We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Residence Hotel
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Palinuro
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We had a terrible experience ! We attended a wedding at the hotel, which was fantastic ! Our hotel room was not in main building and it was very very old and in bad need of renovation ! No hot water , when we reported this we were told tune water on for 10 minutes and then hot water will come through but this was not the case ! Beds were absolute shockers !!! Location was gorgeous but the room we had was an absolute disgrace, never again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Masteralessio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    59
    44
    46
    40
See reviews for
56
112
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed as a group of 5, 4 adults and 1 child and we split the rooms as a Junior suite and one of the cottage rooms that sleeps 3, the Junior suite (room 206) was excellent apart from the air conditioning unit which was really ineffective at doing its job, the cottage room was not good though and was not part of the main hotel, it was dated and dark and not really where you would want to have a 4 year old child for a week so we asked to be moved which the hotel did to a slightly better room in the main hotel with an upgrade charge.
Food there was ok, breakfast was basic and the staff seemed pleasant enough but this Hotel could be really good with a bit of money spending on it, the big plus is the view from the hotel is stunning coupled with having access to beautiful beach that is visited during the day by many boats, there is a shuttle boat laid on by the hotel that takes you to the port and a short bus journey back to the hotel free of charge if you don't fancy the walk back up the many steps back up to the hotel.
All in all an OK stay that could have been made special with a few more easy touches and a bit of a refurbishment of the hotel.

Room Tip: Keep to the main hotel and pay a bit more for a junior suite, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I share a lot of what has been written in the reviews and also recognise the shortcomings of this place. However, the view and the location are so stunning that you tend to forget of a lot of other things that could be improved. That is why I put 4 stars. Firstly, make sure you speak to Luisa of the reception. She was fantastic all throughout our stay and tried her best to make us feel at ease. The other ladies of the reception were also very nice. Then, the beach of the hotel that can be reached after 424 steps is fabulous. Salvatore is downstairs and will make sure you are comfortable and will prepare an amazing "fresella". Beware that it is not children friendly although my kids actually coped unexpectedly well.
We stayed in both the old fashioned rooms that need some serious renovations and then stayed in the newer "prestige" rooms. The terrace and views are amazing and the rooms ok. But the bathrooms seem those of a two star hotel. Amenities are also not those of a four star hotel. The tv has only 6 channels. Breakfast is also nothing special although the croissants are delicious. It's surprising to see some of the staff members overworking from
morning till late at night. The pool of the hotel is great. The town of palinuro is nothing special so we were glad to stay at the hotel where the food is good. Try going to restaurant Angiolina in Marina di Pisciotta to have a great gastronomic experience. Take the boat trips to visit caves and other beaches. But mostly, try to enjoy the crystal clear water of the hotel's Baia del Buon Dormire.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel, which has lots of individual rooms. A steep path leads down to beach and a nice pool at the hotel. The room was basic, but with charm, a lovely balcony and fantastic sea view we were in the Marinelli area. The food was good. Staff very helpful especially accomodating when due to a flight being very delayed we arrived at 1am in the morning... I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are a number of different areas, we were in marinelli which was lovely but a lot of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The king's hotel is a great hotel along the Cilento Coast.
I cannot commend them enough from the moment we arrived at check-in all the way through our stay on departure. The genuine warmth and friendliness which was shown, 
The food was delicious as was the room overlooking the sea.The hotel is just beautiful. The rooms are oversized, and well appointed. The staff are friendly, and you can be assured of a very comfortable stay .Attractive swimming area and beach.
We have stayed in a lot of hotels, and this really is our favourite. You really should try The Kings, and I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Well done & thank you for a wonderful stay! A special thank you to Luisa

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Free11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Our trip begun from Rome where we stayed our first night. Then we took train to Palinuro which was easy travelling with a moderate price (90 euro + 20 euro for taxi, almost 400km trip). We had not much information about the hotel, but it exceeded our expectations. The hotel probably have seen its best days, since it felt like there was only few other quests in addition to us. Anyhow, our room was excellent, staff was friendly and always available, breakfast was quite good and the pool was nice with great views. Getting to the beach was quite a hike in that heat, but it is worth the effort if you like to swim in the sea! There was not much activities in the hotel, but the staff can help to order excursions etc.

We prefer to keep our food expenditures low on our travels. Therefore we often walked down to palinuro to have dinner in the evening. There are a lot of great places which offer great food for half the prices of the hotel's menu.

We stayed almost a week and hence we wanted some activity in addition to sun bathing. We rent a car from Palinuro (50euro+gas) and drove along the coast to see Pompeii. That was beautiful and exciting route. From pompeii we took a train to see Naples, but got very tired when we arrived and decided to go back immediately. On our way back from Pompeii to Palinuro we drove highway route instead the coastal road which was a mistake, and got an extra 200km to our drive while tired and exhausted. Nevertheless, it was a trip to remember! From our car we experienced so many exotic little towns along the coast! It is a shame we didn't have energy to experience them more in depth... So, I recommend renting a car or some other vehicle if you stay in Kings residence, there are much to see around the coast! The hotel is great for the price, very elegant! Italy's coastal countryside is lovely!

I can recommend this to travellers who like to explore, who have expensive taste but want to keep expenditures low or who haven't been to Italy's beautiful coastal country side!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bienne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

After 22 years I decided to return to Palinuro were I have spent all my summer holidays as a kid. I remembered that, in the beginning of the 80's, King's Residence was the most luxurious and expensive hotel then. We arrived at the reception and a very friendly employee, Luisa, told us that they had upgrated us. On internet, we booked a bungalow. Nevertheless, we wanted to give an eye to the bungalow first and I must admit that it was very dark and old. So we received a lovely renovated room with a balcony. The view ... my goodness ! we could have spent days watching at the turquoise sea, the spiaggia del Mingardo and sometimes, when the weather was clear we could even see till Calabria. Room and toilets were immaculate. There is an small TV with 3 Italian channels, 1 German and 1 English and that's it. There is a fridge, a fan and AC as well. As it was low season, we had the huge pool just for us during the week days. The pool, the terrasse and the park are awesome. From there you can reach the Spiaggia Del Buondormire but you have to walk a couple of hundreds of stairs and the beach is very small. The furniture in the lobby and the bar is from the seventies, we loved it ! The breakfast was good and you get real Italian coffee or capuccino. Every evening, we walked down and up the hill after dinner in Palinuro and let the car in the free parking. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. There is free wi-fi but the signal is so weak that you have to stay not more than 5 meters far from the reception but there is an old PC you can use for free. Definitively, King's Residence is not (anymore) a 4 stars hotel but the price not either. I would recommend it, it's a good value and I will of course go back to Palinuro wihout waiting another 22 years and stay again at King's Residence !
I liked : the view, the pool, the friendly staff, the70's furniture

Room Tip: Don't take the bungalows, go for a room with the breathtaking view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madame-Minouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palinuro hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Village Tabu'
Hotel Village Tabu'
#12 of 23 in Palinuro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#2 of 23 in Palinuro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#13 of 23 in Palinuro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Borgo Antico
Hotel Borgo Antico
#3 of 23 in Palinuro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#4 of 23 in Palinuro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Conchiglia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Residence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Residence Hotel

Property: Kings Residence Hotel
Address: Via Piano Faracchio 1 | Baia del Buondormire, 84051 Palinuro, Centola, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Centola > Palinuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palinuro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palinuro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kings Residence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kings Residence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Residence Palinuro
Hotel Kings Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing