We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Le Ginestre
Nearby Hotels
US$503
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$456
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonna Resort(Porto Cervo)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balocco Hotel(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$632
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$861
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$404
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$363
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$467
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Petra Bianca(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
122
98
36
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
98
36
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrelaxing holidaypool attendanthalf boardprivate beachbusy roadlovely hotelgolf buggynouvelle cuisinecar hirebar pricescosta smeraldamain roadcheapest bottle of winefour coursesbottled beerorganised tripstayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very pleasent hotel with excellent staff who couldn't do enough for us especially the chap with long hair on the reception desk whom my wife christened Snape! Our first room was dark but they relocated us immediately without any fuss. The room was clean and well served. The pool as always in continental hotels was only suitable for polar bears and penguins.
Plenty of clean comfortable sun beds and a lifeguard in attendance as there was on the very small and somewhat uninspiring private beach. The main drawback to this hotel is its isolation. It is 1.5km to Porto Cerzo along a very busy narrow road with no walking area which was suicidal to walk at night. Porto Cerzo is an artificial EXTREMLY expensive waste of time. No shops just boutiques selling designer goods and overpriced restaurants. If you plan to stay at Le Ginestra, you must have a car. A little further away (10 mins by car) is Baia Sardinia, a very nice resort with a lovely beach, loads of good restaurants (avoid The Clipper) and lots of little interesting shops.
We eat twice in the restaurant of the hotel and was less than impressed with both the overpriced food and the rather unhelpful maitre d'. Breakfast was awful, stale rolls, sloppy scrambled eggs, poor coffee and cartons of yoghurt. There were, however, always fresh sweet hot croissants. Usual continental fare of plastic meat and processed cheese!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Hotel is very welcoming and friendly. We had a great time and would go back again. Whilst it is close to Porto Cervo and you could walk, the road is nasty so a car is pretty much essential.

The Rooms (152 and 145) were quite small by international standards but clean and neat. The beds were comfortable and we slept well (that may have been the wine!) There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room nor is there an iron and ironing board. 152 has great views but also overlooks the terrace which has live piano music on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights which did go on until midnight. 145 is a garden room and the children didn't hear the music.

Wifi costs 6 EUR to activate but that is for the whole stay and we had a pretty good and fast service in the rooms, public areas and by the pool. We found data services on our Blackberry and phones was limited but used wifi to get round this.

The pool is a kidney shaped with a 3m deep end and a segregated paddling area for small children although there were no small children when we were there. At first glance and from the website the pool looks tiny but it is plenty big enough. If you want to train, I think it is a bout 20m at the longest length. The beds around the pool are comfortable and there seemed to be enough.

The beach is a 4-5 minute stroll down a private track. The beach is on a cove which is great to swim in. Not much sea life to snorkel to see but nice and relaxed. There is a shower but not toilet or drinks facilities on the beach. Like much of this coast it is coarse sand that the children will not be able to use for sand castles. There are sea urchins just off the beach so a little care should be taken but this is like most of the coast in northern Sardinia.

The restaurant has a relaxed feel about it. Breakfast is simple but plenty of it and served between 7:30 and 10:00. Lunch in the restaurant is 35 EUR a head and a four course meal. Frankly this is too much for lunch both in cost and amount of food which leaves the pool bar lunch menu. The evening meals are also fixed price at 40 EUR a head. The food was good and well executed. The wine list is pretty good.

The pool bar / lunch menu is weak. We opted to eat out at lunch time and this is the one area the hotel could really improve upon as the sandwiches and salads are plain. A better lunch/ snack menu would make a difference to overall experience.

The gym is small with a running machine, a recumbent bike and a normal bike (all technolgym). A selection of dumbbells and some exercise mats. No sound system or TVs so take an ipod if you like to work out to music.

The only thing I didn’t like was not signing for drinks and meals. Whilst they were accurate with the final bill I just prefer to see what I am paying as I go along.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BHBPCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Excellent hotel with good Facilities, Private beach with lifeguard, rooms are very good and staff are polite and helpful. You do need a Car though as the 5 minute taxi ride to Porto Cervo cost a minimum of 15 euros, walking down is a bit "hairy" as there are no side walks and takes about 20 minutes, I would recommend a walk (going left outside the hotel) at the first junction turn left this will take you to beautiful bay (traffic on this route is not so busy). a you go down this road to the right (just before the bay) there is an Excellent restaurant with wonderful views food is prepared before you (see picture) the fish is fresh that days catch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Datasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Hotel Le Ginestre is set in gorgeous Mediterranean gardens, and is about 30 minutes walk from Porto Cervo along a fairly busy main road. It is advisable to hire a car to explore the area as it is quite isolated. Our room at the front of the hotel did suffer from traffic noise on the balcony. However, once the windows were shut it could not be heard so did not disturb our sleep. We had a classic room, which did not have much of a view, but was clean and comfortable with a good bathroom and air conditioning system. Although the breakfast in the restaurant was very good, the evening meal which was 4 courses and expensive (40 euros) for what was provided was not so good. We decided not to eat there again after the first night, but soon discovered that most restaurants in the area around Porto Cervo are very expensive and with one exception (which cost 116 euros for 2 courses) we did not enjoy the meals which were provided. The staff and service at the hotel were OK, and they were not unfriendly, but neither were they particularly friendly. The pool area was very good with very comfortable sunbeds and the beach was small but pleasant and about a 10 minute stroll down a lane from the hotel. With a few tweaks this could be an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We visited the hotel in 2009 and loved it so much. It was our first holiday together and so peaceful and relaxing which was great in everyday.
The hotel sits outside Porto Cervo so you must enjoy the walking if you want to get anywhere if not be prepared to hire a car or a taxi and they are not cheap!
The hotel has its own private beach and a secluded walked to it which is just lovely. You are well looked after even at the beach and at the hotel. The team are lovely in every way and they are always there if you need them.
The food was beautiful and there was plenty of it if you are a big eater!
The poolside is relaxing and a perfect sun trap!
A must if you are heading to the north of Sardinia
Walk to the bigger beach about ten mins away and walk through some bush trails there are magical quiet corners to cuddle up next to your partner and enjoy the coast line :)

Room Tip: Get a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misu30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews