We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Cervo Hotel is a nice and cosy hotel, but very nosy and the rooms are just ok. The bar plays music until late and doesn't let you sleep and I had to complain every night to make them stop.
The private beach is very quiet and lovely.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank AlbieCrespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cervo, Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear AlbertoCr,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we are glad you liked our hotel and private beach. However, we regret that your stay was disturbed by the live piano music. This type of entrainment, which goes until maximum 1am, is usually well accepted and enjoyed by guests on holiday in a summer resort like ours. We are sorry if it was not the same for you. Normally, when required, our staff is pleased to upgrade guests to a more quite room, according to availability. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back at the Cervo and make you fully appreciate your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This is a classic resort type hotel. The service, from the front desk, to the bar, to the breakfast staff, was all first rate. The rooms were large, as well furnished as they should be, without being over the top. This is a resort, not a big city luxury hotel. Top shelf shopping right there. Awesome yachts in the harbor. Our room was above the pool, with its own (gated) stairs down to that level. The pool was a little too cool to actually swim in but there were no noisy kids running around, either. The boat trip to their private beach was fun, although the private beach was a little rocky, although that's to be expected, given the geology of the island. We enjoyed our stay and wish we had been able to be there longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cervo, Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Patrick D,
We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time in our hotel and you really much loved Porto Cervo and the local area. Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Cervo in Porto Cervo, Sardinia for 6 nights, prepaid, and would have checked out earlier if we hadn't paid in advance! We had just come from a 3 night stay at the new DOM hotel in Rome, which well deserves its 5 star rating!!
At best Hotel Cervo is a 2.5 -3 star hotel ,very tired and out of date.....the cost of food and drinks is absolutely outrageous...impossible to understand how they come up with the prices. The beds are very comfortable but the rooms are just a cut above a dorm room, outdated and very drab!! The bathrooms remind me of school locker change rooms from the 1970's. The pool area(like a Holiday Inn pool) has dirty chaise covers and there is a distinct lack of any decor, you are surrounded by views of the hotel rooms and an old roof in need of repair.The breakfast room is very depressing, no flowers etc..The best I can say is that hotel is clean, the staff are very good at their jobs, and the private beach VIA TENDER. The hotel is living in the past of the glory days, waiting for Frank Sinatra to show up. It is very expensive to stay here and not worth the cost in any way. Definitely not a 5 star hotel, very dissapointed to have spent all that money. Starwood guest beware!

Room Tip: We were shown several rooms after we made it clear we weren't happy with our room, and in such d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mrhilton451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cervo, Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear mrhilton451,

We are sorry to learn that your stay in our hotel was not satisfying, so much that you have considered leaving before. First of all, we regret to learn that the architecture and décor of our property, ideated by the famous Architect Luigi Vietti to perfectly blend with the surrounding area, did not meet your expectations. In relation to the costs, please consider that these can be reflective of the period you visited us, being June already pick season in Costa Smeralda, as also of the type of service given and the unique location of the hotel, right in the heart of Porto Cervo, in the famous Piazzetta, surrounded by world renowned boutiques and the old Marina with its enchanting yachts. As for our breakfast room, its simple style reflects design and architectural philosophy of the hotel, better enhanced by the suggestive view of the emerald sea. We are regretful to know that it was not of your taste. In regards to the pool, only open to the guests of the hotel, we are sorry if the chaise covers were not spotless as usual. We regret that you were not able to ask our staff assistance, which would have promptly solved this unfortunate matter.

We would like to take this opportunity to assure you that we always seeks to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service and it is our sincere hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again. We hope to have you back at the Cervo, allowing us the opportunity to demonstrate the level of service you expect and deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located. It has excellent and friendly staff, great room service, and it lies beside a shopping court with high-end boutiques. It oversees the sea with great restaurants at walking distance.

Just don't expect anything to be cheap. Everything is priced on the high side in Sardinia.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Amine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cervo, Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Amine C,
We are glad to know that we were able to make your stay such a memorable experience. Thank you very much for sharing it with us and other travelers, We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous week in the Cervo Hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. The setting is perfect and the short boat transfer to the hotels private beach was great. We had a superior room which was adequate but simply decorated. The restaurants are all very good but the drinks are very expensive.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are few but we were offered a canal view room which looked towards the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cervo, Manager at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Dorne_13,
Thank you for posting your review, We are really happy you had such a good time during the week you spent with us. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel was a delight! We had booked connecting rooms however upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite. The accommodations great- easy access to the pool and all facilities. Luxurious bathroom for the master bedroom. Terrace for both rooms. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Food at the hotel bar upon arrival excellent and the ambiance fun. The hotel is set into the town so everything is easy walking distance, shops, marina, yet at the same time the hotel does not feel crowded. Service is excellent throughout the hotel- especially the concierges. We had many requests, questions. All were handled graciously and competently. Cannot say enough nice things. We were delighted and will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mexstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Cervo, Owner at Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Mexstein,
Thank you for your stay with us. We genuinely value our Guests’ comments and are pleased when these are expression of their satisfaction. We are glad you had a delightful time and look forward to welcoming you again in Porto Cervo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent the last three nights in the Cervo Hotel and are more than satisfied with our stay. At this time of the year, the beginning of march, it is more than difficult to find a hotel which is open at Costa Smeralda outside Olbia.

We were more than surprised by the fact that we were upgraded to a beautiful Suite with a perfect sea view.There were only a few rooms occupied at the hotel, it was extremely calm in Porto Cervo where more or less 100% of the shops were closed and all the houses were empty. This fact was more than compensated by the nice architecture and especially the extreme kindness of all the persons working here. The rooms we had were decorated in a typical Sardinian style and equipped with all amenities you can expect from a five star hotel.

The breakfast was good with very good warm dishes made to order. We had dinner in the restaurant on the three evening and found that the food was good. The wines are good but very much overpriced, but you pay for the setting, the architecture and the excellent service...

We can definitely recommend to stay here, especially it is the nicest place to stay in Costa Smeralda during the winter season!

Room Tip: The rooms with sea view are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kslawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Cervo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#8 of 21 in Porto Cervo
308 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
693 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#6 of 21 in Porto Cervo
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
0.8 mi away
Balocco Hotel
Balocco Hotel
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort

Address: Porto Cervo SNC | Piazzetta di Porto Cervo, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range: £106 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The heart and soul of Porto Cervo The Cervo Hotel, designed in 1962 by the famous architect Luigi Vietti, is the ideal retreat for those wishing to stay in the heart of Porto Cervo. Open all year, the hotel overlooks the famous Piazzetta of the village, and it is one step away from the most famous boutiques and the Marina with its exclusive yachts. A haven of refined simplicity, which perfectly blends with the surrounding nature and the typical style of the Costa Smeralda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Hotel Porto Cervo
Sheraton Porto Cervo
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing