We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing 5*”
Review of Colonna Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonna Resort
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

I had a mixed opinion regarding this hotel. One thing for sure, if you go expecting a 5 star hotel, u will be disappointed. We've stayed in several 5 star luxury hotels before, so we do know what to expect. I hope that management reading this will take it as constructive criticism.
To point out the positives, the location of the hotel is great as it is less than ten minutes away from the centre of porto cervo, the marina club, and its central so it's close to many other areas. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. The many pools at the hotel are a definite plus, as are the landscaping and the beach area (beautiful). The rooms and bathrooms are clean.
Now for the negatives (some of which are purely management/operational issues that don't fit what is supposed to be a 5 star hotel)
- the hotel is in need of refurbishment for sure, the whole feel is outdated, the dark reddish brown tiles, the rooms (the light colored wood, the stand alone closet, the thin cottony bed spread all give impression of a mountain chalet and not a luxury hotel - and plz don't try to convince me this was intended)
- no sound insulation at all, we changed rooms as we were first staying in the main hotel and the noise above us was unbearable, we moved to a room in an outside sort-of annex but still we could hear the phone ringing 2 rooms away (am sure as I was the one dialing friends in that room), and the noise from housekeeping in the early morning was loud
- we were staying 5 nights and every day we had to go and get a new user name and password from reception for the wifi access in the room which - when it was working- was very weak
- if ur sitting by the pools you can order drinks but not food and if u decide to order drinks u are charged 3 euro extra for that unless you go and get it yourself
- you are given tokens to exchange for towels at the pool (you get them back once you return the towels)
- if you decide to order room service anytime then it is 12 euros extra per person in addition to what you order (first time I have ever seen such a policy!)
- last shuttle service to porto cervo centre is 6pm
So to sum it up, the hotel is ok (mainly due to location, pools) but it is definitely not a 5 star experience at the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mayya13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Mrs. “ mayya13 “,

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to thank You for choosing our Hotel,

I also thank You for taking your time to write this review regarding your stay with us and that You have defined our hotel, as :

“So to sum it up, the hotel is ok”

We are pleased to know that You was found very well, in our Colonna Resort, the following point, as:

- the location of the hotel is great as it is less than ten minutes away from the centre of porto cervo;
- the marina club, and its central so it's close to many other areas;
- The staff is also very friendly and helpful;
- The many pools at the hotel are a definite plus, as are the landscaping and the beach area (beautiful);
- The rooms and bathrooms are clean .

However, we regret that your stay was almost perfect, in some way, influenced by :

STRUCTURE AND ATMOSPHERE:
I'm sorry You didn't appreciate the colors of our hotel and especially that You would consider it as a hotel in the mountains and You didn't consider how the structures typical Sardinian, but everyone who comes and lives our hotel They told so to us, but also as You wrote, are the colors and flavor typical of Sardinia, the pastel colors of the walls, with the deliberately rustic antique finish, the color of the brick floors and exposed wooden beams in the roofs true, I'm sorry You don't have liked, but it's a subjective opinion, and so We respect him.

NOISE IN THE MORNING ROOM WAITER:
I'm sorry that you were disturbed by noises in your room, our waiters in order not disturb our dear guests begin to work only at mid-morning, we apologize if it has happened to You otherwise.

WI-FI DAILY PASSWORD:
it's true that during the period of your stay the wi-fi password released daily, but also in response to notification of some guests, We have changed the system and now is issued a password even weekly.

€ 3 URO POOL SERVICE, AND ROOM SERVICE € URO 12:
it's true that the service around the pools and the beach, dek wood, etc., has a cost of 3 Euros, because it is an additional service, with dedicated staff that specifically deals with this service, in a big space, about 2'000 sqmt., while the prices of drinks are equal to the the rest of the bar, so it's normal to have a supplement.
As for the room service, it's normal to have a supplement which isn't always 12 euro, for breakfast is 8 euro, as is well reported in the appropriate menu in the room.

SHUTTLE ENDS AT 18:
Our hotel is the only one in Porto Cervo, which provides this courtesy service, with the center shuttle at fixed times, for other services, in other times we have our concierge service can book your taxi or rental car, for all your needs and times.


We are Sorry to learn only now, after His departure, which You didn’t think the our hotel at the level of 5-star that we have been recognized, because we wanted to have knowledge during your stay, and thus seek to give to you all that he could make more pleasant your stay with us.
We highly appreciate the comments and suggestions of our guests and assure you that your assessment has already been taken into consideration and we are always evaluating every possibility to improving the services.
We continually try to improve the service and to satisfy more and more the expectations of our Honorable Guests, however Thank you of His signs, because we will use them constructively, to try to better monitor the services offered.
We will try also to monitor our services even better than we already do, every day, to avoid that in the future others may have the impression that you showed us.


We hope to can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Colonna Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

For a 5 stars hotel the rooms were small and basic. The breakfast was poor in terms of offering and in the morning we always struggled to have our capuchino and coffee (too many people for the numbers if servants). The restaurants were very expensive.
However, very clean and relaxing hotel with a very good external view and the pools were really good. The hotel beach is terrible (rocks and no real sand (artificial and very small beach with a huge slope).
Go to Pevero beach which is near and wonderful!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APC201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Mr. “APC201“,

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to thank You for choosing our Hotel,

I also thank You for taking your time to write this review regarding your stay with us and that You have defined our hotel, as :

“NICE HOTEL” .

We are pleased to know that You was appreciate our Colonna Resort, in particular “very clean and relaxing hotel with a very good external view and the pools were really good”.

However, we regret that your stay was almost perfect, in some way, influenced by the impressions not good compared to :

ROOM
(your room was the standard room, but we have much more spacious rooms and luxurious) ;

BREAKFAST
(in fact we have two big breakfast rooms with two large buffet where customers often confirm to us to find more than you need for breakfast and also the speed of service is normally compliant, we apologize and we are very sorry if you have had a different impression) ;

BEACH
(we are sorry that you didn't find pleasant our beach, which is often considered to be very reserved and privacy).

I highly appreciate the comments and suggestions of our guests and assure you that your assessment has already been taken into consideration and we are evaluating the possibility of application.

We will try also to monitor our services even better than we already do, every day, to avoid that in the future others may have the impression that you showed us.

We continually try to improve the service and to satisfy more and more the expectations of our Honorable Guests, however Thank you of His signs, because we will use them constructively, to try to better monitor the services offered

We hope to can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel. The staff are very efficient and warm. The rooms are fine if not as large as expected. We were lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe suite as we felt the room allocated for us and our teenage sin was too small. The 'deluxe' room was what I would have expected as standard - just a few extra square feet. A lovely resort with plenty of pools and seating even when it is full but very small beach area. The problems are the location, food and wifi. The location is beautiful but there is nowhere within walking distance! Porto Cervo is a €20 taxi ride away. The hotel offer a courtesy bus but the last one is at 6pm and you need to book one of the 8 places available quick. To overcome this we hired a car (the hotel were charging €80 per day but Hertz offered €120 for four days). The food offered at the hotel is ok but nothing special. We booked breakfast only so ventured to the pool bar at lunch which is on the pricey side (€10 for a panini) but quite limited and basic quality. For dinner the restaurant charges €50 per head excluding drinks for a limited menu which wasn't very nice. Be warned; men and boys must wear long trousers which was a pain. Far better food when we ventured to Porto Cervo, Baia Sardinia and Poltu Quatu - ie large pizza €7, bowl of pasta - €10, coffe €2, ice cream €3 etc. Drinks at the hotel are also expensive at €5 for a coke or coffee. Beware they also charge and additional €3 per drink (!) if they bring it to you around the pool.

Finally the wifi is atrocious. As we run a business it is one of the important considerations for us when booking a hotel but I'm afraid this failed miserably! The signal is poor and intermittent and you need to get a new login every day for each mobile device.

Don't get me wrong, this is a lovely relaxing hotel and the staff are lovely but the above issues have been a disappointment and made this a far more expensive holiday than we had envisaged.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WrightFamilyEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Mrs. "WrightFam" ,

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to say thank You for choosing our Hotel,

I also thank You for taking your time to write this review regarding your stay with us and that You have defined our hotel, with the beautiful phrases like :

- This is a good hotel.

- The staff are very efficient and warm.

- The rooms are fine.

- A lovely resort with plenty of pools and seating Even When it is full.

- The location is beautiful.

- Offered The food at the hotel is ok.

we are very Sorry, that your stay with us, almost perfect, somehow, to have been influenced by the things that you reported and we would like to point out that:

- The location of the hotel is from the center of Porto Cervo Marina about 1.5 miles, but it is definitely a very quite, which allows for great relax, although it is certainly true that it is best to hire a car to be able to move more freely, the difference of the prices for the rental car, I'm sorry to know now, but it was definitely due to the fact that the price they had done by the hotel also provided for the receipt and delivery in hotel;

- Regarding the prices for food and drink compared to pizzerias and restaurants of Porto Cervo, certainly ours are more expensive, but also recognize that the service from us is of higher level;

- The Wi fi service normally didn't has problems, but unfortunately in the days of His stay there was a problem with the public telephone line, which has slowed the veocità, for this we apologize a lot, even if not directly depend on us.

We highly appreciate the comments and suggestions of our Guests, in fact, the above considerations we have already been taken to assess the possibilities for improvements.


We hope to can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,
I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5 *****

Porto Cervo - Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

For anyone who has truly enjoyed 5 start hotels & amenities, i.e. Ritz Carlton , 4 Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, etc, this is hotel is FAR from it and will disappoint. Furniture circa 1980, mattresses horrible (perhaps the worst I have ever had in over 30 countries), no food service at beach, horrific wifi that needs a new code every day, virtually no activities for kids other than a 40 euro kayak rental. You absolultely MUST have a car if you stay at this hotel otherwise you are stuck with a 40 euro roundtrip taxi to town. Beware of the "free" shuttle as it only run 4x per day and needs to be reserved (far from easy), which leaves you with no option other than a car of taxi. For the money, I would highly recommend staying in Porto Cervo if this is the reason you are staying in this area as there is so much more to see and do.
As far as beach and pools, again I would rate it average....sure, it's a big pool, but there is no service at the lounge chairs other than drinks (and a 3 euro PER PERSON) charge for that, no hot water in the jacuzzi, and the beach is tiny. If you have ever been to St. Tropez, Maldives, Cancun,Seychelles, do NOT expect that here.
If you are traveling with a family, this is NOT your place, but if you want a very quiet get away for a couple, and don't mind spending a lot, with a below average room and wifi, then this isn't bad.
Lastly, as a business owner, I take feedback and incorporate that into my customers expectations. Notice the replies to any negative review from the GM, won't acknowledge anything bad, and seems to be the customers' issue....beware if you book this place. Now, let's wait for the reply as to why I am wrong.....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

as Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to thank You for choosing our Hotel,

We are Sorry to be able know only now, after His departure, which You didn’t think our hotel at the level of 5 star that we have been recognized, because we wanted to have knowledge during your stay, and thus seek to give to you all that he could make more pleasant your stay with us.

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****

Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A beautiful hotel and truly great luxury service .
We booked our vacation at Colonna Resort, but reading some reviews we had some doubts.
As soon we arrived we realized that the negative reviews and they write that it is not 5 stars is wrong, then  in the days following living the hotel was always more beautiful.
Truly a high level of service, it seems to stay in those hotels that you only see in the movies, but it's all true, really does exist.
The hotel is beautiful, the staff is fantastic, courteous until to create embarrassment, a special compliment to Matthew and Donato on the Pool, Andrea - bar, Marinella Restaurant and Franco in reception.
The hotel is very large, the spaces are huge, so even when there more people, you always feel with lots of privacy and personal attention can make you feel special, like they're all there for you, do not understand how fail to do so, but it's beautiful. Italian cuisine that make the chefs is fantastic.
Will definitely come be back in the next summers and we advise at all.
Go there because it's a hotel to not be missed.
if You go to Porto Cervo and not stay at Colonna Resort is like going to New York and not seeing the Statue of Liberty.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Mr. " Mark R"

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to say thank You for choosing our Hotel,

Thanks also for taking the time to write this good review regarding your stay with us and for the wonderful and very kind compliments that you addressed to our hotel, services and staff, I send to You an special thanks from Donato, Matteo, Andrea, Marinella and Franco, that they are happy to be useful to transform your holiday in a happy experience.

Thank You for recommending our hotel to the readers of Trip Advisor and to your friends.

We hope to can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The fantastc pictures on the web made our expectations vey high. And, yes, the location with all the salt water pools towards the blue sea is one of the best in Europe. And in adition so large that it's never crowded!

But high expectations tends to make dissapointments. Easy to fix is my wife's complain: no matresses on the sunbeds. And mine is: No outdoor bar or even no chair and table at all, and even no shadow at all in the pool area, and no draft beer in the indoor bar.. As you understand I don't enjoy the sunbed all the time. After visiting the gym (which was ok) I like sitting by a table with a draft beer and a book if not watching the sailboats (I'm a sailor too).

And when lunching we both like to sit in the pool area, maybe beneath a patio, with light meals ala carte. Here we have to enter the indoor noisy snack bar (glass walls) with limited menu, or go to the hotel's breakfast restaurant with white tablecloths enjoying the buffet at 30 euro. Not a place suited for wet gear and no shirt. And for us, trying to have light lunches, but better dinners, it doesn't fit. Yes the price is not bad if you are in the eating mood.

Modern resort customers demand choise, not a camp.

And since I'm inspired I give you further advices: Change the "Luxury Shop" into a "papershop" were we can buy magazines, books, sun protections and plastic toys for kids. We went to Porto Cervo for sun protection. And since the "shuttle" is departing only three times a day 12, 16 and 18, tha 20 euro each way taxi was to help. Please change the rare bus service into a true shuttle service.

The staff do a very good job, friendly and polite, and English speaking. The above comments are adressed to the management and owners... Some changes, and we will return, since we like Italy and Sardinia!

Best regards, the Sailor from Scandinavia.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Svein J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Mr. " Svein J H "

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort, I take this opportunity to say thank You for choosing our Hotel,

Thanks also for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay with us and for the wonderful and very kind compliments that you addressed to our hotel, services and staff, as:
- The fantastc pictures on the web made our expectations vey high;
- the location with all the salt water pools towards the blue sea is one of the best in Europe. And in adition so large that it's never crowded! ;
- the gym (which was ok) ;
- The staff do a very good job, friendly and polite, and English speaking ;

We are pleased to know that You have been very well in our beloved hotel.

However, we regret that your stay was almost perfect, in some way, influenced by some structural aspects that you mentioned, but I would like to explain the reasons, which were considered:

- sunbeds matresses, in fact we don't put the matresses on the sun loungers on the beach and pisina (despite them we have), because we noticed that it is not very comfortable for those who use the sunbeds later, after it has been used and washed by another person before, we prefer to provide better a few more towels to customers who have a need;

- Pool Bar, in fact, our Pool Bar is an outdoor bar, the glasses that aren't high to the roof, it's only to repair the wind that in Sardinia is sometimes very strong, but they are transparent and allow to see the sea, the pools and the beach;

- Limited menu bar, You've eaten at the snack bar, it's the POOL BAR, where we serve salads, toast, sandwiches, club sandwiches, etc. . Being a bar, the choice usually it's evaluated adequate. If it were a restaurant it's sure isn't correct the menu, but it's a bar, the POOL BAR, not restaurant. The PAGODA RESTAURANT is just a few meters away from the bar and pool, where we have a huge buffet with a wide variety of appetizers, main courses, the chefs cooking at the grill Directly to views of customers, dessert buffet with salads and fruits Directly the sea view and pool view. This is our service restaurant near the pool.

- Books at boutiques, We promise You that We consider your recommendations about the need to have to sale books at our boutiques.

Sorry to learn only now, after His departure, which did not think the our hotel at the level of 5-star that we have been recognized, because we wanted to have knowledge during your stay, and thus seek to give to you all that he could make more pleasant your stay with us.

I highly appreciate the comments and suggestions of our guests and assure you that your assessment has already been taken into consideration and we are evaluating the possibility of application.
We will try also to monitor our services even better than we already do, every day, to avoid that in the future others may have the impression that you showed us.

We hope to can extend again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and remain at your disposal for any need or request,

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards.

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo – Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at Colonna Resort with two kids and the first thing I should say, it is not a place for families. Any sort of activities or services for children is missing (except for a babysitter which you can book in advance). Rooms are clean, but a bit old and the bathtub was partially out of order.
Lunch buffet is 40 EUR per person and dinner EUR 50. So if you book only breakfast, you would spend some money if staying in the hotel.
The nearest restaurant is 2 km away and taxi charges you 20 EUR one way. Walking is an option, but there is no pedestrian zone.
In general the location is overpriced due to it vicinity to Porto Cervo.
Oh, and wifi is terrible.
In general I think the hotel might be nice for couples and those who have rented a car and are mobile, but only for a couple of days as hotel offers no activities at all.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pupazzzina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano-Lai, Direttore generale at Colonna Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Mr. “Pupazzzina“,

as General Manager of the Colonna Resort , I take this opportunity to say thank You to choosing our hotel and I also thank You for taking Your time to write this review regarding Your stay with.

The maitres explain to every persons, on the restaurants entrance, that :

The Restaurant FOR LUNCH, where we have a huge buffet with a wide variety of appetizers, main courses, the chefs cooking the mit and the fish at the grill directly to views of customers, dessert buffet salads and fruits directly with the sea view and pool view.
The cost for a buffet it’s €. 30,00, per person, that it’s a correct price.
The cost for buffet, plus meat and fish from the grill, it’s €. 40,00.


The Restaurant FOR DINNER, in the panoramic floor, near the hall, has a daily menu that changes every day, which costs €. 50,00, but also has an à la carte menu where you can choose only the individual dishes.

We hope to give You again a most cordial Welcome to Porto Cervo and we remain at Your disposal for any need or request.

I take this opportunity to send my Best Regards .

Stefano Lai
General Manager

Colonna Resort, 5*****
Porto Cervo - Costa Smeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
1.3 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#8 of 21 in Porto Cervo
301 reviews
2.8 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#6 of 21 in Porto Cervo
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
#10 of 21 in Porto Cervo
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
153.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
857 reviews
76.0 mi away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Resort

Address: Loc. Cala Granu | Via Capo Ferro KM 1.8, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range: £142 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first time visitor of COLONNA RESORT, which is about 2 Km from Marina of Porto Cervo, is struck by the orderliness, by the streets, by the villas, the lawns, the rocks, the perfume of the wild vegetation, by the view of the entrance way of the old port of Porto Cervo, that harbors, in the medium and high season, the most beautiful and exclusive boats in the world. THE HOTEL The COLONNA RESORT extends in an area of about 60.000 m², near of the "Cala Granu" beach, in the north of Porto Cervo. The Resort, with sober lines typical of Mediterranean architectural style, it's surrounded by a 50'000 m² park spotted with strawberry trees, myrtle plants and junipers, where the sea, the hills and the surrounding green are the natural frame of this exclusive dwelling, dominated, often, by granite of its confinement walls. Building, sea and nature fuse in perfection, in a unique scenery of rare beauty. THE ROOMS The Resort includes 250 rooms, with numerous deluxe and Suites, almost all of them with balconies or terraces with sea view, luxuriously furnished with every comfort. All the rooms are reachable through various central lifts from a grand hallway situated in the entrance of the Resort. THE RESOURCES 2 restaurants and 2 bars, open spaces for meeting or congress till 650 persons seated, complete the structure. The Resort also offers a Tennis Club with numerous courts and a practice field for Golf, in addition to various boutiques, wellness centre, private garages some of which covered, heliport, a hotel at the beach with the necessary solariums in wood, and coves cut out of the Northern Sardinia rocks. Other services include the choice of different field trips, by boat or with private cars, in addition to the renting of cars, motorbikes and chartering of speed boats. THE SWIMMING POOLS The pools of sea water with solariums, waterfalls, islands and hydro massage corners, are located on different levels and from the rooms reach out to sea, often with extraordinary waterfalls. The solarium and the pool have a surface area of about 8500 m2 . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Colonna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Hotel Porto Cervo
Colonna Resort Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing