We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, nice stay, only few minuses” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel, nice stay, only few minuses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in the hotel as a couple some 10 days in August. Overall feeling is quite positive, somewhere 4,5 on 5 point scale.
A) Hotel: quite big structure with not that much rooms. Very spacious hall, looking like in luxurious hotel - which it is. The "basement" (on the level with garden and swimming pool) was fully dedicated to weddings or empty conference halls (in summer).
B) Position: Paestum itself is a bit in the middle of nowhere and the hotel is just between Torre di Paestum and Laura localities. Car is a must if you would like to see anything else than hotel and beach.
C) Room: our room was Deluxe on 1st floor, quite big, properly furnished (business style a bit, which was ok for us). Reasonable big balcony (all rooms on 1st floor facing northwards have balcony, rooms to south not. A minus was a view. While there is perfect view on distant hills above Paestum, there is huge restaurant roof ending just on top of balcony railings - see the picture. Request 2nd floor room if possible. Pillows just as bad as in nearly all Italian hotels.
D) Restaurant: Breakfast: good variety with fresh mozzarella and mortadella, minus: no eggs (probably on surcharge - we did not try). Dinner: Amazing food, concentrated on fish and see-food, but good other variety. We had half-board paid and we could choose any 2 meals from starters, first and second plates (selection from 5 or six of each, different every day in week) + dessert (6 standard same every day plus from time to time some special one). There could be some special menu from time to time with necessary surcharge to HB (our 'gala dinner' was included in HB). Live piano music played every evening.
E) Pool and garden: both great, pool can be reserved some evening for wedding or some party (we had 2 weddings and 1 party within 10 days). Minus: Music played in distant restaurant/terrace good and not that loud, but the same every day - should be changed more frequently or stopped.
F) Beach: good with all necessary services, just 100 meters from hotel. Umbrella and sunbeds free (at least for us). This part of shore is not overcrowded even in August as there is not much hotels there.
G) Service: quite good, we had not working hairdrier and it was promptly resolved. A bit more smiles from the restaurant personal would be appreciated.
H) Others: Bicycle rent: 5EUR/hour - we did not try. Car parking: no problem. Indoor swimming pool and sauna out of order in summer.
I) Must see in neighbourhood: Paestum temples, Nice to see: Argopoli.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BFM_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    150
    30
    11
    7
See reviews for
153
218
9
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We just stayed 5 days here in this hotel and it was a wonderful experience. The staff was very kind and helpful, the rooms comfortable and clean , the pool WONDERFUL and the restaurant was one of the best I have ever enjoyed in a hotel. Top quality!
The beach that is across the street leaves a lot to be desired. Not impressed at all. Very dirty, very full and just not what I expected. This hotel has some chairs there for their guests, but they do not run that lido.
We also went in a very busy time for beaches and it was one of the hottest 5 days all summer. Not sure how nice that beach would be if we went say in June instead of August.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chetan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Yes, intriguing. From the outside, built like a Florida Villa. Inside, huge impressive lobby with marble everywhere but no people. 47 rooms apparently, but it seems during the day at least everyone is out sightseeing so the place appears almost deserted, so no real atmosphere to speak of. Clean and quiet rooms, and the staff very courteous and helpful - special mention to Valeria in reception.
Best bits:-
1) free wifi or use of computer in the lobby area
2) the pool, which is lovely
Worst bits:-
1) take your own beach towel for the pool, otherwise they will charge you 5 euros to 'rent' a beach towel - incredible!
2)unlike some previous reviews, not impressed by the food in the restaurant. Found it pretentious with strange combinations of ingredients. Beautifully presented, but more form than substance. Not as expensive as you might guess, but we enjoyed the food more at the Athena restaurant on the beach, where the atmosphere was much more relaxed.
3) We received a complimentary 'upgrade' to Junior suite - 'with a balcony'. The balcony consisted of a long 40 foot expanse of tiles over the canopy at the front of the hotel with plainly unfinished side walls with lights hanging down on cables. Great room, but please finish the balcony work first
4) had some issues with service in the restaurant - wrong orders delivered late. The manager was most apologetic, but the kitchen seemed to have a problem getting the right order out in a reasonable time.
I'd recommend the hotel in spite of this - the ruins at Paestum are magnificent - see them illuminated at night to great effect!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

We have travelled in Italy many times and we have never stayed in a hotel with a staff with such an unfriendly attitude. The head women at the desk when we checked in was extremely rude. Our room was statisfactory, but relatively expensive. The hotel is not on the beach as suggested by its name, but several minutes walk away. The breakfast in not included in the room price unless you stay several nights. The dining room food was average at best.. I would avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 4inaFiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We come from Belgium and we found this hotel thank to our friend staid here last here. 2 minutes from the beach, we think beautiful in summer, but we were there in spring and we could not use the beach. The hotel building is nice, great hall with helpful receptionists and quite confortable room, but there aren't any room facing to the sea.
Pritty swimming pool and huge park. Breakfast is served with interesting buffet and we didn't miss a great dinner. Dining room is very good, the cusine is fantastic, good service and nice atmosphere......

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyBeachHotel, Direttore at Savoy Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2011
Google Translation
Thank you very much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Fascinating and amazing! Very comfortable and spacious rooms with exquisite decoration details. Breakfast is included in your stay and apart from being very varied, all food is fresh; delicious homemade bread, cakes and jams! We had our diner in the restaurant which offers a menu that in addition to be at the level of a five star hotel, includes organic products from Azienda Tenuta Salvatore ran by Giuseppe Pagano. Superb! The wine menu is large as well. Try one of the excellent wines of the vinyards owned by the hotel owners, Giusy and Salvatore Pagano! By the way, we had the opportunity to meet them in person and were delighted to see how cheerful and warm people they are! We stayed a week and they made us feel even better than at home! The staff is also very kind and helpful at all times. It is a bit off the track so I advise you to rent a car (as we did) to get the most of this beautiful area in Paestum. This hotel has all to make your stay truely unforgettable!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariela2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and had a thoroughly restful and good time. The De Luxe room was large, very well equipped and spotlessly clean, though the view from the balcony was slightly compromised by the veranda just under it which covers the outside dining area for the restaurant; I would ask for a room above the 1st floor in future. The beach nearby is lovely, and umbrellas and loungers were provided free (though you have to pay for towels so it's worth taking your own). The pool is absolutely excellent, with comfortable loungers, and surrounded by very nice, well maintained gardens. We took the half board option, which gives a four course dinner or lunch for 25 euros per person. The food was exceptional: the chef changes the menu every day, and has a fantastic feel for good food. I would say this was outstanding value for money, and made for a very relaxing end to the day. My only quibbles are that, although many of the staff were extremely helpful, there were a couple whom we didn't find very friendly, and one particularly unhelpful receptionist, who gave us very little help or guidance getting the train back to Naples at the end of the holiday (and sent us off in a taxi to Capaccio where she said there was a ticket office (which there wasn't). The town of Paestum is very nice, but if you are walking in, beware. One of the roads in is very busy, with no pavements and it felt extremely dangerous to walk along with traffic travelling at 100kmh sometimes performing quite brave overtaking manoeuvres! Finally, the hotel does an excellent wedding business (lovely place to get married from what we observed, if you are thinking of an Italian wedding!). However, it is worth saying that this meant that on the Saturday and Sunday when we were there, guests from the weddings were walking all round the pool in wedding clothes. We felt a bit uncomfortable and it would have been nice if there had been an area put aside for hotel guests. In sum, some quibbles, but an excellent hotel; we will definiely return. NB If you are travelling by train a good tip is to buy your tickets from a tabacchi; they are much cheaper. You need to buy tickets from Paestum before you travel because there is no ticket office at the station. There is a little tabacchi on the main road that the ruins are on, which also doubles as a souvenir shop and newsagents. It has a clear sign outside saying 'bigletti' on it.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
1.1 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#4 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#8 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Beach Hotel

Property: Savoy Beach Hotel
Address: Via Poseidonia 41, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paestum
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paestum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#3 Business Hotel in Paestum
#4 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Beach
Savoy Beach Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing