We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Relaxed Family-Run Hotel”
Review of Hotel Ca'Ligure

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ca'Ligure
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pietra Ligure
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Relaxed Family-Run Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We had a great 2-week holiday in Pietra Ligure, staying at Hotel Ca'Ligure in Ranzi. We liked the fact that we were up at the start of the hills, so cooler and quieter than down on the sea front. The location is good and we had day trips by car as far west as Monte Carlo, north to Torino (Turin) and east to Genova and Portfino.

The hotel was great, Stefanie runs a tight ship and all the staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed walking through the small garden and the pool was wonderful - on hot days or the day after after a busy day travelling, we would spend the day chilling by the pool and have a light lunch there before going down into Pietra Ligure in the evening.

The rooms were fine and the roof terrace we had was great - very spacious. The beds were a little hard, but we got used to them after the first night. My young son really doesn't like dogs but the Rembado family's German Shepherd was very well behaved and well managed and not a problem. We certainly didn't have the problem that someone else mentioned about dog hair - the rooms were spotless throughout our visit (despite the state our children sometimes left them in...).

Breakfasts were good (including home made fruit salad using fruit I think from the garden) and the light lunches perfect for a hot day. Stefanie gave us useful advice on things to do and see and is at least fluent in Italian, German and English. (It was very helpful having someone who spoke English, as we don't speak Italian and not many people in the area speak any English).

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a relaxed, low-key holiday for families, couples or single people.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentishLass00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    25
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
44
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dilbeek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We spent our holidays this summer in Hotel Ca Ligure. From the moment we arrive to the time of departure the family Rembado and their staff can’t do enough for you. They are always ready to provide the best service and advice of the local area. Each morning we had a wonderful breakfast-buffet. Our room was comfortable, very clean and with a splendid view of the sea and Pietra Ligure. Also great was the new swimming pool. Mr Rembado speaks very good French, the rest of the family and staff English and German.

We had a lovely stay and we really would go back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddyDilbeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Firstly the hotel is hard to find. when we did arrive and checked in the rooms they were dirty and full of dog hairs (Towels,balconey etc) The owner has two very large aggresive dogs. There is one TV in the lounge and you need persmission to use it ! we asked if our daughter could watch it one morning and we were told NO !. The breakfast was really bad they just seemed to put out what was left from the day before with fresh bread !! The staff are all eastern european do not speak any english and everything seems a big effort as if they did not care.
We mentioned the above the owner a very rude old german lady who completely dismissed our comments and just walked off !!!!! We were all shocked.
If you are planning to stay in the area which is a great place for a holiday avoid at all costs the worst hotel in the world.............

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joelhibbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We spent a week at Ca´ligure in 2008. We enjoyed spending time at the pool.
The helpful staff made it very easy for us to get to where we wanted to go.
It is better to have a car but we managed without it by walking to town or taking the bus and taking a taxi after dark.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icelandictraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

In the small historical village of Ranzi on the hills overlooking the sea and the city of Pietra Ligure lay's this quite, friendly family owned hotel. If you like quietness, relaxing and stress free environment, this is the place to stay. Fantastic surrounding and at the pool area you will be able to pick fruit from the trees. Nice breakfast buffé and at lunch you can have something to eat but it’s not a big selection of dishes but tasty and fresh. If you want to go down town Pietra Ligure you’ll need the car and it’s a 10 minutes drive. Don´t miss the local restaurant in Ranzi next to the church serving fantastic tasty and home made food at reasonable prices. Pizzas are stone baked in open fire and taste fantastic. If you need help or you have questions, the owners do everything to help you out. They have a lot of tips what to do and see in the area of Liguria.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonte62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

We were very impressed with the friendliness of our hosts. They gave us maps, advices, made restaurant reservations.
The breakfast was excellent filled with cheese and fresh fruits.
The view is magnificent. The beach is few miles away, which is even good since beaches are overcrowded, no parking etc.
You can stay all day long in the pool, enjoy nice drinks, ice cream etc. Very recommended!!!

  • Liked — Friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azhukovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2006

We spent some days in Ca´Ligure and really enjoyed it. Especially we loved the garden, the pool-area and our private spacious terrace with its wonderful view over the mountains, the town Loano and the sea.
For dinner we had two nice trattorias in the village within walking distance. Besides the owner recommendes interesting restaurants in the surroundings. Sometimes they were a little bit difficult to find, but they had great food, reasonable prices and a very special atmosphere.
Last but not least Ca´Ligure is a convenient starting point for daily trips to Cinque Terre, Portofino, Nice, Monaco...

We definitely will come back.

  • Liked — view
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ollie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pietra Ligure hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casella
Hotel Casella
#1 of 27 in Pietra Ligure
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Paco
Hotel Paco
#10 of 27 in Pietra Ligure
129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa La Lanterna
Villa La Lanterna
#4 of 27 in Pietra Ligure
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bacco
Hotel Bacco
#13 of 27 in Pietra Ligure
165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jolly Roger
Hotel Jolly Roger
#3 of 27 in Pietra Ligure
70 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Holidays
Residence Holidays
#2 of 27 in Pietra Ligure
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca'Ligure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca'Ligure

Property: Hotel Ca'Ligure
Address: Via Concezione, 10, 17027 Pietra Ligure, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Pietra Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pietra Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Ca' Ligure! A comfortable independent hotel with a friendly atmosphere, situated on a hillside overlooking the sea 3 Km away. All our rooms have a private bathroom and a balcony with view on the sea. In the garden a terrace with swimming pool and solarium allows you to relax. Our services include a large breakfast buffet, bar, private parking and reserved beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ca'Ligure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca'Ligure Pietra Ligure, Italy - Liguria
Ca Ligure Hotel Pietra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing