We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chiaia Di Luna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ponza Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was hands-down one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Europe. The island of Ponza boasts so much charm, and beauty that the Chiaia Di Luna captures with their unique location and position on the island. This hotel is a hidden gem and everyone should get the chance to experience. The owners of this hotel are a husband and wife duo, and they really get to know their guests and provide a wonderful overall experience. They have a scrumptious breakfast buffet that is complimentary to guests with handmade pastries and cakes, and the main restaurant had some of the best seafood the island had to offer. My boyfriend and I were very pleased with our experience and we will definitely be back in the near future! This is a must stay hotel for guests traveling to Ponza!

Kimberly and Constantin

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We only spent three days at the hotel but loved every minute of our stay! The hotel states that it is four-star but really it is perhaps a three-star at best but that is not why you visit this wonderful fishing village that is holding onto its past wonderfully. It is not easy to get here but well worth the time and effort -- you take the train to Formia then board a ferry -- either 1.5 hours or 2.5 depending on time of departure. IF there are rough seas, the ferry will be canceled and you must remain in Formia.
The best part of the hotel is it's location. It sits overlooking the bay with stunning views! Sunsets and sunrises are truly magical. The restaurant serves "ok" cuisine; the rooms are small; towels are like "gold" here and don't expect a face cloth; the soap and complimentary shampoo will allow you to take one or two showers (oh, and the water pressure is, well, poor to say the least); but again, you don't visit this hotel for the amenities, it is the location and a five-minute walk to town with free shuttle service from 10am to 8pm. Be careful of restaurants. While they cater to tourists, it is purely for your money and not for the enjoyment of the meal. Rent a boat and tour the islands -- well worth the money.
VISIT THIS ISLAND!

Room Tip: Seaview but avoid the ones facing the open-air bar/nightclub. On our last night there the nightclub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

One of the most beautiful shot on tis planet!
The hotel is good enough to not disturb his extraordinary location, the major complaint can be made towards the standard rooms, that are quite little and the furniture sometimes are old.
Anyway we had an excellent time to the swimming pool filled with sea water and very pleasant meals both near the swimming pool at lunch and in the restaurant in the evening.
Of course prices are tuned with the high level, but if this is not the problem, then i recommend it!

Room Tip: If you don't want to be bothered with noise, ask for rooms facing the rear of the hotel, the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandSes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We have been this hotel during last summer and we loved it!
The view is amanzing, staff friendly and polite and the island of Ponza is fabulous!
I will be back, because this hotel deserves my full respect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnPhillipson1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel is all about location and a relaxing stay. You can look up the amenities on the website and yes, the view is that fantastic. You can see both sides of the island from the hotel: the port and the fantastic Chiaia di Luna bay.
You get to C di L from Rome by taking the train about an hour south to Formia, and then the ferry to the island. The ferry costs about € 32 return and takes about 3 hours but you are rewarded by great views of the coast and the island of Ponza as you approach. The transfer from train to ferry takes about 15 mins by foot and is easy and direct ... but you do need to be fit.
The choice of rooms is important. We had a sea-view room and were glad for it, as it overlooks the bay and you hear and see the surf through the window. However the sea view rooms also overlook the open nightclub/bar area so this will be a major inconvenience if you want to sleep while there is an event going on. If you do not speak Italian, try to get an Italian speaking person to make the arrangements for you as the quality of the English spoken is very variable.
The rooms very very clean and charming but not luxurious. Furniture was minimal, bathrooms were functional. Meals were were unabashedly Italian. Breakfast with cakes, cereal toast, cold meat, cheese, fruit and lukewarm scrabled eggs as a concession to the English and North Americans. Lunch was simple salads, sandwiches and pastas, and the evenings was a straight forward 4 course meal in the Italian style. In all cases the meals were very simple and relied on the fresh ingredients for their enjoyment. Wines were very reasonable (most in the €18 to €25 range) but choice was regional Italian wines only.
There is a transfer service provided but the driver needs to be called. You can walk to the harbour in about 15 minutes.
The hotel staff were quite obliging, but were clearly hampered by language issues. This is a laid back kind of place which can translate into slow service.If you feel that the service is not to your liking, a simple request to a staff member usually gets prompt attention.
If you spend some time on Ponza you can rent a boat and picnic, snorkel, swim etc. The best entertainment is to take the public bus (there is only one) to Forna. It takes about 30 - 45 minutes and you get a slice of island life and stunning views along the way. You can stay on the bus or get off to explore the town. The cost is €1.20 each way.
We enjoyed the hotel and our time on the island.
http://www.hotelchiaiadiluna.com/en/

Room Tip: Pay for the sea view rooms but be careful about noise from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

we booked a last minute holiday in Ponza, over the Ferragosto bank holiday which is the busiest in all sea resorts in Italy. So we knew we would have to compromise a little. The Chiaia di Luna hotel still was a good safe choice given the circumstances! i am sure you can have very different experiences if you stay in a room with an open view or balcony or if - like us poor last minute travellers - you are given a room with a small window on the passageway between the hotel bungalows (i did book at a super convenient rate). no privacy and need to pull the curtains all the time, which given the heat during our stay, was a bit of a shame. I am grateful that this hotel, built on one of the most spectacular spots on the island, does not have offending architecture and consists of low bungalows in traditional colour and style. on the downside, if you have an inward facing room, it's kind of frustrating as you do not really benefit from any view or even from enough sea breeze :). i do not think that closing the windows and starting the aircon is really an option in such a small room. So i guess my message is - if you really want to stay here because you need a traditional hotel with amenities and pool etc., then double check which room you are getting.
in the past the hotel benefited from direct access to the Chiaia di Luna beach, arguably the most spectacular on the island. This was closed to the public a couple of years ago as it lays under a huge cliff and there was a landslide. mind you, more or less the whole coast of Ponza is officially off limits, however bathing is tolerated in most spots. not on this one, understandably, and now not even boats can go near. the cliff and beach remains an amazing backdrop for the hotel and you do enjoy unforgettable sunsets from here. So the hotel no longer enjoys the beach business, but it has opened a lounge bar/disco right next to the bungalows. this bar has a great location and view, of course, but we were somewhat puzzled that in order to stay at this establishment you'd have to hear loud pumping music till early morning (again, check what room you are given as some open directly onto the bar side. you'd need professional quality earplugs to be able to sleep). Ponza does have, somewhat inexplicably and probably mostly during the very high season, Ibiza - like pretentions. youths from rome and naples do come here to party. but we never saw a crowd of a size that could justify inflicting that volume of music onto the hotel guests. also, if music has to be, and if you do position your bar as the place to go in Ponza (which they do, with PR boys and girls going around the beach to lure you etc.) then you should at least get a decent deejay... the lady spinning records at this bar did not go beyond very conventional, trite, and pretty old radio standards (gipsy woman by crystal waters, la la li.. la li la.. every night. space cowboy by jamiroquay, every night. we did not know if we should laugh or cry). this ain't no ibiza. having said all this, breakfast is very pleasant. it was great to slowly come back to life on the terrace every morning, even if the food options were not my favourite. there is a pool, personally i do not think it is great, it overlooks the road after all. but since you are perched up on the hill i guess it's still ok. frankly, if you go to Ponza, i think it's completely crazy to stay by the pool.. the sea IS like a pool, crystal clear and spectacular, if you bother to rent a boat and reach the little coves that dot the coast. that's the best way to enjoy the island..

Room Tip: open view or balcony. stay away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thominhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We loved staying at this hotel. The room was very comfortable. Although the port was easy walking distance, the hotel had a shuttle that ran all the time and stopped along the way to give rides- very nice, and fun too! The owner of the hotel is a sweetheart, personally making sure all her guests are well taken care of; many thanks to her. The hotel also helped us with great recommendations for a boat ride around the island and around Palmarola and for a dinner reservation in town that was wonderful. The hotel is very nice, and an amazing experience! We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: I would not reserve a room with a window overlooking the bar. The other rooms are very quiet and ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ponza Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ponza Island
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
#4 of 12 in Ponza Island
407 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
#2 of 12 in Ponza Island
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Luisa
Piccolo Hotel Luisa
#3 of 12 in Ponza Island
539 reviews
2.1 mi away
hotel ortensia
hotel ortensia
#5 of 12 in Ponza Island
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Il Mediterraneo
Il Mediterraneo
#10 of 12 in Ponza Island
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna

Address: Via Panoramica | Pontine Islands, 04027, Ponza Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Ponza Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ponza Island
Price Range: £84 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captivating Hotel Chiaia di Luna, totally renovated, is located in a natural amphitheater which is only a sheer drop to the sea, facing the beach which shares name with the hotel. The hotel has a breath-taking view of the harbor as well as the bay of Chiaia di Luna and Palmarola. On the 2000 m2 of terraces, you will enjoy the pool which is next to the "Chiaia di Luna" restaurant (also open for external) and the famous lounge bar "KIBAR." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Chiaia Di Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ponza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing