We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ponza Island
Certificate of Excellence
Roma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

One of the most beautiful shot on tis planet!
The hotel is good enough to not disturb his extraordinary location, the major complaint can be made towards the standard rooms, that are quite little and the furniture sometimes are old.
Anyway we had an excellent time to the swimming pool filled with sea water and very pleasant meals both near the swimming pool at lunch and in the restaurant in the evening.
Of course prices are tuned with the high level, but if this is not the problem, then i recommend it!

Room Tip: If you don't want to be bothered with noise, ask for rooms facing the rear of the hotel, the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandSes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    256
    98
    52
    39
See reviews for
149
449
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have been this hotel during last summer and we loved it!
The view is amanzing, staff friendly and polite and the island of Ponza is fabulous!
I will be back, because this hotel deserves my full respect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPhillipson1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel is all about location and a relaxing stay. You can look up the amenities on the website and yes, the view is that fantastic. You can see both sides of the island from the hotel: the port and the fantastic Chiaia di Luna bay.
You get to C di L from Rome by taking the train about an hour south to Formia, and then the ferry to the island. The ferry costs about € 32 return and takes about 3 hours but you are rewarded by great views of the coast and the island of Ponza as you approach. The transfer from train to ferry takes about 15 mins by foot and is easy and direct ... but you do need to be fit.
The choice of rooms is important. We had a sea-view room and were glad for it, as it overlooks the bay and you hear and see the surf through the window. However the sea view rooms also overlook the open nightclub/bar area so this will be a major inconvenience if you want to sleep while there is an event going on. If you do not speak Italian, try to get an Italian speaking person to make the arrangements for you as the quality of the English spoken is very variable.
The rooms very very clean and charming but not luxurious. Furniture was minimal, bathrooms were functional. Meals were were unabashedly Italian. Breakfast with cakes, cereal toast, cold meat, cheese, fruit and lukewarm scrabled eggs as a concession to the English and North Americans. Lunch was simple salads, sandwiches and pastas, and the evenings was a straight forward 4 course meal in the Italian style. In all cases the meals were very simple and relied on the fresh ingredients for their enjoyment. Wines were very reasonable (most in the €18 to €25 range) but choice was regional Italian wines only.
There is a transfer service provided but the driver needs to be called. You can walk to the harbour in about 15 minutes.
The hotel staff were quite obliging, but were clearly hampered by language issues. This is a laid back kind of place which can translate into slow service.If you feel that the service is not to your liking, a simple request to a staff member usually gets prompt attention.
If you spend some time on Ponza you can rent a boat and picnic, snorkel, swim etc. The best entertainment is to take the public bus (there is only one) to Forna. It takes about 30 - 45 minutes and you get a slice of island life and stunning views along the way. You can stay on the bus or get off to explore the town. The cost is €1.20 each way.
We enjoyed the hotel and our time on the island.
http://www.hotelchiaiadiluna.com/en/

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view rooms but be careful about noise from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

we booked a last minute holiday in Ponza, over the Ferragosto bank holiday which is the busiest in all sea resorts in Italy. So we knew we would have to compromise a little. The Chiaia di Luna hotel still was a good safe choice given the circumstances! i am sure you can have very different experiences if you stay in a room with an open view or balcony or if - like us poor last minute travellers - you are given a room with a small window on the passageway between the hotel bungalows (i did book at a super convenient rate). no privacy and need to pull the curtains all the time, which given the heat during our stay, was a bit of a shame. I am grateful that this hotel, built on one of the most spectacular spots on the island, does not have offending architecture and consists of low bungalows in traditional colour and style. on the downside, if you have an inward facing room, it's kind of frustrating as you do not really benefit from any view or even from enough sea breeze :). i do not think that closing the windows and starting the aircon is really an option in such a small room. So i guess my message is - if you really want to stay here because you need a traditional hotel with amenities and pool etc., then double check which room you are getting.
in the past the hotel benefited from direct access to the Chiaia di Luna beach, arguably the most spectacular on the island. This was closed to the public a couple of years ago as it lays under a huge cliff and there was a landslide. mind you, more or less the whole coast of Ponza is officially off limits, however bathing is tolerated in most spots. not on this one, understandably, and now not even boats can go near. the cliff and beach remains an amazing backdrop for the hotel and you do enjoy unforgettable sunsets from here. So the hotel no longer enjoys the beach business, but it has opened a lounge bar/disco right next to the bungalows. this bar has a great location and view, of course, but we were somewhat puzzled that in order to stay at this establishment you'd have to hear loud pumping music till early morning (again, check what room you are given as some open directly onto the bar side. you'd need professional quality earplugs to be able to sleep). Ponza does have, somewhat inexplicably and probably mostly during the very high season, Ibiza - like pretentions. youths from rome and naples do come here to party. but we never saw a crowd of a size that could justify inflicting that volume of music onto the hotel guests. also, if music has to be, and if you do position your bar as the place to go in Ponza (which they do, with PR boys and girls going around the beach to lure you etc.) then you should at least get a decent deejay... the lady spinning records at this bar did not go beyond very conventional, trite, and pretty old radio standards (gipsy woman by crystal waters, la la li.. la li la.. every night. space cowboy by jamiroquay, every night. we did not know if we should laugh or cry). this ain't no ibiza. having said all this, breakfast is very pleasant. it was great to slowly come back to life on the terrace every morning, even if the food options were not my favourite. there is a pool, personally i do not think it is great, it overlooks the road after all. but since you are perched up on the hill i guess it's still ok. frankly, if you go to Ponza, i think it's completely crazy to stay by the pool.. the sea IS like a pool, crystal clear and spectacular, if you bother to rent a boat and reach the little coves that dot the coast. that's the best way to enjoy the island..

Room Tip: open view or balcony. stay away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thominhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We loved staying at this hotel. The room was very comfortable. Although the port was easy walking distance, the hotel had a shuttle that ran all the time and stopped along the way to give rides- very nice, and fun too! The owner of the hotel is a sweetheart, personally making sure all her guests are well taken care of; many thanks to her. The hotel also helped us with great recommendations for a boat ride around the island and around Palmarola and for a dinner reservation in town that was wonderful. The hotel is very nice, and an amazing experience! We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I would not reserve a room with a window overlooking the bar. The other rooms are very quiet and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at Hotel Chiaia Di Luna for 3 nights and wished we stayed longer. It was definitely the highlight of our trip to Italy. Perfect accommodations with the most spectacular view in all of Ponza. Food was delicious and hotel staff more than helpful and extremely friendly. Very relaxing ambiance, beautiful pool and lounge area, there is almost no need to leave the hotel grounds.
We look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_schlesak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallastexas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed in Ponza after our travel plans suddenly and unexpectedly changed. Everything happens for a reason! We had a wonderful relaxing stay on this incredibly gorgeous island and enjoyed our stay on the property. The property is located up the hill from the town. The hotel provides a shuttle to and from the town, but honestly, we walked it most of the time as it is a pleasant walk and really not that far (15 minutes - if that). The hotel includes a buffet breakfast which is nice. The scrambled eggs are generally on the cold side, but I think that is typical. So, no complaints. The property is large and spacious. There is a pool, and you can have a nice lunch by the pool at lunch time. At dinner time, they serve a gourmet dinner that one must reserve in advance. The menu changes daily and the menu for the day is posted at the reception. The room was nice, and had a nice spacious bathroom and a large terrace with a view. We loved our stay here and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ponza Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
#3 of 11 in Ponza Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
#4 of 11 in Ponza Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.1 mi away
hotel ortensia
hotel ortensia
#5 of 11 in Ponza Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Luisa
Piccolo Hotel Luisa
#1 of 11 in Ponza Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.7 mi away
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
#9 of 11 in Ponza Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mari
Hotel Mari
#6 of 11 in Ponza Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiaia Di Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiaia Di Luna

Property: Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
Address: Via Panoramica | Pontine Islands, 04027, Ponza Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Ponza Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Ponza Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chiaia Di Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captivating Hotel Chiaia di Luna, totally renovated, is located in a natural amphitheater which is only a sheer drop to the sea, facing the beach which shares name with the hotel. The hotel has a breath-taking view of the harbor as well as the bay of Chiaia di Luna and Palmarola. On the 2000 m2 of terraces, you will enjoy the pool which is next to the "Chiaia di Luna" restaurant (also open for external) and the famous lounge bar "KIBAR." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chiaia Di Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ponza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing