We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden little gem in Southern Italy”
Review of Saline Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saline Hotel
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Palinuro
Certificate of Excellence
aberdeenshire
1 review
“A hidden little gem in Southern Italy”
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My wife and I took this as a last minute holiday recommended by the travel agent. If you want to get away from it all and experience Italy as the italians do then we highly recommend the hotel and area.
Outside of the hotel there were many wonderfull towns, villages to visit and explore. A car is definitely required for the freedom to do this.
Its about a three hour drive from Napoli - don't use the sat nav route as it takes across country and along the narrow mountain roads - a night mare if you have never driven in italy or on the "wrong side" of the road before.
The hotel was perfect - we cannot complain about anything. We were the only "non Italians" in the hotel but rather than have a negative effect it made the holiday kind of special. I would recommend this hotel for couples wishing to have a quiet relaxing and romantic break.
We would definitely consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeythedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    121
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
176
104
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2009

My family and I expeiaced a wounderful staff Led by francisco. The Dining was good and Anthony catered to our requests. The ocean was tranquil and very plesent for my entire family. The boys 4 and 1 had a blast. The town was pleasent in the evening and all around the value was exelent.. As an Itialian american whho has lived and traveled throu-out Italy I can say the experiance is worth the journey from Napoli.

Ciao, e Buona Fortuna Saline

  • Liked — the chefs menu
  • Disliked — pool not heated
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Buona_Fortuna_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

My family stayed here for 5 days and we had a great time. The rooms were clean and were a good size. The staff was friendy and very helpful. The director( Francesco) always greeted us and asked how our stay was which gave us a very welcomed feeling. The pool and beach were right there, and there was always beach chairs and umbrellas. The beach was clean water was fantastic. If you have kids the kids club was awesome. They welcomed our children and tried there best to make them feel included even though our kids didnt speak Italian.. Great place to stay loved it!!!!!!

  • Liked — The pool and beach!!!!
  • Disliked — I cant say anything bad about this hotel.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsiov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2007

The Saline hotel is situated about 2-3 hours from naples and capadochino airport in a small port town. It is quite remote, and there were no other english/german/dutch people staying there. The staff were both friendly and helpful and gave us free lifts up to town when they were not scheduled to. I would definitely not reccomend walking up to the town, there is no path and there is a dog which barks at you! The hotel food does not have much variety so if eating out try De Isedora pizzaria which is towards the end of the high street. One thing that was annouying was that the swimming pool closes at 2:30 and re-opens at 4:30, and on our second to last day there was a small poo in the pool, the suspected culprit a young toddler who roamed about naked. I would consider coming back but the airport transfer and food let it down.

  • Liked — frendliness of staff
  • Disliked — the poo in the pool
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goalkeeper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

The hotel is in a fantastic location right on a sandy beach about 15 minutes walk from the town. You can walk along the main road but at night, with no footpath, you have to take care (take a torch). During the day you can also take a path alongside the beach which cuts out the worst of the road but it's all uphill for the last 200 metres! There is a shuttle bus to take you into town but the service is limited and the last bus back at night is 22.15! In September the town was really quiet (too quiet for my daughter and her friend who are more used to the bustle of Sorrento) but my wife and I loved it.
Although the hotel is in a lovely position and was certainly clean and tidy, a few things let it down and in my opinion it failed to live up to its 4* rating. I would describe the food as adequate but unimaginative with a choice of 3 starters and 3 main courses. There were never any hot vegetables for 'contorno', the choice was salad or salad. We were there for the last two weeks of opening and because the hotel was 'running down' we found that some evenings in the last week there were two veal dishes for main course, no still mineral water and by the Thursday, no beer!
The only other thing that slightly spoiled the stay was the arrival on the second Saturday of a group of mainly elderly German tourists who had obviously been evicted from Faliraki. They were up at 6.00 most mornings for day trips, banging doors or drawers and holding loud conversations in the corridors before stripping the restaurant of most of the food.
With a few minor improvements this could be a really good hotel and, with its position in one of the most spectacular parts of Italy, one to which I would consider returning.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazzaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2006

Palinuro is a village and small port about 2.5 hours drive south from Naples. It is quiet with a few shops and restaurants aimed at the summer visitors. It is not the place to go if you are looking for night life.
The hotel Saline is located right on a sandy beach about 1 km from the village, but it is uphill along a narrow road with no footpath, so can be dangerous. The Hotel provides a courtesy bus which we used on two occasions but the driver forgot to pick us up again, both times!
The hotel itself is an interesting split level design and it is well worth paying extra for a room with a sea view and terrace. The building is a little tired and parts of the grounds are somewhat neglected but generally it is comfortable and our room was very spacious for an Italian Hotel.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly in all areas and made us feel very welcome during our stay.
The food is good, if a little lacking in variety at times and the drinks, particularly the wine, are expensive in the restaurant and bar.
The entertainment is aimed mostly at the children and can be loud and monotonous after two weeks ,but it is all good natured!
The beach is well maintained and the umbrellas and sunbeds are included in the price. The sea was clean but the sea bed is undulating and rocky in places, necessitating care when the sea is lively.
On the whole we had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel Saline but compared to other Italian Hotels we have stayed in, we believe that a 3 star rating would more accurately reflect the standard of accommodation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Price of drinks
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palinuro hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Village Tabu'
Hotel Village Tabu'
#12 of 23 in Palinuro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel San Pietro
Grand Hotel San Pietro
#1 of 23 in Palinuro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borgo Antico
Hotel Borgo Antico
#3 of 23 in Palinuro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#13 of 23 in Palinuro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Conchiglia
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#4 of 23 in Palinuro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saline Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saline Hotel

Property: Saline Hotel
Address: Saline Street, 84064 Palinuro, Centola, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Centola > Palinuro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palinuro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palinuro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palinuro
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palinuro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Saline Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saline Palinuro recently refurbished, each of our 66 guest rooms features a balcony or terrace, most with full sea views overlooking the enchanting Bay of Palinuro. Magnificent at any time of day, the views are especially remarkable in the evening, when the sun slowly sets into the sea, painting the rippling waters from the beach to the horizon with shimmering gold highlights. Surrounded by the Cilento National Park, an area so rich with natural beauty as well as historical and cultural resources to have been declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1998, the Hotel Saline is the perfect retreat for a relaxing holiday in a pristine slice of the Italian coastline without giving up the opportunity to take unforgettable day trips. The Hotel Saline Palinuro is located about a kilometre from the lovely town centre of Palinuro, and six kilometres from the Pisciotta-Palinuro railway station. Shuttle bus service is available to and from both. In addition to the fully equipped private beach, hotel Saline amenities include a bar and restaurant, a sea water swimming pool, a tennis court, a wellness centre, the services of a professional entertainment team, a mini-club for kids, wireless internet access, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Saline Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saline Hotel Palinuro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing