were pretty awesome. It's a short ride and well worth it.

The restaurant staff were friendly but a little unorganized. There was a free buffet that no one ever told us about. The first night our son didn't get his pizza until the rest of us were all through with our meals. (And after we spent several minutes trying to explain to the waiter that we were missing a meal.)

The only real cons were that they only served wine and a couple of types of beer at the snack bars (as far as alcoholic beverages go). No frozen rum drinks or anything that you might find at an American resort. Also, the pool closed in the early evening so you couldn't swim during or after the dinner hours.

But, overall it was a great experience and we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laobringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
601 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#2 of 33 in Paestum
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Minerva Resort Hotel
Minerva Resort Hotel
#16 of 33 in Paestum
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#3 of 33 in Paestum
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club

Property: Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
Address: Via Poseidonia, 177, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#2 Family Hotel in Paestum
#4 Business Hotel in Paestum
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paestum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oleandri Resort Hotels & Residence is immersed in lush, quiet surroundings, at the border of a pine forest, about 280 yards from the sea and a mile from the archeological site of Paestum. With a large outdoor pool, a hot tub and children's play area, it is set in 30,000 m² of private parkland. The private beach is furnished with sun loungers and parasols. Accommodations are divided in Hotel Rooms and Residence Apartments: Hotel offers comforts and amenities of a luxury property with his Superior rooms, located in the main building, Deluxe rooms located in the park and Standard room located in the blocks around the pool or in the main building. Residence is disposed in blocks around the pool and is divided into Elegance and Family Apartments, two-bedroom apartments equipped with kitchenette and bathroom (daily cleaning and linen changing) with different furniture. Additional solution available is the Villa, independent three rooms apartment with private parking and private garden. Hotel Facilities General Reception, Private Beach, Pool, Restaurant, Lounge Bar, Pool Bar, Beach Bar, Entertainment Area, Playground, Garden, Parking. Activities: Game Room, Playground, Ping-Pong, Darts, Hiking, Cycling, Outdoor Swimming Pool, Outdoor Swimming Pool (seasonal)Services: Entertainment Staff, Kids Club, Babysitting/Child Services, Newspapers, Express Check-In/Check-Out, Safe, Soundproof Rooms, Heating, Baggage Storage, Air Conditioning, Room Service, Laundry, Bicycle Rental, Tour Desk, Fax/Photocopying, Special Diet Meals (upon request)Internet Free! Wired internet is available in public areas and is free of charge. Free! Wi-fi is available in public areas and is free of charge. Parking Free! Free private parking is possible on site (reservation is not needed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oleandri Hotel Residence Villaggio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing