We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“In the middle of nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Hotel Pitrizza is quite different from the usual hotels with corridors and lifts. The place consists of acres of greenery everywhere, with all kinds of trees. And the rooms (or bungalows, sort of ) are scattered  in this beautiful surroundings.
For those who like tranquility, this is ideal as the hotel is quite isolated. Porto cervo is only 10 min. taxi......but the hotel has no shuttle, so you have to go and return with taxi. When I was in Splendido hotel in Portofino, the hotel provided a naveggio every 20 min that takes you down to the piazzetta. It was quite convenient.
The food is very good and the fresh fish is excellent.......though it is overpriced.
We have been to quite pricey hotels, like Ritz Paris, Capri.palace, 7 star townhouse Milan....but this hotel will cost you much much more.
But Costa Smeealda is what it is ! And if one can afford it, go for it. You'll not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms all have a terrace ......but if you want one overlooking the beach, you,ll find it as Full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Pitrizza, Direttore generale at Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Mirbog,

We are really pleased you had such a good experience in our hotel and that you were able to appreciate the many beauties it has to offer. The Pitrizza Hotel is the perfect place where to enjoy calm and tranquillity while gently spoiled by our dedicated staff. It is renowned for its refined restaurants where to enjoy the freshest local products, the excellent service and an impeccable attention to details. We do our best to exceed our guests’ expectations and to make every visit of theirs unique. For all these reasons our resort with its 58 villas has always been appreciated by its worldwide clientele, especially in August that is peak season in Sardinia; therefore, prices also reflect the higher demand during such busy period. We would like to invite you to also consider coming to visit us in either May or June, when the nature looks in all its splendour, or even in September, when you might take advantage of really convenient offers and special packages.
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion, which is really important to us in order to always improve, and look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    13
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
16
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We have returned to the Pitrizza repeatedly for many years. Yes, it is expensive, but in our experience it is worth it. The Pitrizza is the more discreet than flashier hotels on the island (for example Cala di Volpe). With just around 50 rooms it never feels crowded. The hotel is not well equipped for small children but it is ideal for couples. The setting is magnificent, the rooms are lovely, and the food is wonderful. We are surprised by some of the negative comments in other reviews regarding the staff, because we find them very agreeable and committed. We love this place.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HLB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Pitrizza, Direttore generale at Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear HLB99,

We are glad to know that after many years our hotel is still capable of making your visits so special. We make every effort to give our guests the finest treatments and constantly try to go beyond their needs and expectations. From our enthusiastic and attentive staff to the hotel’s great location, everything is done to offer an exceptional experience to our customers. The Hotel Pitrizza is the ideal destination for those seeking calm and privacy at very close quarters with nature in one of the world's most romantic settings.
It is very much appreciated you were able to perceive all this and that you took the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor so that the whole community can be reassured about the real level of service all guests will receive while staying at our hotel.
We thank you again and hope to welcome you back really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Excellent hotel, location, Food however was overpriced, poor selection and not in keeping with the standard of the hotel. My wife and I were both ill after the first meal. (Dover sole) and all the manager had to say was "nobody else is complaining" disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Pitrizza, General Manager at Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Dear Dickydavis109,

We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Pitrizza and appreciated its beauty and location. However, we are sorry to learn that our restaurant did not meet your expectations and we would like to assure you that this inconvenience does not reflect at all the high level of service we strive to extend to all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again so that you will be able to enjoy the full great experience our hotel can certainly deliver to its guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

WHAT A RIP OFF! RUDE STAFF, LOWSY ROOMS and BAD ATTITUDE FROM EVERYONE at the hotel. Could not get a taxi without a fight from the front desk. They would only recommend restaurants affiliated with their hotels. Room service took hours to deliver and we had to ask 4 times to have our mini bar refilled with water, wine, etc.. the gym was outdated and the spa with filthy!
Not to mention it was waaaay overpriced for the quality of service. DON'T EVEN BOTHER WITH THIS PLACE, YOU WILL REGRET IT!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank JandCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

I contacted the hotel advising them that I planned to take afternoon tea for my partners birthday. I was contacted by the bar manager, Aldo immediately. He bent over backwards to ensure that our visit was very special indeed. The service and kindness he and all the staff we came across provided, including Andy the chef, was exceptional. This little corner of heaven is bliss and the staff cannot do enough for you would highly recommend a visit - thank you Aldo

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2007

this is a hard review to write because we did enjoy our stay but would not go back.
i have wanted to go to Sardinia for 12 years, at first for my 40th birthday and ended up going at 52. i have been looking at the different starwood resorts over the years and after way over thinking it picked the Pitrizza. i picked it because it was small which i like and a friend had recomended it. the hotel is very nice and the people that work there were great. i was worried about the room being dated but they were very nice. the sheets, the towels, and the bathroom which are important to me were all great.
the work out room is very small with limited equitment. example:
they only have one matt which is very small to do any floor work, you have to go out on the lawn to use the matt because the work out room is to small to use the floor. we like to work out in the mornings and then maybe go for a walk, there is no where to walk , so the work out room is it. the hotel grounds and the public areas are beautiful, the beach is very nice but small, we swam in the ocean which was great.
we did not eat at the hotel so I can not comment on the food.
we rented a car and went out for meals. we liked getting out and about to see something new and to explore. there were a lot of good resturants, beautiful beaches and fun little towns to see.
going into porto cervo to see the sail boats was great.
we love to travel and I really like small hotels so i am not sure how to put into words why this did not do it for us. i think there is just no magic to the place. this was our 5th time to italy, we were in Italy for 3 1/2 weeks and loved every minute of it and cant wait to come back just not Pitrizza.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank barbara sanders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2007

We tried to book the Hotel Pitrizza in Porto Cervo, Sardinia, Italy through TripAdvisor but received notification that they were fully booked for the dates we desired. This was incredible to us since the rooms with 1/2 board begin at !,200EUR!!! We then rented a cottage & went to the Hote Pitrizza for cocktails. Lovely view and the staff was very nice.

The next evening, we decided to have dinner at the Hotel Pitrizza. We felt as if we were in a cafeteria. The main waiter was taking our order and "barking orders to his wait staff (in Italian, of course, which I understand" to take care of Mr. so and so who just arrived; get more water for another table; open the wine, etc." It was very distracting and rude. Then when the appetizers arrived, they were cold and tasteless - so we sent them back. Slightly warmer but not hot on the return trip. So were they entrees which really upset me because we had heard this is one of the best hotels and restaurants in the world! When we sent the entrees back, one of the other waiters told me they have been getting lots of complaints.

The head waiter & manager both knew we were unhappy but made absolutely no effort to come over to the table. The whole experience was rushed which is very odd for Italy and we realized that if you are not staying here, they are not that concerned with giving you quality service. This is really too bad because we were going to book for next year and now we are telling as many people as possible to stay away from this place. This was the most expensive and terrible dining experience we have ever had in our lives and we have eaten in some of the best places around the world.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank RSFLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
1.2 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
1.2 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.0 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 35 | Porto Cervo, Costa Smeralda, 06061 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#14 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVILEGED REFUGE OF NATURAL BEAUTY The Hotel Pitrizza is the ideal destination for those seeking calm and privacy in close contact with nature in one of the world's most romantic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitrizza Hotel Porto Cervo
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing