We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Essential Italian experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villa Rita
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Essential Italian experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel Villa Rita is a genuine jewel of Italy! The hotel is run by the Owner and his daughter, who provide you with excellent service to make your stay memorable. The grounds were clean and beautiful, the rooms were clean and comfortable. And the 2500 year old ruins are a block a way!

We highly recommend this hotel format quintessential Italian experience!

Room Tip: If you like easy access, stay in the garden rooms. They include an outdoor sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjmcintosh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    70
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
101
141
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
172 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

As you drive toward Paestum you may wonder what you've gotten yourself in for. Both the coast road and the road coming from the Autostrada pass messy unzoned constructions. But once you get to the temples at Paestum it's already much better, and once you pull into the driveway of Villa Rita all your worries vanish. It's a lovely property, with a beautiful garden to explore and a nice pool area. There's farm land on three sides of the hotel. At night, the only noise you hear are frogs. There are two types of rooms: in the main building and then a row of independent one-story `motel-style' rooms. We took the latter because it was easier access for our luggage and they appeared bigger. As often in Italy, the rooms are simple, but they are perfectly comfortable and have all the storage and bathroom facilities you need. There's good free wifi throughout. At this point, you can ditch the car. The entry to the ruins are a five minute walk away, and the beach is 10 minutes. The beach (as sadly is often the case in Italy) had some garbage strewn about but it wasn't bad enough to prevent a long walk on the sand alongside a pine forest. We were there in April and the water was pretty chilly, but I went for a few swims and the water was clean enough. I presume that in season the beach is swept and the garbage collected. Also, five minutes away from the hotel is a buffala farm where not only do they make outstanding mozzarella that they can pack for you to bring home, but also yogurt, butter, ice cream and pastries made from buffala milk, as well as various packages of buffala meat and salumi. We were very happy with the high-quality low-price dinners at the hotel but the choice is limited (two starters, two mains, two desserts) and if you wanted to eat out there are numerous options you could walk to. We were never tempted, but the option is there. The breakfast is a bit heavy on cakes for my taste, but they do offer some cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, and fruit. Finally, the family who run it are absolutely lovely - all of them. Very friendly and helpful. A final note: we used the hotel as a base to visit Pompeii and Ercolano. It's not ideal because it's a little more than an hour of driving each way but it is do-able, and it was nice to know we were getting back to this hotel at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We knew nothing about the southern part of Italy before this trip and the three of us were just looking for somewhere near the sea to relax before returning home. We had just enjoyed a hectic three weeks touring the historic and cultural sites of Northern Italy. We lucked out with Villa Rita! We had the best service....excellent food in a lovely dining room setting....a lovely well equipped bedroom and bathroom, and friendly, knowledgeable staff. We particularly enjoyed the bikes which gave us quick and easy access to the Mediterranean, where we swam daily (in late October!), to the nearby amazing Greek ruins, the amazing Archeological Museum and to the Buffalo Mozarella Ranch nearby. Thanks to Luigi and Rita and Alesandro for making our stay so memorable! By the time we left the hotel, we felt like family friends. We would come back in a heartbeat if we could!
Jeanna Baty
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: Phone the hotel to ask about accessing rail service. It was excellent, though we had trouble gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Hotel Villa Rita is so welcoming and pleasant that we wished our time in Paestum had been much longer. Villa Rita has both character and comfort and quickly convinced us we selected the best accommodations for visiting the ancient treasure of Paestum—almost literally just across the road from the hotel. The family-owner staff were generous in meeting our every need, including even providing a dish of ice cream for a late-evening impulse. Our room was set within the tree-lined grounds and gardens situated adjacent to open land. A pool is available if one happens to be there during the day. The breakfast was a sumptuous spread with many different cheeses, fruits, meats, and eggs. During breakfast, Luigi, the owner, detecting our interest in the history of the area, pulled out a wonderful book documenting the Allied invasion in nearby Salerno and regaled us with personal accounts of World War II. We wished we could have had more evenings sitting in the hotel’s comfy sitting room talking ancient history with Luigi’s lovely daughter, Rita, who works in the hotel when she is not studying archeology at university. The family’s tourism presence in the town goes back to the 1930s, when Luigi’s grandfather opened one of the very first restaurants, the Neptune, just outside the ancient city’s gates. We cannot say enough nice things about Hotel Villa Rita. We are so glad we included Paestum in our itinerary and are doubly happy that we chose the Hotel Villa Rita to accommodate us. It is a pleasure to recommend this classy establishment to any visitor there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel was charming with lots of space to relax in large gardens including a sizeable swimming pool. After driving through some a dodgy looking area along the coast, it was like an oasis! Pleased we arrived mid afternoon with time to relax and enjoy it all. Conveniently located just across from the ruins. Very friendly and helpful hosts.
We had booked a triple room as we were 3 adults but decided to pay a little more and get an extra room as would have been a little crowded in the one. Both were on the top floor with a huge roof top terrace outside - fairly basic rooms but very clean, comfortable beds and well maintained
Highly recommend a stay here with enough time either before or after going to the ruins, to enjoy the garden and pool. Convenient to have dinner in the restaurant with pre dinner drinks on the patio with lovely ambience

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrietteG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having travelled to almost 150 cities over the world, stayed in different types of accommodations over the years, Hotel Villa Rita is one of the best I've ever stayed and will absolutely recommend to every friend who plans to visit Paestum!

We felt just like home, everything is wonderful during our 24-hour (an evening stay) at Paestum. Hotel owner Luigi picked us up from the train station when we called him upon arrival, a nice talk as friendly as dad on the way, briefing us some quick history on the little town and the archeological site; then upon arriving the hotel, a big warm welcome from Rita, daughter of Luigi, and a good chat again in the tasteful and charmingly decorated sitting room (the lobby area) shortly before our room was ready.

Nothing is less than perfect during our stay:

Hardware - the cozy common area where we met a few nice neighbour residents of the hotel, not to mention Rita & Luigi themselves. Super clean, tidy and comfortable room, full amenities with a lovely garden view. Quick wifi and smooth connection all through - if any heads-up the problem will be fixed immediately, quicker than all 5-stars hotel in metropolis cities I've ever stayed. Perfect location - we even went to the ruins at night to shoot the temples-in-lights and could return in 15 minutes, all within extremely close walking distance!

Software - great hospitality, warm and home-like assistance and services, great food & wine (we had dinner there). It wasn't a michelin alright, but the sincerely prepared and value-for-money dining there won't fail you for sure.

We won't be missing Paestum as much as we do now if it weren't Hotel Villa Rita that we stayed - the whole experience here counts. We are moved by every little friendly and sincere gesture , from Luigi's pulling out and lending us a flashlight torch immediately when we said we wanted to out out see the ruins at night, Rita's corking back the red wine we finished half way for us to bring back to our room, etc. We'll be back at some point in the future! Thank you again Luigi and Rita, for everything, in particular for making travellers like us, from afar, a home-like stay at your lovely hometown. Grazie!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneAcacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

we were off season and just visiting the Archeological site which is a close walk away. The food at the hotel was excellent. Staff were extremely helpful. The friends of the owner played music and sang after dinner. It was a special place to stay.

Room Tip: lunch is not served, but there are places near the sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#2 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.8 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Property: Hotel Villa Rita
Address: Zona Archeologica SNC | Via Nettuno, 9, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paestum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#10 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing