We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel of a hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rita
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Hotel Villa Rita is so welcoming and pleasant that we wished our time in Paestum had been much longer. Villa Rita has both character and comfort and quickly convinced us we selected the best accommodations for visiting the ancient treasure of Paestum—almost literally just across the road from the hotel. The family-owner staff were generous in meeting our every need, including even providing a dish of ice cream for a late-evening impulse. Our room was set within the tree-lined grounds and gardens situated adjacent to open land. A pool is available if one happens to be there during the day. The breakfast was a sumptuous spread with many different cheeses, fruits, meats, and eggs. During breakfast, Luigi, the owner, detecting our interest in the history of the area, pulled out a wonderful book documenting the Allied invasion in nearby Salerno and regaled us with personal accounts of World War II. We wished we could have had more evenings sitting in the hotel’s comfy sitting room talking ancient history with Luigi’s lovely daughter, Rita, who works in the hotel when she is not studying archeology at university. The family’s tourism presence in the town goes back to the 1930s, when Luigi’s grandfather opened one of the very first restaurants, the Neptune, just outside the ancient city’s gates. We cannot say enough nice things about Hotel Villa Rita. We are so glad we included Paestum in our itinerary and are doubly happy that we chose the Hotel Villa Rita to accommodate us. It is a pleasure to recommend this classy establishment to any visitor there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevoMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel was charming with lots of space to relax in large gardens including a sizeable swimming pool. After driving through some a dodgy looking area along the coast, it was like an oasis! Pleased we arrived mid afternoon with time to relax and enjoy it all. Conveniently located just across from the ruins. Very friendly and helpful hosts.
We had booked a triple room as we were 3 adults but decided to pay a little more and get an extra room as would have been a little crowded in the one. Both were on the top floor with a huge roof top terrace outside - fairly basic rooms but very clean, comfortable beds and well maintained
Highly recommend a stay here with enough time either before or after going to the ruins, to enjoy the garden and pool. Convenient to have dinner in the restaurant with pre dinner drinks on the patio with lovely ambience

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietteG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having travelled to almost 150 cities over the world, stayed in different types of accommodations over the years, Hotel Villa Rita is one of the best I've ever stayed and will absolutely recommend to every friend who plans to visit Paestum!

We felt just like home, everything is wonderful during our 24-hour (an evening stay) at Paestum. Hotel owner Luigi picked us up from the train station when we called him upon arrival, a nice talk as friendly as dad on the way, briefing us some quick history on the little town and the archeological site; then upon arriving the hotel, a big warm welcome from Rita, daughter of Luigi, and a good chat again in the tasteful and charmingly decorated sitting room (the lobby area) shortly before our room was ready.

Nothing is less than perfect during our stay:

Hardware - the cozy common area where we met a few nice neighbour residents of the hotel, not to mention Rita & Luigi themselves. Super clean, tidy and comfortable room, full amenities with a lovely garden view. Quick wifi and smooth connection all through - if any heads-up the problem will be fixed immediately, quicker than all 5-stars hotel in metropolis cities I've ever stayed. Perfect location - we even went to the ruins at night to shoot the temples-in-lights and could return in 15 minutes, all within extremely close walking distance!

Software - great hospitality, warm and home-like assistance and services, great food & wine (we had dinner there). It wasn't a michelin alright, but the sincerely prepared and value-for-money dining there won't fail you for sure.

We won't be missing Paestum as much as we do now if it weren't Hotel Villa Rita that we stayed - the whole experience here counts. We are moved by every little friendly and sincere gesture , from Luigi's pulling out and lending us a flashlight torch immediately when we said we wanted to out out see the ruins at night, Rita's corking back the red wine we finished half way for us to bring back to our room, etc. We'll be back at some point in the future! Thank you again Luigi and Rita, for everything, in particular for making travellers like us, from afar, a home-like stay at your lovely hometown. Grazie!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IreneAcacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we were off season and just visiting the Archeological site which is a close walk away. The food at the hotel was excellent. Staff were extremely helpful. The friends of the owner played music and sang after dinner. It was a special place to stay.

Room Tip: lunch is not served, but there are places near the sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We left Matera early in the morning and drove to Villa Rita in Paestum. The intent was to arrive early in the afternoon, check in, visit the ruins, have dinner and leave the next morning. Everything worked out perfectly, except that we regret not having spent more time there. Here's why.

Other than the beach, there is not much to do in Paestum itself, but visit the ruins. Villa Rita is superbly located a short walk from the entrance to the site and could not be more convenient for this purpose. In our planning, though, we failed to take into account the beauty and quietness of the grounds, or the quality of the swimming pool. The ideal scenario is to arrive at Villa Rita for dinner, or at least early enough to enjoy the swimming pool, then visit the ruins early the next morning, then relax in the pool in the afternoon. With two nights there, we would do one dinner at the Villa and maybe find a restaurant near the beach that specializes in seafood. Especially if you have been on the road travelling from one place to the next, as we had been the previous ten days, such a break would be fantastic! A nice long pool break would have been very nice.

Arriving at the Villa, we got a warm welcome from Rita, daughter of the owner and granddaughter of the Villa’s namesake. The room was upstairs in the main building and clean, comfy and with a nice view. No issues here at all. After checking in we walked off to visit the ruins, very easy to do. If you are fit enough to walk the ruins, you are certainly fit enough to walk to them from Villa Rita!

While visiting the ruins, don’t forget the museum itself. Though some of the display posters in the museum could use replacing, the museum is a hidden treasure of magnificent artifacts from Magna Grecia. Prior to going to Paestum, we knew about the ruins, but had no idea the museum held such incredible gems!

We hot-footed it back to the Villa as storm clouds were brewing and just made it back before torrential rains. After a shower and a change of clothes, we repaired to the lounge for gin & tonics (my wife’s British heritage shines through…). Unlike a G&T ordered from a regular bar, these were definitely home mixed. No measure was used and if that’s how they make their drinks, bring ‘em on (but they might lose money on each drink they pour!).

Dinner was a home style affair, too. This is not high gastronomy. You select your courses in advance; no menu arrives on your table in the evening. The food was perfectly acceptable and good, properly cooked and plentiful; the wine great as usual in this part of the world. Villa Rita’s cuisine will never win a Michelin star, but offers good value for money and friendly service.

We would like to go back to Paestum and if we do, we would stay at Villa Rita again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel was charming in every way possible, rooms were clean, dinning room had nice ambience and the hotel has lots of space to relax in including a very large swimming pool. The added bonus was that the food in the hotel was so good we did not feel inclined to wander out for a meal. And of course, being a family run business you had the feel of being a guest in the house of a very nice Italian family who make you welcome and relaxed. We were driving from Gozo to the UK and back and enjoyed the stay on the way down so much we returned for 3 more nights coming back.

Room Tip: There are ground floor chalets with a little porch outside to sit and relax. One seasonal bit of ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The property is lovely. Common areas tastefully decorated. The dining area has great ambiance. The service is excellent. Food was fresh and tasty. The room has character. Bathroom is modern. Owner and daughter do their best to make you feel welcomed. A peaceful respite after crazy day of driving. Would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curious005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.8 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Palme
Hotel Le Palme
#2 of 33 in Paestum
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Address: Zona Archeologica SNC | Via Nettuno, 9, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#5 Business Hotel in Paestum
#10 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range: £44 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing