We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We stayed here for four nights on September 4th – 7th 2007. We arrived at the Oblia airport which is about 40-50 minutes away from the hotel. Expect to pay around 70-80 euros for a taxi. We had high expectations of this hotel given that it was so costly so when we walked in we were surprised at the lobby (don’t expect anything grand – think quaint, old style small lobby). The hotel is about 20 minutes from Porto Chervo so if you don’t want to pay the astronomically high costs for food consider taking a taxi (about 25 euros one way) to town and enjoying a meal there instead. Don’t expect soft sandy beaches and warm water like how you get in the Caribbean / Thailand / Africa– be prepared for ice cold water (and in the pool too) and pebbly beaches. We got bored after the first two days and luckily discovered they had a DVD in the room and complimentary new movies to borrow from the front desk so that helped pass the time. Overall, we didn’t have any problems here but just wouldn’t recommend coming here unless you have a lot of money to waste and can justify spending disgustingly high amounts on food (and if you think their prices are reasonable you’re SICK).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank travelbugbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2007

We stayed at the Romazzino for a long weekend in the middle of September. We had a fabulous stay, the hotel is not too far from the airport, just 30 minutes and you can easily get taxis outside. It's about 70 euros - an earlier review said that the hotel transfer which is 80 euros is not worth paying, but they are virtually the same price so if you prefer to have the security of the hotel meeting you can then arrange for them to pick you up.

We were greeted by the doorman, shown to reception, everyone was very friendly, we were taken to our double room which had a balcony and a view of the sea and bay.

We were on a half board basis, and unusually you can choose lunch or dinner. We never eat in hotel restaurants at dinner, but because we arrived after lunch decided we may as well eat in for our first evening.

The pool is quite large, with plenty of room for everyone, so no sitting squashed with only inches away from the person next to you (like Il Pelicano). There is also a private beach, which doesn't have particularly soft sand but loads of guests seem to spend all day there.

The lunch buffet has to be seen (and tasted) to be believed! It must be one of the best we have ever had. You can have ANYTHING you want, ranging from a salad, to pasta, to grilled meat or fish, to a bowl of mussels, a choice of loads of desserts, ice creams and cheese.

Our dinner on the first night was amazing, the dining room is on a terrace which overlooks the bay, it's lit beautifully and is very romantic. The food is as plain or as fancy as you like. We enjoyed it so much that we ate there on our third night, we were actually so full (from lunch) we didn't feel like going in to Porto Cervo to eat so we asked if we could just have plain grilled chicken, with vegetables and saute potatoes. No problem. Out it came and was perfect!

I think one of the best things about the hotel is that they don't say no to anything a guest asks for. You want something, you ask for it, they get it for you. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

We really loved the Romazzino, we are going to go back next year and hope that it will be a regular destination for us for many more holidays in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sun Lounge Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

I must begin by saying that we visited this hotel with a view to staying there on our next trip to the Costa Smeralda. We are affluent civilised probably rather glamorous visitors - precisely the sort of people to whom this chain is hoping to appeal! Forget it! The service and attitude was dreadful and offhand and we would not now dream of considering this hotel. The location was attractive if rather isolated. The beach was public with the hotel's sunloungers and umbrellas very close together in one section of the beach. Originally we intended to eat at the hotel , despite its astronomical prices, in order to assess the standard. However, when we asked to see the rooms and for hotel details, the staff were so offhand that we changed our minds. We were told that the beach was private, which it is not and the Italian beach boy was very rude. The staff have no idea how to behave. We stayed at the Imperial Vienna, another Starwood place, a few months ago. There the staff were better but still several of them had an attitude problem. We contrast this with The Sacher, where they are delightful. We normally stay at some of the best hotels in the world and it is my view that Starwood has a lot to learn in the department of staff training. I would give this chain a miss!

Stayed: June 2006
13  Thank Arabella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2007

A plan to visit Sardinia's sandy beaches for my honeymoon brought up Hotel Romazzino. Amazing location, right on the beach. It's a luxury 5-star hotel and you can spend your entire vacation here (I stayed 4 nights) - which is good because there is not much else to do in Sardinia.

For 1,500 euro a night, I expect more. Seems a bit overkill to pay 80 euros for an airport shuttle (take a taxi instead), 5 euros for each tennis ball (though rackets and court use is free) and 20 euros for a drink at the beach bar. The dinner menu has no prices listed - I don't care if I splurge, but I'd like to know what I'm getting in to... Same applies to water skiing, etc - why not tell the guests what the charges are?

Still, the restaurant is excellent - since the menu changes every day, you can eat here daily. My room (premium sea view room) had an excellent view of the sea and the moonrise, though it was a relatively small and bare room, for the price.

The beach is not a private beach, only the umbrellas are reserved. The beach is very clean, though, and the hawkers are only a minor inconvenience.

Tip: Order room service, using a menu from the restaurant. It's MUCH cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank megawhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We had 2 rooms that cost $2000/night for each room. That's some major dough so our expectations were big.

I've had better rooms in a cheap hotel. No rugs, no art, cheap furniture. Our "ocean front" room had a peak of the water from one corner of our balcony. The room was small.

I bought some cokes for the kids and I almost died when I got the bill. $14 for each 6 ounce coke. That's so far beyond reasonable and we've stayed at a lot of the best hotels in the world.

I figured the internet would be included but nothing is included. It was only $30/night and only worked on a single computer.

The location is great and the food was great. Everyone was friendly and the service was great. And the Russian hookers working the pool were a nice touch.

I just felt like they took advantage of us.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ko1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

This was the last leg of our honeymoon and it was our favourite! What a gorgeous hotel and we can say without doubt it is one of the most beautiful hotels in Europe. Charm, charisma all with an Italian theme. Just beautiful.

The service was impeccable and the food fabulous! The position perfect! really, we just had the most amazing time. I would highly reccommend this hotel and Sardegna in general.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank caddy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

This hotel is quite difficult to grade. It is in a fantastic fantastic position with among the best views I have ever seen from a hotel room. The hotel itself, public areas and rooms, is all of a high standard and very comfortable. The food and service are of a similarly high standard. The only problem I have is that it simply isn't good value for money. Irrespective of how good a rate you can negotiate for the room, the food and beverage operations charge ridiculously high prices. It appears that the hotel markets itself as being "exclusive" and uses this as the excuse for its high prices, when it delivers a product that is no better than many more reasonable 5 star hotels. Overall an enjoyable experience to stay there, but nowhere near special enough to want to return.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank 1,028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
1.4 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
4 mi away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.7 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
237 reviews
4 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
699 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Abi d'Oru
Hotel Abi d'Oru
#1 of 7 in Porto Rotondo
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Loc. Romazzino, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range: £253 - £1,621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ENCHANTED EMERALD PARADISE The Hotel Romazzino is the epitome of unrivaled indulgent relaxation, perfect for vacationers who want to have a full beach resort experience with a private beach, two swimming pools (fresh water and sea water), tennis court, outdoor gym and an endless choice of leisure and sport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romazzino Hotel Porto Cervo
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing