We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Hospitality in a lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Locanda della Castellana
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Peschici
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Eight of us arrived on a Saturday afternoon. We were shown to our large, airy and immaculate rooms with fantastic views across the valley and to the sea.
There is nothing negative to say, but loads of positives. Marino and his team were great. The breakfast and lunch just wonderful and there is unlikely to be a better Gym view than this.The rooms are decorated simply and tastefully with air conditioning, but designed such that a/c is rarely needed. Marino is happy to provide loads of tips of where to explore and welcomes feedback for future use.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are all very good with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cromagnumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Three night stay in comfortable spacious room with its own balcony overlooking a hillside with the sea in the distance.
Host Marino most welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble.
Great breakfast on the terrace and lovely evening meals.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff and Glend... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Proprietario at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely words and, of course, for your recommendation.

Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for two nights in May and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Marino is so friendly and helpful. The whole stay felt vey relaxed. We had one of the large two room suites on the top floor with a large terrace and lovely views. The rooms are not 'grand' but they are very comfortable and clean. The highlight of the hotel is the food. Marino and his family love to cook and it really shows. We were there out of season so there were only a few guests. each morning he asked what type of thing we would like for dinner; fish, meat or vegetables. And then each evening he served up a delicous four couse meal for 20 euros. It was so nice not to have to look through a menu but just to have the lovely food brought to your table. The breakfasts were excellent too, with lovely fresh orange juice! Marino was a wonderful host. On one of the evenings he effortlessly spoke to us in english, the german guests in german and a french guest in french! We would certainly like to go back to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rake11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely words and, of course, I hope to see you - and even to cook for you - soon!

Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our visit to the Gargano started with a warm welcome from Marino and only got better. We arrived hungry but it was also during siesta so none of the cafes in town were open. Marino very kindly prepared us a delicious lunch before we set out walking to explore the area.

This small hotel is situated on the hillside and offers amazing views of the sea and surrounding hillsides. Our room on the top floor was gorgeous, impeccably clean and had a large balcony with a stunning view. The exercise room is outfitted with great equipment and has a view of the pool and sea. It was too cool to enjoy the pool in mid April but I'm sure it would be a welcome treat in the hotter weather.

We know good food when we find it and we happily had dinner at the hotel for the 3 nights that we stayed. Marino makes every effort to use local and in-season ingredients, so everything is fresh and delicious. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful - the best we had during our 3 weeks traveling in Southern Italy. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best views but I think all rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McRemko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and, above all, thanks for appreciating our kitchen and our attention towards our guests.

Best regards,

Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We made a last minute decision to stop here on our trip around the Gargano Peninsula. And we did not regret our decision. The hotel is outside town with a great view over the hills down to the sea. The welcoming atmosphere can be felt everywhere, from the comfort of the room, the cozy chairs on the downstairs patio and around the pool. The dining room is bright and airy, and when warm enough the outside eating area is lovely. Meals, both supper and breakfast , were outstanding. We only wished we could stay longer to explore the nearby national park. This is a different Italy and a welcome change.

Room Tip: Try to get room with a balcony...definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

When I read reviews like this one, I can only be proud of my work. Thanks for appreciating our structure and our atmosphere.

Best regards,

Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Nice location on a hillside just outside Peschici, with a beautiful terrace and pool. Our suite (no. 3) comprised two rooms, plus a small modern bathroom and a large north-facing balcony. Martino speaks excellent English. He was an excellent host and enthusiastically helped us enjoy all the delights of the Gargano peninsular. Dinner is based on local produce and recipes, excellently cooked, although maybe not all to everyone's taste. Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bald-Tripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear guest,

thak you for your lovely review. Our intent is to introduce out traditions, our local products and flavors and I hope you enjoyed them.

Best regards,

Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We showed up without reservations ( long story....) when ringing the bell, the owner answered
and informed us the hotel was closed and would open the next day. When I bleated out our
disappointment, he sighed and said, OK, I will open the gate. He had one room that was cleaned
and ready. He is the sweetest and most hospitable man we ever met! After settling in and getting acquainted with his dog, he invited us to join him and his friend for dinner at a local restaurant where we were treated to the most delicious very fresh fish and some incredible - and I mean incredible - olive oil that was made by the restaurant. Breakfast was wonderful with home made jam. Had we visited more in season ( this was early April 14) I'm sure a very nice experience would have been better yet - but as it was we have the most fond memories of our one night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marinocassio, Owner at La Locanda della Castellana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Ankie,

Thank you for your great review and, obviously, I'm glad you enjoyed the company of my friends. I hope to see you again in summer!

Best regards,

Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peschici
10.4 mi away
Hotel Portonuovo
Hotel Portonuovo
#1 of 67 in Vieste
750 reviews
7 mi away
Villa Americana Park Hotel
Villa Americana Park Hotel
#6 of 29 in Rodi Garganico
462 reviews
10.1 mi away
Albergo Il Giardino
Albergo Il Giardino
#2 of 29 in Rodi Garganico
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Albergo Villa Vittoria
Albergo Villa Vittoria
#22 of 29 in Rodi Garganico
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Elisa
Hotel Elisa
#2 of 23 in Peschici
338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Villa a Mare
Albergo Villa a Mare
#3 of 23 in Peschici
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda della Castellana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda della Castellana

Address: Localita Valle Castellana snc, 71010 Peschici, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Foggia > Peschici
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Peschici
Price Range: £80 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda della Castellana 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The inn is situated among the hills of the giant Gargano. Dry-stone walls, lemons, figs, prickly pears, olive trees and pines form its background, exalted by the breeze coming from the sea, a panorama which alone would be worth a stay of a couple of days. It represents a safe, pleasant, and regenerating departure point to discover the promontory, its gorges, beaches, woods, and sanctuaries. "La Castellana" is a sort of holiday farm, only 1 Km far from the town center of Peschici and 1,5 Km far from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your La Locanda della Castellana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing