We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort, average room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great resort, average room”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The hotel is on the hills with rooms spread on the highs ant the pool and bar on the middle plane and the beach on the lowest. The infrastructure is very good with lounges inthe shadows all over the middle plane where is the front desk, restaurant, pool and bar. The rooms are not the best part, although all have a sea view (far away but you can see it!). The must is the Orange Restaurant where you can dinner at affordable prices. The dayly rate is not a bargain but is on the average for Porto Cervo standards. The staff is very friendly and always there for recommendations and other services like car rental, boat tours and others.

Room Tip: Standard room are closer to the main structure and some with balcony. The superior room are at some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    107
    60
    11
    11
See reviews for
52
127
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have just returned from the idyllic island of Sardinia - a truly stunning place where the people are wonderful. The Grand Hotel and its staff were superb and I couldn't have wished for a more beautiful place to practise some yoga. Sardinia Yoga runs its courses here - and for good reason! I would like to make a special mention for Alecsi. He went out of his way to ensure that everyone's stay was perfect including mine. With a cheerful smile and great sense of humour, nothing was ever a problem. Thank you Alecsi!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are higher up and have a little more room with a great view. They are also more q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel itself was nothing spectacular, but the view from the room's balcony was something I really enjoyed. After sunset the hotel pool is lit by colour-changing lights and with the other premises being lighted very neatly as well, it provided a great backdrop for a nice wine&cheese on the balcony. The pool is great for a swim, if you don't like the sea just a short walk away down the hillside. Just be aware of the 30€/20€ sunshades!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottroos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Money has clearly been invested in the pool, the pool bar, the restaurant and the staff - these were all 4*.

However, the rooms...well my room was not 4*. It was clean, there was a mini-bar, but the bathroom was pretty basic - water only came out of half of the shower head! The aircon worked for 75% of the time, but when it was most needed (first thing in the morning as the sun came streaming into my room) it couldn't cope and so I would wake hot and sweaty.

As it was, I was there for a Sardinia Yoga holiday, so I was up and out by 7.30am and returned only twice a day (on average) for showers and change of clothes. I spent the rest of the time sightseeting or laying by the pool, so really - how much did the room disappoint me? Really, not a whole lot (apart from when I was trying to wash the shampoo out of my hair!)...but if they are trying to sell a 4* hotel, all aspects of it should be 4*!

Overall, I loved my time there, but I'd not return outside of Sardinia Yoga...

Room Tip: Try and get a beach view and avoid the rooms where the sun shines straight in when it rises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I am fascinated to know how the hotel categorises its rooms as we were in a 'superior' which was tatty, very dark (rather dated burnt orange/ochre décor) with a leaking shower and bidet and my son was in a 'classic' which was bright, airy with better quality furnishings. Neither room had any tea/coffee making facilities. Having read mixed reviews about dinners offered in the Orange Restaurant we elected not to risk it but part of the 'superior' room package included breakfast there. It was exactly the same every day. Scrambled egg and bacon in the hot tray with omelettes available as a special order. Fruit salad, cereals, cold meats and cheeses, a selection of rolls/toast. OK but not what I would expect from a 4 star hotel. The beach bar (located between the main hotel building and the beach) is expensive - 18 euros for a salad! The pool is divine and very well maintained. All of the staff are friendly, helpful and happy. For us the holiday was made by our fellow (British) guests. A group of us - old and young - got on extremely well and on the penultimate evening sat round the pool until 2am chatting and drinking. Definitely one of the holiday highlights. Porto Cervo is a collection of designer shops situated above a quay where the most ostentatious array of watercraft are moored. Various mega expensive brands of car adorn the quayside and sadly - presumably thanks to Mr Al Fayed - Harrods has a presence. Back at the Grand Hotel a Bentley and a Ferrari were permanently parked in pole positions by the entrance to reception. Given the state of the Sardinian roads I can't imagine that the owners of these vehicles ever get 'a performance' out of these performance cars. So it's all about image and sadly that sort of establishment attracts wanabees and posers. Unfortunately Disneyland for grown ups doesn't appeal so I have paid two trips to the Grand Hotel and Porto Cervo - the first and last.

Room Tip: The superior rooms have the benefit of two sun loungers per room and the use of a quiet plunge pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBird_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed for one week in July with 2 friends. We upgraded to a Superior room and our friends had a basic room, The superior room advantage was breakfast in the Orange Restaurant and sunbeds by our room which we did not use as we tended to use the main pool area during the day.
I must say that the breakfast was basic continental the filter coffee was awful but you could have a cappuccino if you asked, Hot water for the tea was in flasks but not boiling hot so tea never tasted nice if you asked for boiling water the staff never seemed to understand. However our friend breakfast was served by the pool area and was awful nothing was really refrigerated and the scrambled egg was not edible the orange juice seemed more like cordial than juice.
All the staff were quiet pleasant in pool bar and reception
There did not seem enough sun beds at times around the pool area but you could walk down to a private beach but have to pay to use sunbeds there
It cost 20euros for a taxi into town and to the local Restaurants,there is a mini bus from Hotel but 5pm in the evening for only 2 hours is a little early. You do need a car if you want to go out and about as taxis are expensive
You can walk down the road to a few Restaurants but there is no pavement when you come out of hotel also its very hot walking and dark walking back better with a taxi

Room Tip: Superior rooms bigger and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine4939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

this hotel is more 3 star than four, its nice but tired. its 20 euros to p/cervo in a taxi and the cheapest food we had was in the lord nelson pub on the mariner side of the harbour, two club sandwiches and chips, 2x2largers 45 euros total, there is also a supermarket next to the pup if needed.on the whole the place is nice, rocky, hilly, and spread out, its a car hire place for sure.
car hire 4 days 300 euros approx= twingo small car.we stayed here seven days and it was enough
the orange restaurant at the hotel was excellent as far as we were concerned, paulo and bepe were the managers and they are the people that make the place and the staff they have were faultless.set menu for dinner 45 euros pp food very good .p/cervo is a rich persons paradise

Room Tip: you need to go superior to be away from the pool noise, unless you like kids having a good time = no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graduateLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
0.5 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bagaglino I Giardini di Porto Cervo
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
#6 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.2 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo

Property: Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Address: Calata Granu SNC, 07021 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel In Porto Cervo Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing