We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveller rating
175
45
26
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
45
26
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscala di volpehigh costprivate beachcosta smeraldalobby barlunch buffetsspeak loudlypool restaurantstay was wonderfulclassic styleoff the chartsamalfi coastgelatooutdoor gymmain restaurantcold cutsturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 271 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

From arrival we were stunned with the beautiful location and the design - it is a postcard perfect type of place. The colourful walls and little towers reminisce a fairy tale castle. Absolutely well preserved and immaculate with manicured lawns and emerald water bay.

Staff are extremely courteous and helpful. The food is fresh and plenty.

Few suggestions:
• I would recommend more fresh vegetables at breakfast buffet and a selection of healthy seeds to top up the porridge or the fruit salads.

• It will be nice to have some service around the main swimming pool during the day.

• We could hear our neighbours through the wall every morning and maintenance staff speak loudly in the mornings on corridors.

• The room card was addressed to Mr only despite that Mr and Mrs were booked and checked in :)

The rooms are airy with beautiful decor and plenty of space. Beds are uber comfortable and cleanliness overall is spotless.

Everything is immaculate and beautiful. We shall definitely come again and can't recommend it enough.

Massive thanks for your great work!
The Maréchals

Stayed: October 2017
Thank LoriMarechal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Mrs & Mr Maréchals,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.
We are extremely happy to hear that you found yourself in a paradise. That is exactly how we want our guests feel, specially through our continuous and dedicated service.
We will also take into consideration your suggestions as we already plan some innovation in breakfast meal. While during the operation hours of swimming pool we have barmen walking around in electric scooters and taking orders.
What concerns the welcome card. This is written by hand and personalized to every guest early in the morning before the arrival. If the reservation already contains the name of accompanying person we always entitle it to both guests. So we are very sorry should this may caused inconvenience. Thank you again for sharing these wonderful days together with us. We all are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We've travelled many times to Italy, but this was our first visit to Sardinia. Hotel picked us up at the airport and we were very pleased to learn that they had upgraded our room to a beautiful suite with a terrific view in honor of our 30 year wedding anniversary(they also surprised us with a bottle of prosecco).. The overall property was beautiful, staff very professional, attentive and in particular the daytime concierge Annalisa and Giovanni were terrific. We were recommended to non-touristy restaurants and interesting towns to visit plus shown the highlights of the island including sunset at Phi Beach, hiking trails and shopping at Porto Cervo. Cala di Volpi delivers a luxury 5 star experience with an international flair and I would definitely recommend it to worldwide travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mara4ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Mara4ski,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Sardinia, specially on such a special occasion! We are very happy to know that our Concierge service, specially Annalisa and Giovanni, was very helpful assisting you in discovering local beauties and gastronomic specialties. We definitely hope to welcome you back to Costa Smeralda as there are still plenty of things to discover!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

If you want exclusive luxury in a setting that is beautiful, then look no further. Everything exudes effortless quality and luxury. The setting is excuisite, the rooms luxuriant, the public areas are tasteful and stylish, the staff attentive and professional, the food is excuisite and the cocktails are to die for. Not cheap, but I have stayed in more expensive hotels that are nowhere near as good.

Room Tip: All are very good
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stirred_n0t_shaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Mr Stirred_n0t_shaken,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and share these wonderful time together. Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that we have managed to create a memorable and lasting experience and this is the greatest satisfaction for us a Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Just had an early evening drink with a few friends. Staff unattentive and arrogant but you can not complain about the view which is absolutely stunning. And as indicated in the title the Bellini is second to none. Beleive me my friends are experts.
So never mind the staff, just go there and enjoy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Mr Thomas W,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. It was a pleasure to have you and your friends with us on those evening. We are happy to know that we proved to be very good at making our Bellini cocktail we are famous for. What concerns your comment on service, probably there was just some misunderstanding or else. We are always very much attentive to our guests and this is not a common thing for us to hear. So hope you may give us a second chance to see you back soon for another portion of our Bellini in order to change your opinion on our service.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

It's the location, historical heritage and the staff that makes this hotel highly desirable to stay in. Everything with our stay was perfect from the greeting, the room upgrade, ongoing concierge assistance, the complimentary Champagne with fresh fruit in the room and the Mercedes chauffeur driven car the concierge arranged that picked us up and took us back to Olbia airport. We were also delighted to be invited to an exclusive Champagne reception in the Bar Pontile midway during our stay by the hotel management which was used as Roger Moore & Barbara Bach's suite in the James Bond film "The Spy Who Loved Me". So, if you're a Bond fan, this is one hotel you have to stay in simply because there are so many locations in and around the property that appear in the film and are still very much unchanged from 1976. Now, let's get the money issue out of the way first that a lot of people have commented about on Trip Advisor. The first rule to truly enjoy your stay at The Cala di Volpe is to simply not look at the prices! The second rule is to remember that they consistently over deliver in the most delightful ways. All the meals here are substantial. Personally speaking, we have a large breakfast from the expansive and varied breakfast buffet along with complimentary Champagne and from then on order individual dishes from either room service, the pool bar or the lobby bar - that way you can pay for individual dishes rather than be tied to the all inclusive prices of lunch and dinner. If you have a big appetite then by all means have all three meals but here's another "secret" tip. If you don't like eating a lot of food in the evening then simply head down to the lobby bar for drinks around 20:00hrs. When you have drinks they immediately lay out delicious large olives, caper berries, nuts, corn chips, Guacamole and a Tuna dip. This is almost a meal in itself and once you get to know the very efficient and totally professional bar staff they will then additionally surprise you by bringing you even more Italian style "tapas" to delight your palate as you order more drinks. There's an impossibly cool vibe as well in the iconic lobby bar as you sip on your expertly made martini. By the way, ensure you try at least one of their exquisitely crafted Bellinis during your stay. Now onto the rooms. The Wifi in the room and all around the property is very good and it was just as easy to do business from anywhere on the property as it is being back home in the office - this was a big plus. The downside to the rooms is the lack of plugs for working in the modern era - there was no plug right by the writing desk for example where you would be working from with a laptop and mobile phone. This annoying shortfall is not confined to the Hotel Cala di Volpe though as many high end hotels we've stayed in still fall short in this regard. We now always travel with a 5 metre extension lead with a double socket on the end and a triple adapter! This way, power from a single socket can be positioned anywhere in any given room where it's required! Remember that part of the heritage charm of this hotel is that it hasn't changed much since the 1960's. Thus, the rooms will always be small along with the bathrooms, the corridors can be noisy despite being newly fitted with Cala di Volpe logo carpet runners and you'll always hear the people in the room next door and above or below you due to the fact of all the surfaces being highly reflective - not to mention the sound from their large flat screen television if they turn the volume up too much...if you need modern sized spaces and acoustic insulation simply don't stay here and moan - go to the usual faceless modern hotel chain that you're used to. We stayed just as their season was winding down so this wasn't a problem but it could be extremely intrusive in high season when the hotel is bursting at the seams - you have been warned! However, everything worked perfectly in the bathroom and the Aqua di Parma toiletries were generously supplied throughout our stay on a daily replenishing regime. The maids were cheery and obliging and kept everything spotless, along with a good supply of fresh towels, bed linen along with a first rate turn down service. One inconvenience though is to have to call the very efficient room service for a simple coffee - the hotel's excuse of fire regulations / health & safety regulations not allowing a Nespresso style coffee machine ( with complimentary coffee capsules along with tea making facilities) to be installed doesn't cut it. If the Gritti Palace in Venice ( part of the same luxury collection group and also falling under identical Italian fire and health & safety regulations) can supply all these facilities in a building that's centuries older than the hotel Cala di Volpe then where's the problem? Regarding a simple ironing of clothes too it's somewhat inconvenient to get housekeeping to do these all the time especially if you're in a hurry as it can take some time to get your clothes back - far simpler to pack a small travel iron...but these are minor issues - would we stay here again? Yes, in a heartbeat!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank TopTripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Top Tripie,

First of all thank you for the time you dedicated to share you wonderful experience at the Cala di Volpe and thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to read your comment and this will be definitely spread within our Team as the experience we try to create to our guests is a result of the daily contribution and dedication of the staff working for more than 30 years here and transmitting the core values to our junior associates. We are very happy to know that we have managed to reach your expectations and create memorable and lasting experience.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are very much looking forward to welcoming yo back "Home".

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews