We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canterbury Tales in Italy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Azienda Agrituristica Seliano
Ranked #5 of 37 Paestum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife and I wanted accommodation close to Ancient Paestum. We arrived in time for supper, and were immediately immersed in a group of fellow diners who could have come from Central Casting. It was the modern equivalent of checking in to the Inn in Canterbury Tales. A good meal (where EVERYTHING included Mozarella) and plenty of wine brought forth yarns the like of which remind one of Norse Sagas.

The room was large, roomy, with gorgeous antiques and spotlessly clean. And the Dowager Duchess who runs the place is a gem. Only in Italy................. A real classical farmhouse.

Use the GPS to find Azienda Agrituristica Seliano.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rball2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent a week here and loved it's laid-back feel.

We had a very large shabby-chic room in the rambling hotel/farmhouse and it was lovely (air com kept us comfy and mosquito-free overnight).

It's super laid-back vibe is fine once you get used to it! We arrived after a long and slightly fraught drive from the airport and spent a good 20mins trying to find the check-in, (I don't think there actually is one). Eventually we tracked someone down who welcomed us with some lunch starting with beautiful fresh mozzarella - there was much more of that to come, every meal in fact started with the farm's fresh mozzarella and far from being sick of it by the end of the week, we both loved it!

Dinner was a very communal and social affair with one huge table for everyone staying there. It was slightly daunting as a lone parent but after the initial shock of it (and the first glass or two of the farm's wine) we settled in and enjoyed the company. The food was generally good, quite meat-heavy which is a shame as they're so close to the sea. The 6+ courses each night meant there was always something that a fussy 6yr old would eat before disappearing off to play with his new friends.

The swimming pool was fabulous and we spent many happy hours in it, interspersed with trips to the local ruins at Paestum, Pompeii and up Mount Vesuvius. The beach is only a couple of km away but was very very busy - although the sea was as warm as the pool.

We made lots of friends and had a lovely time, we'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluejules2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Sept 2013, booked through Long Travel. Lovely location for the ruins at Paestum, and for touring the area. Arrived very late in the evening, but we were still given a wonderful choice of food with wine, very acceptable after a long day's travelling. The food was good rustic fare with lots of buffalo based meals, lots of buffalo meat and mozzarella. Wine was basic but very drinkable! Don't expect haute cuisine! The outside eating area was great, with every one at one large table in the evening. The variety of guests was really varied, with all kinds of background. If you have a car, then a visit to the buffalo farm is a must, very thought provoking, even for an established carnivore! Then a visit to the mozzarella factory. All in all a very good base for the area

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank holmefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were a little disappointed by this property, compared with an agroturismo we had stayed in previously. We stayed 3 nights and the food (no choice) was somewhat varied in quality, Some very good some less so. Our room looked like it had had nothing done for it for some years, electrics a bit iffy. Brothers running the place were delightful and very welcoming. Excellent pool and the dogs were no bother.

Room Tip: I would avoid the tower room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It is easy to imagine that this fresco, made of charming and clashing shapes and colours would be the home of a very special place...Tenuta Seliano... the former home of Baroness Cecilia Baratta and her family. Seliano is only 5 kilometres from the archaeological site of Paestum and the sea and has been converted into one of the best agritourismos in the country. We travelled along increasingly narrow roads that snaked through olive groves and over streams in the flatlands of the Sele and Alento rivers, which are a natural habitat for water buffalo that thrive in this temperate climate. The buffalo are thought to originally be imports from India, and have been rambling around the temples and surrounding plains for at least 1,100 years wallowing in the lowland waters. We passed the mozzarella factories, or caseificio, driving along curving roads and arrived at our destination.
We passed through the iron gates at Cecilia's husbands family estate and were greeted by the excited barks of the many friendly farms dogs. I was taken to my room in the main courtyard and allowed to acquaint myself with my charmingly rustic surroundings. It was then that I realized just how heavy my suitcase was as it was dragged upstairs. Note to self, I really must pack lighter even if travelling for a month. The window had been opened wide and I breathed in deeply taking in both the atmosphere and the fresh country air. The picturesque buildings have been turned into lodgings with large, comfortable guest rooms with country-style elegance and refined taste. Dating back to the 1800’s, Tenuta Seliano’s main house and farm buildings have great character, and a rustic elegance evoking gracious country living, from a different era. A well-groomed garden and some 91 hectares (225 acres) of land complete the property, part of which is dedicated to raising buffalo (for mozzarella, of course). It is the sort of place you'd never want to leave. The pool, sunbathing terraces and the large covered verandah, close by, are well furnished and perfect for relaxing and enjoying the tranquilizing calmness. I could linger all day by the pool in season with just the sound of birdsong in the air.

Seliano's setting is idyllic. It's an agriturismo of the purest kind where everything served at the table is produced on the farm, including the wine, olive oil and cheese. In fact from my room and the flower-filled balcony I could look out on to the very trees that the olives are harvested from. The views to the haze-shrouded coast were bewitching any time of day in this hypnotically peaceful spot. A few days of this and I was blissfully rested and refreshed. Agriturismo is an Italian term for what we might call a farm holiday or a form of agricultural tourism. In 1985, the Italian government passed a law encouraging farmers and landowners to convert their farmhouses or abandoned farm buildings into holiday accommodation. They are exactly what they claim to be, a working farm, surrounded by breathtaking natural beauty. Tenuta Seliano offered just what I longed for on an Italian vacation. An authentic Italian rural experience, the chance to live with an Italian family, and the opportunity to slow down from the normal tourist pace. The most difficult task each day was to decide how to spend my time, although Cecilia was the best guide in every respect.

The food at Tenuta Seliano is based on fresh farm produce. We gathered eggs further down the road on their farm property Masseria Eliseo where there is a large kitchen for group cooking classes next to the buffalo pastures and barns. With their own herd of over 800 buffalo there is also plenty of tasty fresh mozzarella and occasionally buffalo meat on the estate. The glory of these historic buildings was counterpointed by the open countryside creeping right up to the sturdy ancient walls with fields of broccolo romano, peppers, eggplants and, best of all, in late winter and early spring, the famous artichokes of Paestum. This small, round-headed artichoke is sweet, pinkish, succulent and sufficiently unique to be awarded standing in the DOP.

Pretty soon it's time for an aperitif on the terrace in the dying sun, watching the lizards scuttle in and out of the masonry. I couldn't imagine being anywhere else in the world. And then dinner. I enjoyed a set menu every evening, devised and prepared single-handedly by a team of cheerful cooks and served at a communal table. I was in and out of the kitchen taking a cooking class as well as observing these talented ladies make homemade pastas and many other dishes. The food was authentic, gutsy, faultlessly executed, and richly satisfying...and of course, as with everywhere in Italy, what was on the table is only what is in season. I would go so far as to say it was some of the best food I had the opportunity to try in the country. Each night I sat at a long table with an eclectic group of people. These were particularly convivial and memorable evenings, a chance to meet people from all walks of life and every corner of the world. Artists, doctors, hitchhikers, Cecilia's sons Ettore and Massimino and family friends all sipping local wine and breaking bread together; each seeking a truly authentic Italian experience. The atmosphere is friendly and informal, feeling more like a relaxed stay with friends. It’s everything a holiday should be!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bellinivalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A last minute change of plans to visit Paestum without a hotel reservation and we ventured down the dirt road to this farm estate which has been in the same family for over 300 years. Yes we were greeted by the myriad assortment of dogs..some friendly others less so. Our room was large and comfortable and it was very interesting wandering around looking at the amazing collection of certificates and photos of the Countess. If you are expecting lots of attention and service you will be disappointed but this place suited our needs perfectly. The room was only €60 and dinner was €20 per person. That was a great deal. Dinner with the somewhat effete Belgian host and other guests was tasty..eggplant and tomatoes, frittata, air dried meat and of course mozzarella as appetizer, excellent fusilli with ricotta and vegetable sauce, beef and zucchini, berries and ice cream, wine and limoncello. We had a very early breakfast with yoghurt, cereal ,fruit, cakes , bread, juice, caffe. We had no time to visit the water buffalo but enjoyed our one evening stay. Easy access to the archeological site of Paestum which was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZooWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were sorely disappointed in this place. The place was swarming with dogs, many of them not very friendly, some snappish. It appears that the owner wishes to provide stray dogs with the necessaries of dog life. The mozzarella di bufala business takes up the most of the rest of his time. We managed to persuade him to keep the dogs locked up at breakfast and dinner time, so that we could safely cross over to the gloomy dining room. Outside those times, I went to check whether the coast was clear, so that we could leave and arrive without our hair standing on end. The food was far below average and far below what a self-respecting agriturismo would provide. We cut back our booking from two nights to one, which was accepted in good grace. The mattress must have been about as old as the house. The courteous family who run the place need to make a choice: do guests really interest them or not?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.4 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Paestum Tenuta Lupo'
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#2 of 33 in Paestum
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel Castello dei Principi
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#10 of 33 in Paestum
410 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#5 of 33 in Paestum
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azienda Agrituristica Seliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azienda Agrituristica Seliano

Address: Via Seliano SNC, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Paestum
Price Range: £62 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Azienda Agrituristica Seliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azienda Agrituristica Seliano Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing