We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful ramshackle farm estate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Azienda Agrituristica Seliano
Ranked #6 of 36 Paestum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A last minute change of plans to visit Paestum without a hotel reservation and we ventured down the dirt road to this farm estate which has been in the same family for over 300 years. Yes we were greeted by the myriad assortment of dogs..some friendly others less so. Our room was large and comfortable and it was very interesting wandering around looking at the amazing collection of certificates and photos of the Countess. If you are expecting lots of attention and service you will be disappointed but this place suited our needs perfectly. The room was only €60 and dinner was €20 per person. That was a great deal. Dinner with the somewhat effete Belgian host and other guests was tasty..eggplant and tomatoes, frittata, air dried meat and of course mozzarella as appetizer, excellent fusilli with ricotta and vegetable sauce, beef and zucchini, berries and ice cream, wine and limoncello. We had a very early breakfast with yoghurt, cereal ,fruit, cakes , bread, juice, caffe. We had no time to visit the water buffalo but enjoyed our one evening stay. Easy access to the archeological site of Paestum which was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZooWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Azienda Agrituristica Seliano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were sorely disappointed in this place. The place was swarming with dogs, many of them not very friendly, some snappish. It appears that the owner wishes to provide stray dogs with the necessaries of dog life. The mozzarella di bufala business takes up the most of the rest of his time. We managed to persuade him to keep the dogs locked up at breakfast and dinner time, so that we could safely cross over to the gloomy dining room. Outside those times, I went to check whether the coast was clear, so that we could leave and arrive without our hair standing on end. The food was far below average and far below what a self-respecting agriturismo would provide. We cut back our booking from two nights to one, which was accepted in good grace. The mattress must have been about as old as the house. The courteous family who run the place need to make a choice: do guests really interest them or not?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Very beautiful, atmospheric place (and we visited in winter!) I stayed with a large university group and we were treated royally by the family/staff. We slept well and ate well, especially enjoying of course the prize-winning mozzarella di bufala. We toured the mozzarella production facilities and visited with the buffaloes. Cecelia and sons are gracious and lovely hosts. Recommended for groups, romantic, friends, family -- all sorts of visits.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Average- to below average experience.
We got a room, which smelled of humidity and was very old. Overpriced. Luckily we stayed only 1 day. Unluckily we did not come by car, and next day we were told we need a car to go to mozarella and buffalo farm- if we dont have a car, then too bad for us. So, we had to arrange with other guests so that we could come along. They did not help to arrange anything eventhough they advertise themselves as buffalo farm, the buffalos are 20 mins drive, and cheese is made far out as well.
Overrated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrottLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed for four nights last year. Wonderful experience, certainly if you want to venture a bit south of Napoli and visit Paestum or further South. Good advise on things to see. Great food in the evening (well the wine was not the best but Ok), home made for the mozzarella, extremely welcoming and kind people, great idea of the big dining table where you get to meet everyone. Nice swimming pool and very clean rooms. Definitely a place to stay. Good value for money for us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Welcoming and helpful staff, a large room filled with antiques in wish to stay, interesting and unusual buildings to relax and dine in, an outstanding dinner and remarkable breakfast that was shared with congenial fellow guests and a tour of their unique farm. Its a charming place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I think this place is something of a victim of its own success. This was our second visit and this time we left feeling a little 'flat' - revisiting an old lover is, I fear, not a guaranteed path to renewed euphoria!

It has its merits. The dinner is good and on occasion outstanding - exceptional. The dining area, a massive roofed building with no walls standing in the gardens is a charming setting. The guests, with whom the dinner tale is shared, are all interesting folk, from every corner of the earth. It is an experience.

Our room was vast, colonial in feel, furnished in antiques. The pool is a pleasure to melt a day away beside and in. The breakfast hall (and winter dining room) is grand.

Sadly though, I fear, it is currently lacking soul. It needs a fully engaged owned driving the place forward. It could be GREAT but it is not, these days, really so.

The saving grace is its location very close to the outstanding temples of Paestum - they must be visited, indulged in, absorbed entirely. And this is the residence from which to enjoy that essential pleasure.

So do it! Stay for a few nights, maybe take the road not so far north to Pompeii and defiantly Herculaneum. Expect the acceptable and perhaps you will find all your bells line-up in a row and ring out loud. You will not regret the stay and you really could thrive here.

It just did not do it our visit this time. Perhaps we are spoilt?

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cerfuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.4 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#2 of 33 in Paestum
501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
4.8 mi away
Hotel Castello dei Principi
0.8 mi away
Clorinda Paestum Hotel
Clorinda Paestum Hotel
#22 of 33 in Paestum
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azienda Agrituristica Seliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azienda Agrituristica Seliano

Address: Via Seliano SNC, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Paestum
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Azienda Agrituristica Seliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azienda Agrituristica Seliano Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing