We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, even better people”
Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rita
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Beautiful hotel placed under the mountains of southern Italy. Great views all around and only 5 minutes walk from the beach. The hotel itself is excellent, the food is delicious and the facilities (including a pool, football pitch and free wi-fi) are all first class. I had an amazing stay at Villa Rita and the hotel staff were so friendly I didn't want to leave. Will be back again one day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baileytheblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

My week-long stay at the Hotel Villa Rita was magnificent. The food was great, the rooms very comfortable, the pool and proximity to the beach and ruins was perfect, and the thing to really rave about is the staff. A very close-knit group runs this adorable hotel, and it was apparent from day one that they get along fantastically and carry that friendliness over to their guests. They will have fascinating conversations with you, joke with you, and really become your friend. They are truly great people who actually go out of their way to provide for their guests in ways you would never expect a hotel to-- such as personally driving you over to an ATM or the train station. My stay was fantastic and relaxing and I'm going to miss it ridiculously. I hope I can return to Paestum if nothing else but to stay at Hotel Villa Rita again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asbMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Our mission was to visit the Greek Temple ruins of Paestum. We accomplished this and enjoyed the experiece very much. The real bonus for us was the discovery of Villa Rita, a delightful country villa within walking distance (10 minutes) of the ruins. Our first impression was the rustic charm of the villa and and surounding grounds/pool. Parking was free and ample.Upon entering we were warmly greeted by Rita, the daughter of Luigi, the padrone and personally escorted to our room which was bright, spacious and included a beautiful, panoramic view of the nearby hills. Rita, Luigi and the rest of the family made us feel very at-home during our 3-night visit.The value was great and so was the home cooked cuisine in the dining room. We ate there 2 nights and met some interesting people from around the world. It also has free WIFI. Rick Steves and Trip Advisor were right on with their positve reviews. We hope to return to Villa Rita.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgrieco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Luigi, the owner, went out of his way to help us during our visit, even shuttling one of our party to and from the train. the rooms are simple but have all the basics you need, the common area is pleasant, the hotel is very near the ruins, and the overall atmosphere is of a very warm welcome. the restaurant food is not foodie quality so do not get up your expectations, if you choose to eat there, but the service is wonderful throughout.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlrzhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Chose this at the last minute and although the hotel was well situated we thought that the breakfast selection was poor for the price and the dinner was a very limited choice and did not reflect the local area. Not good value overall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cultureseeker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

There are so many excellent reviews for Villa Rita writing another seems like piling on but we had such a pleasant stay I feel compelled. In addition to a very comfortable room, nice firm bed, beautiful grounds, a pleasant and soothing interior and dining room, there was a remarkable level of warm, friendly hospitality. For example:

We were offered a choice of room inside the main hotel or in an exteriour wind. We selected the outside room because the grounds were so lovely but they both appeared roomy and comfortable.

Rita noticed that it was my wifes birthday from her passport at check-in. That night at dinner, completely unrequested, the staff presented her with a little desert birthday cake with rose petals.

When initially offered the option of dinner at the hotel, I declined thinking we might go down to the seaside for dinner. Nothing there had much appeal and we returned to Villa Rita and asked if we could have dinner even though it was quite late. An excellent (and reasonably priced) meal followed that was among the top meal we had in Italy.

We wanted to view the Temples after dark, a flashlight was quickly recommended and provided. BTW, I highly recommend the lighted temple of Ceres after dark. I wish they would light them all.

Late checkout was no problem, keep your bags in the room, you might want to freshen up before your train.

We requested a taxi for the right to the station. Taxi? no need for that, we will drive you over.

A great stay, and very convenient to archeological zone's easy back entrance.

We highly recommend Villa Rita.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArneSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Everything about our stay was perfect. The rooms were excellent and the "cucina classica" of Enzo and his staff was perfection-fresh slow food served with pride and love and accompanied by the best local wines .not least Falanghina and Aglianico. The proprietor Mr Pisani and his daughter Rita made us all feel very special and very welcome and nothing was too much trouble , especially the arranging of local bus hire. Spring and the "run up" to Easter with the Feast of the Annunciation the perfect time to visit Southern Campania

Room Tip: Ask Mr Pisani and his staff for advice and help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank giovanniperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
1,002 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Address: Zona Archeologica SNC | Via Nettuno, 9, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paestum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#9 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range: £57 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing