We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Country Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rita
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Country Hotel”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

What a delightful place to stay in Paestum. A short walk to the Greek temples, Roman ruins and the exceptional Museo Archeologico. Your genial host, Luigi, provides a map and directions for your visit. The hotel is clean, the grounds are well kept and it is very quiet and relaxing. You may also walk to the beach from the hotel. We had dinner one evening in the hotel; we found it to be reasonably priced and the quality of the food was very good. Breakfast is also included with the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were especially impressed with Davide, who was the only server the two days we stayed. He was very busy but managed to take care of all the guests quickly and efficiently. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillTravels40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    76
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
112
151
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had a great expereince at Villa Rita. The location is a short walk from the ruins. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The whole experience was enhanced by Luigi's thoughtful hospitality and personality. We had a fun evening enjoying cocktails in the living room and making new friends.
We would hightly recommend Villa Rita.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of September 2011. Luigi (Gino) and his staff were gracious hosts and very helpful. The hotel is situated very close to the Greek temple and Roman ruins. You can virtually walk there or ride a bike. The rooms are spacious and the grounds of the hotel are beautiful. One afternoon a wedding couple was shooting photos around the hotel. One evening after a delicious dinner, Luigi introduced us to some local theater actors and singers. The young lady, Sarah, sang a few notes for us which really moved my wife and me. Luigi, arranged to have Sarah and her husband to come back with a fantastic piano player to sing for us the following day. This turned out to be one of the most magical experiences of our Italy trip. Thank you Luigi and Sarah and all. Your friends from California.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesgreatredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Nice, peaceful inn with lovely swimming pool and grounds. Dinner was also good, the standout being the pasta Bolognese, pasta with marinara sauce, and the tortino di patate. Rooms were huge and included a comfortable leather couch. All the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room 22

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Dreadful cooking - how can you cook a fish so you can't get a knife through it. Accommodation OK.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We were very happy with our stay at the Hotel Villa Rita. It was an excellent choice in terms of location, pleasant surroundings, and helpfulness of staff. It was a short walk to the ruins and archeological museum which was the purpose of our stay in Paestum. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet and had a small balcony with a nice view. A buffet breakfast was included which had a wide variety of choices. We ate supper at the Villa Rita both nights we were there, and the quality, value, service, and convenience were outstanding. We could use our iPads in the lobby where there was free wi-fi available. Transportation to and from the train station was provided by the owner and his family. They couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We highly recommend the Hotel Villa Rita.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyCD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here in early September 2011. When our train arrived the information lady in the station called the hotel and they came to pick us up. The room and the food were fine. Dinner didn't start until 8:00 p.m., a bit late for us. The next morning we had to catch a very early train and Rita came in early to process our bill and drive us to the station. We stayed only one night but it was just fine. The hotel is a short walk away from the Paestum temples. In fact, you can enter the temple site at the Neptune restaurant location instead of the museum entrance on the other side of the grounds. This is more convenient if walking from Hotel Villa Rita.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.8 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Castello dei Principi
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
576 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#2 of 33 in Paestum
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Property: Hotel Villa Rita
Address: Zona Archeologica SNC | Via Nettuno, 9, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paestum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#10 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing