We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rita
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Villa Rita. It was an excellent choice in terms of location, pleasant surroundings, and helpfulness of staff. It was a short walk to the ruins and archeological museum which was the purpose of our stay in Paestum. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and had a small balcony with a nice view. A buffet breakfast was included which had a wide variety of choices. We ate supper at the Villa Rita both nights we were there, and the quality, value, service, and convenience were outstanding. We could use our iPads in the lobby where there was free wi-fi available. Transportation to and from the train station was provided by the owner and his family. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We highly recommend the Hotel Villa Rita.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyCD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Rita
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here in early September 2011. When our train arrived the information lady in the station called the hotel and they came to pick us up. The room and the food were fine. Dinner didn't start until 8:00 p.m., a bit late for us. The next morning we had to catch a very early train and Rita came in early to process our bill and drive us to the station. We stayed only one night but it was just fine. The hotel is a short walk away from the Paestum temples. In fact, you can enter the temple site at the Neptune restaurant location instead of the museum entrance on the other side of the grounds. This is more convenient if walking from Hotel Villa Rita.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hotel Villa Rita is a very nice hotel. It is in walking distance of the temples in Peastum but also close to the beach. The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We loved the swimming pool in the garden. We hope to come back!

Room Tip: We had a room outside at the opposite of the main building. Wonderful!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 806Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

and we were very pleased we did find this gem by chance. We had visited the fabulous temples and were about to depart to the very busy Agripoli to try to find somewhere to stay for the night but we turned right out of the temples and came across Villa Rita. We stayed for three nights as it was just what we were looking for. It was quiet, clean and the rooms were spacious with air conditioning.
The hotel is well equipped and the staff are very helpful - no matter what you are asking for or about. The food was excellent with a set menu for dinner and a big variety for breakfast which was lovely. The swimming pool was quiet and clean and very refreshing in the 40 degree heat. There were a few families and they were well catered for as well.
A fabulous find and I recommend for anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 255118NZCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed 5 nights this July with our two small children. Upon arrival, the host kindly upgraded our room for our comfort. This was extremely kind of him, and our suite was beautiful. Every day for breakfast we had a wide selection of different fruits, breads and nothing beat the jug of cappuccino, from the beautiful stainless steel "Gaggia" maker. We chose our evening meals in the morning, and when we returned from sight seeing, we always had a beautiful 3 course meal waiting for us. The food was absolutely wonderful. Fresh pasta, chicken, fish and nothing beat the mouthfuls of buffalo mozzarella. The wait staff were well versed in recommending wine that would accompany the meal. The host and hostess were always there to help with many questions we had about sight seeing in the area. One day, she even drove us to Agropoli as we had missed the train. The hotel itself was lovely. It had a wonderful pool and it was great to have wine and coffee served before dinner. We enjoyed the gardens and ambience of the hotel. It was close to the beach and Paestum ruins (all within walking distance). This hotel was wonderful, and we have already started planning our return for next year. Thank you for all your efforts. N & J Lee

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Advice17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

If you are traveling to Paestum to view the Greek temples and especially, if you have no car, Villa Rita is for YOU. The hotel/motel's location is the very obvious 1st point to be made. However, it is truly the absolute focus given by owner Luigi Pisani and his staff on how guests are to be treated that makes this facility superior. Clean, neat and extremely well run, the focus is on YOU. One afternoon my wife and I walked to the Mediterranean ocean, 1 km down the same road Villa Rita is on, in the direction opposite to the ruins. On return, Luigi got his picture book out to show that this was the location of the Allied invasion of Italy, "Operation Avalanche" in 1943. One two page aerial photo shows the whole overall situation including the original Villa Rita! We just got home this afternoon and I've already ordered a copy of the book on Amazon.com ( used......they show one volume now left and that is $249).

So we reviewed out Italian hotels from this trip which included 3 - 5 stars and 1- 4 star, plus the 3 star Villa Rita. Which did we ENJOY the most? The Villa Rita.

Karen and Denny Custer

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We spent six weeks traveling throughout Europe in May and June. Toward the last of our journey, when we were especially travel-weary, we dropped down to Paestum to see the Greek temples with our guide, Sylvia Braggio. Sylvia is a treasure of information--can't say enough about her--she made the temples come alive for us. We selected the Hotel Villa Rita from our Rick Steves guidebook.

How I wish we could have stayed longer! Of all the places we stayed--and there were many--Hotel Villa Rita is staffed by people who are genuinely pleased to help and concerned about their guests' comfort. This was evident right away and continued throughout our visit. Our room was spacious and well-appointed--and spotlessly clean. We didn't try the swimming pool but it looked inviting and well maintained with pleasant surroundings.

The owner, Luigi, and his daughter (I wish I had written down her name--she was great!) were friendly and so helpful. In fact, when it was time to leave the next morning, Luigi drove us to the train station. Amazing!

Our dinner, at the hotel restaurant, was one of the best we enjoyed during our stay in Europe. Leisurely, stress-free dining--we were able to specify when we wanted to dine and choose our menu beforehand (with the gracious help of Luigi's daughter since our Italian is quite limited). The dining room blends perfectly with the overall image the hotel projects--a villa.

This is an amazing area--the temples are a "must see" and a stay-over at the Hotel Villa Rita is a no-brainer. You feel like you are in the country and for travel-weary folks, it was a breath of fresh air.

Room Tip: This isn't a view hotel and all rooms seem equal. Its charm is it provides a welcome getaway fr...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.8 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Castello dei Principi
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#2 of 33 in Paestum
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Address: Zona Archeologica SNC | Via Nettuno, 9, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#5 Business Hotel in Paestum
#10 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range: £49 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing