We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks grandiose, but very friendly”
Review of Savoy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed for several nights, taking two rooms, a privilege double looking over the country and distant mountains, and a junior suite.

The junior suite was in effect over the canopy of the entrance: although larger and better furnished, it had a very large patio / balcony, which was walled: it may be good in summer, when you can sunbathe on one of the lounges, but it means you do not get a view. We preferred the double room, which had a nice patio and view towards the mountains.

Service at the hotel was very good and staff were very friendly and helpful. They tried to help with any problem. We dined a couple of times in the restaurant, again a very good experience. The hotel's own wine is also worth trying; also the "trio of mozzarella"!

The hotel appeared very grandiose and is clearly a wedding and large function venue, but that did not detract from our enjoyment. It is a kilometre or so from the ruins of Paestum, which are extensive with three fine majestic Greek temples.

We were told there was no wifi in the bedroom, but there was in fact a reasonable reception in the room.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, avoid the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in August. The hotel was comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful. The breakfast is very good, although the coffee was sometimes a bit on the cool side.
Although it is a wedding hotel, the weddings are unobtrusive and you don't feel in the way.
The bedrooms are a good size, but I would recommend that you ask for one of the higher floors, otherwise your view is of the awning over the restaurant.
All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay and would be very happy to return. Thanks to the staff for being very helpful and pleasant, particularly Domenico and MariaLuisa.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Paestum, a lovely place for recovery, nice bathing, relaxing and enjoying Italian life south of Naples.
We have been in Paestum every summer since 2000 around Midsummer and about 10-12 days every year.
It is interesting to see and meet all the regular guests every year. As an Fellini movie, all happy and say Good Morning and always a smile on the lips.
Nice staff, really good breakfast, good proper cleaning and nice staff.

Room Tip: Book a de luxe room and get balcony towards the mountain. There are two smaller rooms in lower cate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveloholicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I had an amazing holiday at the Savoy Beach. This is a very beautiful place with a high level of service. I had a cozy room with a spectacular view. As for the restaurant, agree with majority of the really fantastic food, excellent service and pleasant atmosphere.
I would like to separately mention the manager Giovanni and his assistant Daniele... They were very friendly, attentive ... always willing to help and advise ..
I got lots of pleasure staying in this hotel. But i have only one complaint.. receptionist doesn't speak Enlish. I did not expect I'll be forced to "master" sign language, but it was the only way to get the necessary information. Do not want to seem picky, but I have not noticed from her any desire to help .. only passive indifference. So she should be at least more friendly.
But despite on it, i highly recommend this hotel to everyone. it's beautiful, it's great.. really enjoyable place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Oktogo.ru
1  Thank MariaIv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Cannot express how much care and attention we received at the Savoy Beach Hotel - Paestum. It was not just that the hotel was immaculate and the rooms beautifully presented, the food prepared with such care and creativity but it was the staff that made the trip special. Please try this hotel - I cannot recommend it enough. Try the wine tasting tour, experience the buffalo mozzarella tasting - you will be amazed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Grand style Hotel, grand entrance, beautiful terrace, swimmingpool …. the works.
Now, if you book through booking.com, the hotels mostly don’t give you their best rooms. It was also so in this case. They were working on a new entrance pavement and with the matching noises the room looked right out on it.
After some complaining from our side, reception offered to upgrade our room to one with a little balcony and view on the garden. Also the interior was a lot more beautiful, with faience tiling etc. And this for only 20€ more, instead of 40.
Now our whole stay became a most happy one.
Another little thing to mention: we both enjoyed excellent coffees on the large terrace next tot the pool. I had an espresso.
Well, we have been to Italy many times, but this one was THE all times best espresso I ever had. It had an almost chocolaty and earthy, nutty very strong flavor, without being exceedingly bitter. Our waiter confirmed that it was not a flavoured coffee, only beans. Outstanding.
Breakfast was absolutely superb, with a wide choice of fresh fruits.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed in the hotel from 20/4/12-24/4/12 and had a fantastic stay. The hotel has an impressive outward appearance - and a very impressive reception area. All staff were very friendly and helpful - reception staff, restaurant, bar, cleaners - everyone. It has a lovely family run atmosphere - the owner is regularly in the hotel and takes an active interest in how visitors are enjoying the hotel. Restaurant is quite simply outstanding !! The food is fantastic - sampled many items on the menu over the 4 days and everything was amazing. Very impressed with the professional and friendly restaurant staff. Nothing too much trouble - and very helpful with advice. Special thanks to Giovanni - restaurant manager - who personally escorted us on a trip to the hotel's buffalo mozzarella farm and vineyard - really enjoyable trip. Bedrooms were very comfortable - with lovely views over the hills. Hotel is ideally situated for visiting Paestum temples - Agropoli is close and a nice town to visit. Also visited Sorrento only 1.5 away. I simply cannot commend enough the warmth of the staff and the quality of the food !.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICMHeswall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
635 reviews
2 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#12 of 33 in Paestum
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Beach Hotel

Address: Via Poseidonia 41, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#3 Business Hotel in Paestum
#4 Family Hotel in Paestum
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paestum
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paestum
Price Range: £80 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Beach
Savoy Beach Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing