We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the right place for a trip with children”

Giardino Zoologico di Pistoia
Ranked #4 of 90 things to do in Pistoia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Split, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“the right place for a trip with children”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A place for all generations. Two years ago, we were on a real trip, we brought sandwiches and water, good humor and a smile on our lips ... My little granddaughter ( 2 years) saw the live animals that had previously only seen in picture books. She could see the beautiful patterns of zebra, giraffe very high almost to the sun and sky, and the elephant was as big as her home. They were all bigger than her imagination could imagine. The wolf was hiding, he was not as bold as in the story of Little Red Riding Hood. Small goatlings sweet as a fairy tale and there were more than 7 (as in a fairy tale).Teddy was too great for cuddling. There was a lot of excitement, and he was tired walking around, so little sleep and eat, and continued further study. The day was sunny and warm, forest sink us. We have heard various voting strange birds, monkeys made ​​us laugh and all in all it was great! The right place for children (and for me....psssst!) We strongly recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kasjeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    524
    154
    41
    29
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A bit dated, but ok for a couple of hours”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our little one loves animals, so we headed for a Saturday at the zoo. €14,50 per adult, our toddler free, the tracks appeared a bit steep and sometimes not very well paved, which was a little difficult with our stroller. A nice "collection" of animals, but some of the enclosurers are really dated (hippos, giraffes, elephants, the tropical "dome") and need an upgrade, but the zoo is currently working on that. The lion's area has been done already and looks very nice! Don't expect to spend a full day here, but it's good for an 4-5 hour visit.

Playing area for the kids is well maintained with plenty of benches and tables for BYO lunch. The restaurant is under average for Italian standards, as I also noticed from Italian families next to us.

Really close to the motorway and free parking when we visited, but I noticed an entrance booth so I suppose in high season you'll have to pay.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tolletje053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My son and I spent a lovely day at this zoo,
The landscape sometimes provided a bit of a challenge as the hills were a bit steep when pushing a stroller.
Some animals live in a relatively small enclosure but you can easily see that the zoo is working hard to expand and give more space to all the animals,
For €0,20 you could buy a little bit of food to give to the giraffes or the elephants or the goats,
There is a nice playground for the children, big and small,
And, for small (optional?) donation you can have your child take a short ride on a pony.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had a bit of time to spare on our last day in Rome and had been to all the other attractions so decided to go to the zoo. We didn't have any expectations really but what a pleasant surprise. Very reasonably priced, €14 each, we recently paid about £100 for 4 of us at London Zoo which wasn't a patch on this one. The animals seem to be well looked after in good surroundings, apart from maybe the giraffes, elephants and zebras which had no greenery at all. We spent 4 hours here which we think makes it very good value. It is a bit out of the way though, we got a taxi from the Spanish Steps which cost €7.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pleasant few hours spent at a zoo with lots of animals and nice landscaping.”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Was expecting this zoo to be a bit disappointing compared to other Zoos we have visited, but we were pleasantly surprised. The zoo is nicely landscaped with lots of shrubs and picnic areas and benches.
There are lots of animals including elephants, hippos, giraffes, bears etc. Although most animals seemed well cared for,some of them did seem to be in rather small boring enclosures with lots of concrete and little to do. The bears had an enormous enclosure, whereas the elephant area looked very dull and small. The poor lonely sea lion looked very fed up and bored.
You can buy pellets to feed some of the animals and there is a large modern play area.
We spent three hours wandering around here and enjoyed it, although I did feel a bit concerned about the welfare of some of the animals. People were allowed to bring their dogs to this zoo, which made a nice change.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stubbyfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giardino Zoologico di Pistoia also viewed

Pistoia, Province of Pistoia
Pistoia, Province of Pistoia
 
Pistoia, Province of Pistoia
 

Been to Giardino Zoologico di Pistoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing