We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place. A perfect balance.”
Review of Casale Giancesare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casale Giancesare
Ranked #2 of 34 Paestum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place. A perfect balance.”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at Casale Giancesare for 6 nights and it was the highlight of our Italian trip. A beautiful peaceful location with wonderful grounds to relax in. A lovely pool and close enough to local sights, but not too close! We were given lots of recommendations and advice on places to visit, restaurants etc. We were offered lunch twice during our stay and the food was amazing!! The only recommendation that I would have is that they should definitely offer dining options for lunch and dinner onsite as their food is so good!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlynn696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    32
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
50
99
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We spent three nights here in a self catering apartment.

On the plus side the location is fantastic, with the main house and pool terrace on a hillside looking out over the coast. This creates superb views and beautiful sunsets. The gardens and agricultural land around the house is also lovely.

The family that run the business are very friendly and reallyy useful, recommending beaches, shops and restaurants and also booking the latter for us. We had some of their home made wine and were given fresh plums and figs from the garden.

This would have been the highlight of our stay had the rooms been a little better. We had plenty of space with a two room self catering apartment and private terrace, however it was not luxurious. For example there was a very small en suite with shower only and the aircon was intermittent.

But overall for the price we had a great time and would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovemyfoodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
513 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

On our tour of south Italy we stayed in this very quiet house for one night to see Peastum later. Enzo was taking care of the place with his cook who doubled as translater. We received a cool glas of wine for welcome. He advised us to see the ruins before sunset which was a really good advise as the temples are then photoed at their best. For a ten minute drive and 2.5 hours you could easily see both the excavation and the museum. The museum closes one house later than the grass overgrown site.
The room with the red tapistry of a fresco was specious and comfortable, under the roof after two flights of a spiral staircase.
The whole evening we spent with Enzo very relaxed on the veranda terrace with a bottle of wine from his celler and a few snacks while enjoying the magnificent view of the coast below. We talked about all sorts of issues in English, Spanish and a few words of Italian. Occasionally his two large Irish setters came to ask for a hug.

Room Tip: There are also rooms for families and a large aula next to the pool for special occasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The location and grounds are really lovely, unfortunately we didn't have a good experience. As we arrived we realised the rooms were not clean, the floor was filthy and being a country property is not an excuse for having ants crawling all over the floor. The lamps didn't work and the main light also broke the second night of our stay. The power of the shower was inadequate and we struggled to control the temperature and there were not enough towels provided. Overall the furniture of the rooms seemed old, grubby and randomly put together. Very disappointing compared to the communal areas (which you see in most of the pictures).
Attitude wasn't great eaither. The owner repremended the staff for the cleanlinees of the room in a very distasful manner in front of us. This was very unprofessional indeed. Also when we paid and asked for a recipt his excuse was that he doesn't know how to use the computer!!
It wasn't made clear if breakfast was included in the price, we only went for breakfast once and there was nothing left. At the end we were told that the breakfast was extra but we were not charged on goodwill!! The morning we left we didn't even see him! So much for good manners...
At the end we left 3 days in advance.
We chose this establishment because of the great reviews we read, unfortunately our experience hasn't been a good one. I cannot recommend this place and certainly will not be going there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu_chiManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meise, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We spent 3 days with Anna, Enzo, and their family in that wonderfull place...
Nice and very quiet surroundings, beautifull view and most attentive service...
Close to Paestum-site and yet very secluded ans peacefull.
Great gardens and swimming-pool.
We felt like home and we will return ! The best B&B since many years !!!!!
Anna and Enzo are fantastic !

Room Tip: Front room at the pool-side with view on to the distant sea above Paestum. Views until Capri and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swincam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Staying with Anna and Enzo was the favorite part of our Italian trip. Beautiful location with mountains behind the house, vineyards and the sea in front. Wonderful food and service extremely friendly. Our three year old son loved playing with their friendly dogs and cats and running around. He had a blast. He still keeps saying "grazie" and "prego". We were there during winter season, but I can imagine being there in the summer with the pool, in that beautiful Italian countryside must be heaven. We would definitely love to come back and can't recommend this place enough. If you go to Paestum or Amalfi coast, it is sooo worth to come there and enjoy Italy!!:))

Room Tip: Seaview room apartment was beautiful, nice kitchen too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked the Casale Giancesare for 10 days in January and stayed in the ‘Gerani’ two-room apartment with en suite bathroom with shower, and double private patio. A perfect balance of old world charm, comfort, privacy and southern Italian country life with the Voza family. The old stone house belonged to Enzo Voza’s grandfather, with surrounding vineyards, Mediterranean gardens and the Gulf of Salerno on the horizon.

We enjoyed peaceful breakfasts in our apartment and also loved the two delicious dinners that Enzo’s wife, Anna, prepared for us of regional specialties. Their grown children, Antonino and Federica, were home on the weekend, so it was a real joy for us to experience the warmth and fun of the entire Voza family.

Location was central to many spectacular sites:
• #1 was having the spectacular Amalfi coast drive to ourselves! No traffic!
• easy day trips by train to Naples, Salerno, Pompeii (from nearby Capaccio train station)
• drives to Paestum ruins and Cilento coast & national park

A real winter break from NYC and wonderful holiday to experience the warmth and beauty of the Campania region.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
3.6 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
4.0 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.4 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Rita
Hotel Villa Rita
#9 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.4 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casale Giancesare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casale Giancesare

Property: Casale Giancesare
Address: Via Gian Cesare, 8, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casale Giancesare is located in an absolutely prime location, only two kilometres away from Paestum archaeological area, which includes the ruins, the 2. 500 years old temples and the beautiful museum. The Farmhouse, which was built during the 19th century with original local stones, has been completely renovated and every single year that passes new improvements are made in order to make your stay always more pleasant. Today it is a place surrounded by a Mediterranean garden, composed by a vast variety of trees and plants like centuries-old olive and mulberry trees, vineyards, pomegranates, lavender, sage and rosemary plants. What is more important is that all the property is totally surrounded by nature, creating an atmosphere of complete relax. On the front side of the house is possible to have a look of the seaside: the view of the gulf of Salerno, with the Amalfi and the Cilento coasts that frame the island of Capri, is breathtaking especially at sunset. All the renovation of the structure was guided by the common sense and wisdom of the Voza family; the materials that have been chosen and the particular care about details have resulted in a perfect harmony that well balances a simple and refined style with all the modern comforts. The inspiring principle of Casale Giancesare, and what led to its birth and development, is surely the importance of family, our family: the Voza family. This main idea affected all our story. In 1999, all the family members shared the desire to renovate an old farmhouse, property of the family, and transform it in a proper home, where to live at close contact with nature. The renovations lasted three years, and this period represented the time required for the family to mature the idea and the wish to share with other people their good feelings toward the old house, now renovated, and towards the generous and fertile nature. From all this came up the idea to dedicate all our sensitiveness, our emotional intelligence, our warmth to hospitality. Casale Giancesare finally opened its doors in 2002 becoming a place where travellers and explorers of the new millennium can find a warm welcome and a peaceful rest. All the passengers that come to discover this land full of art and history, particularly embellished by the uncontaminated nature, help us to enrich our culture and give us the possibility to exchange experiences. We don't follow trends, but we like our guests to feel like at home, helped by the spontaneous warmth and care of our family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casale Giancesare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing