We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and unhelpful service. Good price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonna Country and Sporting Club
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rude and unhelpful service. Good price.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We did an ad-hoc vacation in Sardinia since we decided we'd have a better idea of what to do and see once we arrived at our destination. I booked my room at this hotel the night before for 120 euros and confirmation was still pending. I checked my email in the morning and still had received no response. When we arrived at the hotel to check-in they said they found no record of the booking and within 2 minutes I received an email saying my booking had been rejected which seemed a bit suspicious. Then they offered the same room for 170 euros or a lesser price if I could get it through a booking agency. The whole time during the check-in the receptionist's attitude was unsupportive and unfriendly. He took the position that everything was my fault because the booking wasn't in their system, which I'd like to repeat was odd because I received an email that the booking had been rejected at the same time I attempted to check-in. The man who took our bags to our room was also unfriendly, didn't smile, look me in the eye, or even say a word to me or my wife. It was a very uncomfortable experience to start off our visit to Porto Cervo. The hotel and the food were decent, but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    73
    46
    25
    8
See reviews for
81
131
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We've been there my pregnant wife & me, early September and have been astonished by the professionalism and listening of the hosts who allowed us to spend a fantastic stay ! plus, the area is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrtin_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Don't be put off by bad reviews pre Feb 2013, as the hotel has had a major turnaround since then with new staff. The service is exceptional with polite and attentive staff at all levels particularly in the restaurant, where they really make you feel special.
Go half board if you can as the 4 course evening meal is superb, fresh and wonderful local produce, and actually works out at very good value as the surrounding area, particularly Porto Cervo is 'sky-high' expensive to eat out.
The pools and surrounding gardens are delightful and so quiet (no music at pool).
The rooms are adequate with a small lounge/hallway, storeroom and acceptable en-suite, but they are now looking a bit dated and lack a few basic facilities.
Perfect getaway for couples and even singles who want to relax for a week and like a bit of privacy, two weeks probably too long as there's not much to do in the area.
Finally, do take a visit to 'Porto Cervo' just to view this Trillionaires Marina Paradise-but keep your hands on your wallet as it's one of the most expensive places on the planet!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We (a younger couple) had some changes going on in our life. So we had to wait till July in order to book our holiday. Wee checked the hotels in Formentera and then asked advice from another couple that we knew was last year in Porto Cervo and this year in Formentera.
They told us to go for Porto Cervo and to book our accommodation with this hotel.
After being their guest we are thankful to them for the advice and I am happy to invite you to chose this location for your vocation.
Of course the hotel is not directly at the sea and you should rent a car for the time of your stay: but it was absolutely fabulous to drive around in the “Costa Smeralda” and see a new beach each day..and of course try new places every day.
We had dinner included in our booking and price quality ratio was good. You are served at the table, you have a good choice and the quality is fine compared to the Swiss German standard. We both have still strong Italian roots and it was strongly above the quality you receive in Switzerland for this type of accommodation and price (!!!).
The prices of the wine and other drinks are absolutely fine.
It is a nice hotels for couples that like to be active, discover and move around or for families. It has e beautiful pool and is quite.
The alternative would be to got out for dinner each evening and my suspect is that you would end up in paying a lot of money and not being fully satisfied.
Tip for car rental: avoid low cost car rentals…it is catastrophic and you will have to wait 2h in line in order to get your car after the arrival.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PhilZH_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The complex, pools and kids play area were great, however the rooms were shocking! Old, tatty and very small. However the whole of that area of Sardinia is very expensive and poor quality ..... So good luck!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarahfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Hotel w rzeczywistości różni się od zdjęć z folderu. Pokoje rodzinne są małe, ciemne , śmierdzące grzybem, słabo wentylowane. W łazience nie było lampy , jedynie żarówka wisiała na kablu... Niesamowite że ten hotel dostał 4 gwiazdki !!! Nie ma tam basenów, tylko brodziki w którym pływały żaby. Obsługa słabo mówiła po angielsku. Jedynie jedzenie smaczne , ale kelnerzy nie znali angielskiego w ogóle. Absolutnie nie polecam !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kasiaKatowice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOL
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We have been travelling through Italy for twenty summers. This is the first hotel we would strongly advise anyone to stay away. The staff is very arrogant and not interested at all in the well being of the non-Italian guests. The quality of the rooms is extremely poor. It is a mystery how the hotel got a four star qualification. One day I was ran over by one of the gardeners. He didn' t even bother to apologise. The Italian version of Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MolPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
0.6 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#5 of 21 in Porto Cervo
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo
#12 of 21 in Porto Cervo
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#8 of 21 in Porto Cervo
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Ginestre
Hotel Le Ginestre
#6 of 21 in Porto Cervo
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
5.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Country and Sporting Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Country and Sporting Club

Property: Colonna Country and Sporting Club
Address: Loc Porto Cervo Marina | via Capo Ferro snc, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonna Country and Sporting Club 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Costa Smeralda is one of the world's most famous and exclusive tourist destinations and a favourite haunt for celebrities and famous names from the Old and the New Continents. Glamour, exclusivity and the area's natural beauty blend in perfect harmony. Nature and architecture blend perfectly in a setting of rare beauty. Visitors arriving for the first time at the Colonna Hotel Country & Sporting are met by perfectly manicured lawns, gardens, avenues, the simple Mediterranean architecture, pastel hues, rock formations and the heady aromas of the Mediterranean vegetation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Colonna Country and Sporting Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonna Resort Country And Sporting Club Hotel Porto Cervo
Colonna Hotel Country And Sporting
Colonna Country And Sporting Club Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing