We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Holiday July 2014”
Review of Colonna Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonna Resort
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Let me start on a positive which is that the staff at the hotel are great, the waiters and waitresses were brilliant at dinner and at the various bars, The concierge was also extremely helpful throughout our stay at the Colonna Hotel.

However this is not a 5 star hotel, the hotel needs modernizing from head to toe. The rooms and bar areas are very outdated and not in line with what you expect from a 5 star hotel and the price. Everything at the hotel is extremely overpriced and the food choices and buffet for half board customers is again not what you expect from a 5 star hotel.

If this hotel were a 4 star hotel then my review would probably be much better, however I felt it necessary to let any future potential customers to know this is not a 5 star hotel so do not expect it to be.

Room Tip: This is not a 5 star hotel, the rooms are very basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Mr. “ Dave H “,

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort , I take this opportunity to say thank You to choosing our hotel and I also thank You for taking Your time to write this review regarding Your stay with us and for Your appreciations for the hotel, the waiters, the waitresses and the concierge.

I'm sorry, but I disagree to your opinion, that the hotel “are very outdated”, for one objective and reality reason:

the hotel is the newest one in Porto Cervo and Costa Smeralda, because it's the most recently opened, in 2009.

The finishes are made for respect to the old traditional Sardinian style of construction, your impression is the confirm that the job has succeeded very well.

Sorry that you have found inappropriate choice of our cuisine and our buffet, because normally we have completely different considerations, for this service, by our customers.

In any case we will try to monitor all our services, even better than as we already do on daily, to be even more sure to meet the expectations as that You hast wrote.

We hope to give You again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and we remain at Your disposal for any need or request.

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards .

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The outdoor area is very nice with multiple pools, a sweet little beach and a deck. However the lunch outdoor at the hotel spoiled the whole experience. The waitress was close to rude, the food average and it took ages to get the food and the lukewarm coffee. The hotels rooms are nice but quit "old" and not five star. It is located outside porto cervo but there are taxis which are quite expensive. In general the personell in the hotel were very service minded and helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strandlovinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Mr. “Strandlovinne“,

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort , I take this opportunity to say thank You to choosing our hotel and I also thank You for taking Your time to write this review regarding Your stay with us and for Your appreciations for the hotel and all the service, the pool, the beach and deck.

I'm sorry that You have not enjoyed the service of the pool bar, because normally It's considered, by all guests, at the same level of other services.

I thank You for the compliments to all the staff and I can confirm that normally the girls in the pool bar receive the same praise for the courtesy and service, as demonstrated by the previous reviews.

In any case we will try to monitor all our services , even better than as we already do on daily, to be even more sure to meet the expectations as that You hast wrote.

We hope to give You again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and we remain at Your disposal for any need or request.
I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards .

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we had a good stay in this 5 star hotel in the month of June. In June the hotel is not so expensive and the service is excellent. the room was clean and large, the staff was friendly and professional. we will suggest this hotel to our friends in USA

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Mr. " mark k"

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to say thank You for choosing our Hotel,

Thanks also for taking the time to write this good review regarding your stay with us and for the wonderful and very kind compliments that you addressed to our hotel, services and staff.

Thank You for recommending our hotel to the readers of Trip Advisor and to your friends.

We hope to can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had an amazing stay at the Colonna resort. First, due to France's strikes, we could only arrive 2 days later, and they were super kind with all the organisation, call Luisa, she will find all the solutions that you could think of !!!
Then the welcome and the place are really incredible. The 5 pools make you feel like if you were alone, and the private beach is really nice. The quality of the food is really excellent and I recommend going there with you husband/wife, great view and new menus everyday!!

The hotel propose great massages, some canoe, paddle and if you want to organise anything, you can ask the concierge Franco, who is one of the best concierge I have met (and I did meet couple :-))

The hotel propose also to book some boat trip or private boats, they come at the pier !!
It s not too close from Porto Cervo, 1,5km is a long way in the Sardina's mountains

One true great hotel: bravissimo

Room Tip: We had a good and quiet room on the 6th floor, better to have the view on the pools and on the see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gauthier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Mr. " Gauthier”

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I want take this opportunity to say thank You for choosing our Hotel,

Thank you also for taking your time to write this wonderful review regarding your stay with us and for the wonderful and very kind compliments that you addressed to our hotel, services and staff, I extend a special thankYou, by Luisa, Franco and all the staff, we are pleased to have turned your vacation into a pleasant experience.

With the hope that We can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I organized a long incentive event for a mixed group of ages and nationalities, in this beautiful setting.
It doesn’t matter how beautiful the hotel and surroundings are, you can’t organize a successful event without professional and competent hotel staff to back you up and work with you in all aspects, and at the Colonna Resort they have a top class team.
Every request and any little problem (there are always some in an event of this size) were quickly and efficiently dealt with.
The food was very good and very well presented, the dining room staff were efficiently coordinated by a highly competent maître d’.
A huge thank-you to the events manager and head of reception for all the hard work they put into making this a definitely to be repeated experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritExpat_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Guest"

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I want take this opportunity to say thank You for choosing our Hotel,

Thank You also for taking your time to write this wonderful review regarding your stay with us and for the wonderful and very kind compliments that you addressed to our hotel, services and staff, I extend a particular thanksgiving by all of us, from me, the Chef, the Maître from Mrs. Carolina and We confirming to You that We are happy to be able to transform your stay in a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

With the hope that We can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I went there for my honeymoon in June however, little did we know, it wasn't the season yet for Porto Cervo so we practically had the hotel all to ourselves. The staff at the pool bar and reception were quite nice. However another concern was the bill we got when checking out, most of things that we ordered by the pool or by room service weren't signed by us and we couldn't pay in cash so the bill was quite vague and quite expensive. Another thing to try there is their spa!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mr. " Amina E"

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to say thank You for choosing our Hotel,

Thanks also for taking the time to write this good review regarding your stay with us and for the wonderful and very kind compliments that you addressed to our hotel, services and staff.

About to the payment of the bill I'm sorry that You've had problems, which aren't usual in our hotel, because all the charges in each department can be made by presenting the card of Your room (delivered on arrival), and signing the receipt, are automatically charged to the count of the room. So there isn't possible the error, but We will try to monitor even better than We already do to verify that there is no possibility of doubt.

With the hope that We can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Colonna Resort. I can recommend to everyone. Excellent cuisine. Staff very friendly and professional, service very attentive. They do their best to satisfy your needs from the Restaurant to the reception. And now the negative part.... We could observe guests arriving from very far, notorious for their strict religion observance ...arriving, completely drunk and pretending "fireworks" at any moment. Often, simple employees but great people have to manage the result of the globalization .....not easy, not easy

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Frank63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Mr. "Frank63"

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to say thank You for choosing our Hotel,

Thanks also for taking the time to write this good review regarding your stay with us and for the wonderful and very kind compliments that you addressed to our hotel, services and staff, I offer You a thanksgiving particular by all the staff, who are delighted to transform your stay in an enjoyable experience.

As You write, rightly , in our hotel, in fact, the people come from all over the world and with different needs and requirements, We try to please everyone and to limit the claims that can disturb other customers, fortunately in recent years the level of customer in our Resort is always more high and therefore the events like those that you say are always rare, fortunately.

For us, our guests are always the most important thing, regardless of nationality, religion or culture they belong and We try every day to make sure that all live together in harmony in a way that is pleasant to live together, but the hotel is so great that is difficult that disturb each other, especially if they respect the privacy of others.

The world is beautiful because it's various and We can accept the variety trying to make sure that the variety is an added value.

Thank You for understanding of our efforts.

With the hope that We can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
1.3 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#7 of 21 in Porto Cervo
307 reviews
2.8 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
#11 of 21 in Porto Cervo
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
153.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
874 reviews
76.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Resort

Address: Loc. Cala Granu | Via Capo Ferro KM 1.8, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range: £157 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first time visitor of COLONNA RESORT, which is about 2 Km from Marina of Porto Cervo, is struck by the orderliness, by the streets, by the villas, the lawns, the rocks, the perfume of the wild vegetation, by the view of the entrance way of the old port of Porto Cervo, that harbors, in the medium and high season, the most beautiful and exclusive boats in the world. THE HOTEL The COLONNA RESORT extends in an area of about 60.000 m², near of the "Cala Granu" beach, in the north of Porto Cervo. The Resort, with sober lines typical of Mediterranean architectural style, it's surrounded by a 50'000 m² park spotted with strawberry trees, myrtle plants and junipers, where the sea, the hills and the surrounding green are the natural frame of this exclusive dwelling, dominated, often, by granite of its confinement walls. Building, sea and nature fuse in perfection, in a unique scenery of rare beauty. THE ROOMS The Resort includes 250 rooms, with numerous deluxe and Suites, almost all of them with balconies or terraces with sea view, luxuriously furnished with every comfort. All the rooms are reachable through various central lifts from a grand hallway situated in the entrance of the Resort. THE RESOURCES 2 restaurants and 2 bars, open spaces for meeting or congress till 650 persons seated, complete the structure. The Resort also offers a Tennis Club with numerous courts and a practice field for Golf, in addition to various boutiques, wellness centre, private garages some of which covered, heliport, a hotel at the beach with the necessary solariums in wood, and coves cut out of the Northern Sardinia rocks. Other services include the choice of different field trips, by boat or with private cars, in addition to the renting of cars, motorbikes and chartering of speed boats. THE SWIMMING POOLS The pools of sea water with solariums, waterfalls, islands and hydro massage corners, are located on different levels and from the rooms reach out to sea, often with extraordinary waterfalls. The solarium and the pool have a surface area of about 8500 m2 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Porto Cervo
Colonna Resort Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing