We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate, well-situated, with a nice breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mari
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ponza Island
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Immaculate, well-situated, with a nice breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Hotel Mari is in an enviable position on the harbor. It is simple, very clean, and lovely. The views are spectacular. The staff is markedly helpful but not intrusive. I appreciated the location and its simplicity. I absolutely would stay here again. I thought that the price was very reasonable. This is a very good three star choice!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FSHphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    65
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
23
74
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. Let me start off by saying that this hotel is very basic. It’s pretty much no frills. But that being said, it was perfect for our stay in Ponza. Things just happen slower on this island. Things are more peaceful. Ponza is a place where you can go and simply forget about the worries of the world – take in the breathtaking scenery, interact with the locals, enjoy some delicious food, and watch the evening slowly go by as you drink an Aperol Spritz (or two). This hotel fits the bill perfectly for that. It’s centrally located and the staff are warm and pleasant. English is not as common on this island as in other more touristy parts of Italy, and that’s part of the charm. The hotel staff though were very helpful – directing us to the local administrative office so my boyfriend could look up his mom’s birth record, spending time going through the all-italian San Silverio festival guide so we knew what events were happening during the feast day, giving us advice on renting boats, and generally just giving us an insider’s take on things to see and do on the island. The room was basic, but very clean – and although basic, I found it charming. Room was large with a good sized balcony overlooking the harbor – quite a lovely view. Hair dryer in the bathroom was one of the most bizarre looking devices I have ever seen --- like a vacuum attached to the wall. Breakfast was very basic, but the breakfast staff was lovely. The hotel was displaying beautiful ceramics from a local artisan in the common areas, and we ended up buying several pieces. I can’t wait until we go back to Ponza, and would be more than happy to stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Small, functional place right in the center of town. The rooms are bright, impeccably clean and those facing the harbor have a wonderful view. The staff are helpful, with breakfast being more than ample.
Ponza is a delight as we were there in May and there were very few tourists.
The only complaint was the long ferry from Formia...old and rickety.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackoSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeltweg, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our friends and we loved our stay at Hotel Mari. Our room overlooked the harbour so we very much enjoyed watching the port activities. We had a relaxing stay and did not find our room to be disturbed by outside noise at all. The decor was simple but lovely and the room had everything we needed. All the staff were very helpful, friendly and obliging, from the cleaners to the breakfast staff and especially the reception staff. Breakfast was fantastic, especially the home-made cakes and pastries. I would go back to Ponza and the Hotel Mari in a flash...just perfect.

Room Tip: Take a room with seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GudrunK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We booked this as a second choice but really glad we did. I am not so fit these days and this is one hilly place which is not so obvious when checking the web. However the hotel is magnificently placed right on the harbour and having a harbour view room is essential to get the complete experience. The rooms are minimal in creature comforts but the atmosphere created by the sounds, colours and lively traffic in the harbour more than make up for this. Life tumbles foward for for most of the day in a crazy interactive choreography between boats and land from the first ferry chugging away at 6.30 am until the last arrivals of the pleasure yachts in the slow waning of the light under a usually remarkable sunset. When we did go out the local buses are 5 minutes tramp around the harbour and for 1€ you can travel the llength and bteadth of this dream island. Breakfast is an experience with the owner and his wife very attentive and providing more than enough for two Scots on holiday. The local restaurants are a joy to experiment in. Seafood paradise.
Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view or you will eternally regret it. Top floor at corner has best room, biggest bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

A good middle of the road hotel in a central situation on the port in Ponza. Excellent breakfast in a renovated cisterna. Friendly staff and internet availability in the reception area. Go for a port view room - it is worth it.

Room Tip: Go for ones on the second floor - above the port noise and with open sun and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jervaulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The location of this hotel, right in the port, is excellent, but the hotel itself and the rooms are totally charmless, poor and uninspiring. You'd better spend your money elsewhere on beautiful Ponza.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank konijnAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ponza Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
Hotel Chiaia Di Luna
#2 of 13 in Ponza Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.8 mi away
hotel ortensia
hotel ortensia
#5 of 13 in Ponza Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
Hotel Villaggio dei Pescatori
#3 of 13 in Ponza Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Luisa
Piccolo Hotel Luisa
#1 of 13 in Ponza Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
Torre dei Borboni Hotel
#9 of 13 in Ponza Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
Grande Hotel Santa Domitilla
#4 of 13 in Ponza Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mari

Property: Hotel Mari
Address: Via Carlo Pisacane 19, 04027, Ponza Island, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Ponza Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Ponza Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mari 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing