We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Rita

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villa Rita
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Paestum
Certificate of Excellence
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

What most struck my husband and I was the warm welcome extended to us by the owner and his delightful daughter. That welcome extended through our stay even as it was raining and somewhat unseasonably chilly. Our accommodations were very nice - complete with a comfy chair and lovely view: and the dining and public area was warm and very friendly. We enjoyed our dinner and the guidance that was provided. Especially memorable was the time spent with the owner who told us about the hotel which has been a family business, for what soon will be three generations. When my husband arrived with a severe cold, efforts were made to make him comfortable and the staff made it possible for him to remain in be way past check out time. It was the warm touches, the generosity and the quiet, simple elegance of Vila Rita that made such a difference. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    70
    19
    2
    0
See reviews for
101
141
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our guide book had called this family hotel ”a tranquil haven, aside from the birdsong, with rustic rooms and a good restaurant”. Having spent four days there in the middle of April 2014, my husband and I completely agree with the guide.
The formidable and well kept Paestum temples are just down the road. The staff of Villa Rita is qualified and helpful, f.i. on mail before the visit, and when you need advice during your stay regarding trips in the neighbourhood. We can warmly recommend Villa Rita.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VibyMogensen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed last year on a solo trip,and was so enchanted had to return again this year with my wife.
Family run hotel that is welcoming,peaceful with a charming lounge/dining area.
The owner and his daughter Rita, were as helpful as you could wish for.
An evening meal is available and is very good value and the food was excellent.
Set in semi rural tranquil environment and yet only two hundred or so metres from the majestic
and awe inspiring temples of Paestum,they are magnificent.
Lovely out door pool
.I told the owner my wife had never seen a firefly and after dark he took us out to the garden to see them, and even caught one and gave it to my wife.
highly recommended and will definately be back to villa Rita

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

While we were touring ruins in Italy, it was so fortunate to stay at Casa Rita. We were met with such a warm welcome and during our stay, the owner and his daughter provided us with such memories!
They arranged for us to meet a local artist, having admired some of his art. We were given an opportunity to visit a Bufala Mozzarella Co. where we met Aldo the owner,and he and my sister discussed the Slow Food Movement. We visited Paestum.
It was raining terribly so we were not able to wander the hotels property, which I think would have been fun,.
Thanks for the memories!!!!.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just came back [May 2014] from spending a week at Hotel Villa Rita in Paestum, which is located near my family's hill-towns of Castelcivita and Roscigno, yet, still near enough for day trips to Capri, Amalfi, and Naples. You can be a typical tourist or you can take a deeper plunge into Italy, literally, by visiting the Caves of Castelcivita. Astonishingly beautiful. Definitely eat at my cousin Felice's restaurant just outside the Caves. And there really is a Rita at Villa Rita, a wonderful hostess whose youth belies her skills. Along with dad, Luigi, both treat you like family and welcome you at their home, which is very comfortable and very affordable. Even though breakfasts and dinners are delicious, don't miss a lunch at one of the nearby buffalo farms where you watch how mozzarella is made. So good! Stay at Villa Rita when in Paestum. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel Villa Rita is a genuine jewel of Italy! The hotel is run by the Owner and his daughter, who provide you with excellent service to make your stay memorable. The grounds were clean and beautiful, the rooms were clean and comfortable. And the 2500 year old ruins are a block a way!

We highly recommend this hotel format quintessential Italian experience!

Room Tip: If you like easy access, stay in the garden rooms. They include an outdoor sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjmcintosh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
172 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

As you drive toward Paestum you may wonder what you've gotten yourself in for. Both the coast road and the road coming from the Autostrada pass messy unzoned constructions. But once you get to the temples at Paestum it's already much better, and once you pull into the driveway of Villa Rita all your worries vanish. It's a lovely property, with a beautiful garden to explore and a nice pool area. There's farm land on three sides of the hotel. At night, the only noise you hear are frogs. There are two types of rooms: in the main building and then a row of independent one-story `motel-style' rooms. We took the latter because it was easier access for our luggage and they appeared bigger. As often in Italy, the rooms are simple, but they are perfectly comfortable and have all the storage and bathroom facilities you need. There's good free wifi throughout. At this point, you can ditch the car. The entry to the ruins are a five minute walk away, and the beach is 10 minutes. The beach (as sadly is often the case in Italy) had some garbage strewn about but it wasn't bad enough to prevent a long walk on the sand alongside a pine forest. We were there in April and the water was pretty chilly, but I went for a few swims and the water was clean enough. I presume that in season the beach is swept and the garbage collected. Also, five minutes away from the hotel is a buffala farm where not only do they make outstanding mozzarella that they can pack for you to bring home, but also yogurt, butter, ice cream and pastries made from buffala milk, as well as various packages of buffala meat and salumi. We were very happy with the high-quality low-price dinners at the hotel but the choice is limited (two starters, two mains, two desserts) and if you wanted to eat out there are numerous options you could walk to. We were never tempted, but the option is there. The breakfast is a bit heavy on cakes for my taste, but they do offer some cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, and fruit. Finally, the family who run it are absolutely lovely - all of them. Very friendly and helpful. A final note: we used the hotel as a base to visit Pompeii and Ercolano. It's not ideal because it's a little more than an hour of driving each way but it is do-able, and it was nice to know we were getting back to this hotel at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paestum hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Cerere
Hotel Cerere
#2 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.1 mi away
Esplanade Boutique Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Il Granaio dei Casabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Savoy Beach Hotel
Savoy Beach Hotel
#3 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oleandri Resort Paestum - Hotel Residence Villaggio Club
0.8 mi away
Mec Paestum Hotel
Mec Paestum Hotel
#4 of 33 in Paestum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rita

Property: Hotel Villa Rita
Address: Zona Archeologica SNC | Via Nettuno, 9, 84047 Paestum, Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Capaccio-Paestum > Paestum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Paestum
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paestum
#10 Family Hotel in Paestum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Rita is situated about 300 metres from the main road in the countryside just outside the walls of antique Paestum, on a property of two hectares. It's an ideal, tranquil setting for those who are seeking a break from the city. The hotel has a restaurant, pool and private parking.It's 900 metres from the beach and 1400 metres from the railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Villa Rita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rita Hotel Paestum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing