We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing holiday.”
Review of Hotel Le Ginestre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Ginestre
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed at Hotel le Ginestre in September for our honeymoon. We were on a budget but still wanted to go somewhere a little bit luxurious so opted for Sardinia based on its beautiful beaches!! The hotel was probably one of the most reasonable in the area but was still fantastic in our eyes and was perfect for what we wanted, which was a nice week of relaxaion. We had two children at the time that were staying with family while we went for our honeymoon and this was a very rare opportunity to relax, which we certainly did! During the day the pool was very very quiet, usually with only one or two other people around the pool and a lifeguard. We spent most of our time by the pool. However, we did have car hire which I would certainly recommend as the hotel is fairly isolated. We ventured to some of the beautiful beaches and also to the harbour and into Porto Cervo, and also a few miles up the road to Baija Sardenga. Porto Cervo was definately out of our price range for eating out, with some restaraunts serving pizza etc for around 30 - 40 euros each, and the cheapest bottle of wine for about 150 euros! Was nice to see the gigantic yachts and how the other half live though! The food and drinks in the hotel were also pretty pricey but that was to be expected really while staying in this area of Sardinia. We found Baija Sardenga to be just as lovely but much more reasonable, so ate out here most of the time.

The private beach is a short walk away, and not as nice as the other beaches (a little bit sea weedy and stony) but it is still nice to have a stroll down to see it. The rooms are clean and spacious (I have OCD so have very high standards) and our superior room overlooked the pool and in the distance the sea. We stayed half board and the menu was varied every night and the continental breakfast was fresh every day. My only negative is that I was in the very early stages of pregnancy on our honeymoon and suffering morning (noon and night) sickness and did not fancy eating much of my evening meal at all. I felt as though the waiter didnt like us because I was hardly touching my four course meal and was not drinking the wine they were offering. Other than this, the staff were fantastic!

Would recommend this hotel to couples or families wanting a relaxing break with beautiful surroundings! Not for families with young children wanting a more lively holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gh405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    87
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
41
135
5
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We spent 8 nights at this hotel in late September. We can highly recommend it. It is set in a great location with its own small beach which, although rather stoney, offers excellent swimming and snorkelling with the added comfort of sun loungers and towels. We were on half board terms and thoroughly enjoyed all our meals at which a variety of dishes were offered. We had a superior room with a sea view which was lovely and this and the whole hotel were kept spotlessly clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble, Whilst we could have spent the whole time relaxing at the hotel it is worth having a hire car as we were able to go out and find some lovely sandy beaches and also see the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Sarkese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed on B&B basis for 3 nights with our 3 year old. Thought pool area was very nice and kids pool was good. Hotel was very quiet during the day but meal times were busy - it looked like a lot of tour groups
Breakfast was very poor in terms of selection and we tried the dinner one night - not great. Harsh lighting and expensive for what you got. we drove into Porto Cervo and found plenty reasonable places with more atmosphere
Our superior sea view room was compact with small balcony but was very clean and nicely updated. Staff was friendly enough

Location was very good and the private beach though rocky was lovely and very safe for kids and relaxing for adults with hotel life gaurd - plenty towels and a golf buggy to give you a lift if you didn't fancy the 5 min walk

Overall we were pleased with our visit (most important things for us were pool and beach) but thought €450 per night just wasn't good value. I suspect it probably works out quiet well as part of a package so if price was right I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Sea view is distant Rooms tend to be small in size so not sure paying for a superior room was worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sive2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel was beautiful and immaculate.All the staff were pleasant and friendly,always ready to help.There was a small private beach with rocks to climb taking you round to other bays.The swimming was safe and snorkeling was a must.The scenery was stunning.A car is a must as the hotel isnt near anything and there was no public transport,taxis were very expensive.The food was good with lots of fish dishes,and the bar food was excellent.Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Higher floors would give the best views of the bays.The balconies on ground level were a bit over-l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eddie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked the holiday as a family of 4 - the first time in four years as our "children" had fallen out of relationships earlier in the year. With 2 rooms its certainly not cheap but I strongly suggest half board as the food and service was brilliant and a cheaper option than eating in Port Cervo. The staff were great and related well to the family suggesting which clubs to target etc.... Sea views were superb. The hotel is very Italian with clay pan tiles - not marble and chrome inside but just very traditional and clean.... We have no complaints whatsoever but its essential to do some research beforehand and a car is vital. The pool could do with an overhaul and a repaint but that's about it. There are better beaches hence the need for a car but the private beach is an alternative to lounging around the pool... Free tennis facility good and the WiFi hit and miss. Room was nice with a large modern bathroom but we missed not having a proper stand up shower - just a bath. Air con struggled at times when it was very hot but didn't need to complain. Just a brilliant holiday...

Room Tip: its luck of the draw but a sea view room is worth the additional expense - but the garden view had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This a a good choice especially with young children, and all staff are friendly. good parking and free.
Not on the ocean as photos would imply but there is a small private ocean beach that requires a good walk or a golf cart
Also a small children's pool, and a larger one but not shallow.
However there is also an excellent restaurant. better than most restaurants in the area and good service.
Lobby Barman, Mauro, is super.
Wifi is not strong, don't count on it.
Not cheap, but a decent value in high season. Hard surface tennis court.
Some evenings there is a too loud 1960s piano player in the lobby complete with toupee mustache elevator shoes, electronic rythym maker and pinkish casual suit. But this is not a joke, he is serious and without talent and hence annoying as hell.

Room Tip: do not get a room on the road side- too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

stayed for 2 wks with my husband July 2012 and I could hounestly say its been the best relaxing holiday ever. Hotel food excellent, excellent service, hotel very clean, staff couldnt do enough for you. The hotel has its own little beach which is lovely but pebbly, which was not a problem for us, its small but we had no problem finding a free sunbed everyday. Pool was lovely too and lots of sunbeds so dont worry if your going in July or August . If you want to visit Sardinia, then you should hire a car. We hired one from Avis and they were very good in delivering the car to our hotel. There is no evening entertainment, if you need evening entertainment then go into Porto cervo, or Spain. There are also some stunning beaches close by the hotel if you have a car. All in all it was a very expensive holiday, but Italy is expensive but you do get QUALITY in everything. Keep up the good work Le Ginestre.

Room Tip: we had room 127 which was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank koo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Cervo hotels
2.3 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Petra Bianca
Hotel Petra Bianca
#9 of 21 in Porto Cervo
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#5 of 21 in Porto Cervo
194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Balocco Hotel
Balocco Hotel
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Ginestre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Ginestre

Property: Hotel Le Ginestre
Address: Porto Cervo, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Ginestre 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Mediterranean-style Hotel with stucco, earth-tone exterior & tile roof situated in lovely ocean-view grounds. Located 1 km far from Porto Cervo in a Mediterranean park with excellent restaurant, private beach, beauty center, gym, and fresh water pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Ginestre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Ginestre Hotel
Le Ginestre Porto Cervo
Hotel Le Ginestre Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing