We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can warmly recommend Villa Rita.”
Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rita
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our guide book had called this family hotel ”a tranquil haven, aside from the birdsong, with rustic rooms and a good restaurant”. Having spent four days there in the middle of April 2014, my husband and I completely agree with the guide.
The formidable and well kept Paestum temples are just down the road. The staff of Villa Rita is qualified and helpful, f.i. on mail before the visit, and when you need advice during your stay regarding trips in the neighbourhood. We can warmly recommend Villa Rita.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VibyMogensen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed last year on a solo trip,and was so enchanted had to return again this year with my wife.
Family run hotel that is welcoming,peaceful with a charming lounge/dining area.
The owner and his daughter Rita, were as helpful as you could wish for.
An evening meal is available and is very good value and the food was excellent.
Set in semi rural tranquil environment and yet only two hundred or so metres from the majestic
and awe inspiring temples of Paestum,they are magnificent.
Lovely out door pool
.I told the owner my wife had never seen a firefly and after dark he took us out to the garden to see them, and even caught one and gave it to my wife.
highly recommended and will definately be back to villa Rita

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

While we were touring ruins in Italy, it was so fortunate to stay at Casa Rita. We were met with such a warm welcome and during our stay, the owner and his daughter provided us with such memories!
They arranged for us to meet a local artist, having admired some of his art. We were given an opportunity to visit a Bufala Mozzarella Co. where we met Aldo the owner,and he and my sister discussed the Slow Food Movement. We visited Paestum.
It was raining terribly so we were not able to wander the hotels property, which I think would have been fun,.
Thanks for the memories!!!!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just came back [May 2014] from spending a week at Hotel Villa Rita in Paestum, which is located near my family's hill-towns of Castelcivita and Roscigno, yet, still near enough for day trips to Capri, Amalfi, and Naples. You can be a typical tourist or you can take a deeper plunge into Italy, literally, by visiting the Caves of Castelcivita. Astonishingly beautiful. Definitely eat at my cousin Felice's restaurant just outside the Caves. And there really is a Rita at Villa Rita, a wonderful hostess whose youth belies her skills. Along with dad, Luigi, both treat you like family and welcome you at their home, which is very comfortable and very affordable. Even though breakfasts and dinners are delicious, don't miss a lunch at one of the nearby buffalo farms where you watch how mozzarella is made. So good! Stay at Villa Rita when in Paestum. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel Villa Rita is a genuine jewel of Italy! The hotel is run by the Owner and his daughter, who provide you with excellent service to make your stay memorable. The grounds were clean and beautiful, the rooms were clean and comfortable. And the 2500 year old ruins are a block a way!

We highly recommend this hotel format quintessential Italian experience!

Room Tip: If you like easy access, stay in the garden rooms. They include an outdoor sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjmcintosh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As you drive toward Paestum you may wonder what you've gotten yourself in for. Both the coast road and the road coming from the Autostrada pass messy unzoned constructions. But once you get to the temples at Paestum it's already much better, and once you pull into the driveway of Villa Rita all your worries vanish. It's a lovely property, with a beautiful garden to explore and a nice pool area. There's farm land on three sides of the hotel. At night, the only noise you hear are frogs. There are two types of rooms: in the main building and then a row of independent one-story `motel-style' rooms. We took the latter because it was easier access for our luggage and they appeared bigger. As often in Italy, the rooms are simple, but they are perfectly comfortable and have all the storage and bathroom facilities you need. There's good free wifi throughout. At this point, you can ditch the car. The entry to the ruins are a five minute walk away, and the beach is 10 minutes. The beach (as sadly is often the case in Italy) had some garbage strewn about but it wasn't bad enough to prevent a long walk on the sand alongside a pine forest. We were there in April and the water was pretty chilly, but I went for a few swims and the water was clean enough. I presume that in season the beach is swept and the garbage collected. Also, five minutes away from the hotel is a buffala farm where not only do they make outstanding mozzarella that they can pack for you to bring home, but also yogurt, butter, ice cream and pastries made from buffala milk, as well as various packages of buffala meat and salumi. We were very happy with the high-quality low-price dinners at the hotel but the choice is limited (two starters, two mains, two desserts) and if you wanted to eat out there are numerous options you could walk to. We were never tempted, but the option is there. The breakfast is a bit heavy on cakes for my taste, but they do offer some cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, and fruit. Finally, the family who run it are absolutely lovely - all of them. Very friendly and helpful. A final note: we used the hotel as a base to visit Pompeii and Ercolano. It's not ideal because it's a little more than an hour of driving each way but it is do-able, and it was nice to know we were getting back to this hotel at night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We knew nothing about the southern part of Italy before this trip and the three of us were just looking for somewhere near the sea to relax before returning home. We had just enjoyed a hectic three weeks touring the historic and cultural sites of Northern Italy. We lucked out with Villa Rita! We had the best service....excellent food in a lovely dining room setting....a lovely well equipped bedroom and bathroom, and friendly, knowledgeable staff. We particularly enjoyed the bikes which gave us quick and easy access to the Mediterranean, where we swam daily (in late October!), to the nearby amazing Greek ruins, the amazing Archeological Museum and to the Buffalo Mozarella Ranch nearby. Thanks to Luigi and Rita and Alesandro for making our stay so memorable! By the time we left the hotel, we felt like family friends. We would come back in a heartbeat if we could!
Jeanna Baty
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: Phone the hotel to ask about accessing rail service. It was excellent, though we had trouble gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.8 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#1 of 33 in Paestum
631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
994 reviews
1.3 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Address: Zona Archeologica SNC | Via Nettuno, 9, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#5 Business Hotel in Paestum
#10 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range: £41 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing