We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great for a 5 stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We've just spend a couple of days in this hotel. What I'll remember most is the amazing view from our room. The terrace is lovely. The breakfast was really tasty and lots of choices. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for the lunch and dinner. There wasn't much choice and the food wasn't that great. I got fried extremely salty, a tiny portion of pasta for 30€. The room service wasn't great neither, it often took ages for the meal to be brought to the room. We also think that there wasn't enough discretion : maids coming late in the evening and if we didn't hear them, they would just get in the room and waking up everyone. Well, I wasn't impressed by your hotel, sorry...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

Short version: this is a good hotel, but not nearly as good as the website promises.

Long version: when I entered the room I thought someone had been smoking in it. I opened the windows to let some fresh air in, hoping the stench would disappear. No such luck, it turned out the smell comes from the antique furniture.

While the hotel is decorated in old Italian style, it is annoying rather than charming. This also goes for details like the television. All menu's are in Italian, all multi-lingual stations default to Italian sound. The settings menu is blocked, making it impossible to switch to English. At breakfast there are newspapers available; all in Italian. The wall sockets are old style Italian three-pin and there's no adapter in the room. Italy should be a charm, but in this hotel it is just annoying. Do they really think only Italians visit an Italian hotel?

More little nuances: there's no separate shower, one has to stand in the bath tub. The artificial waterfalls in the garden are very beautiful, but also very noisy when sitting on the balcony. The stone floors in the room are very cold. Air vent in the bathroom is always on and disturbingly noisy. Breakfast is decent, but not five star quality. It lacks freshness and decor.

On the plus side: spacious, free parking. Free wifi at reasonable speeds. Well stocked minibar. Exceptionally large bottles (150 ml) of shampoo. Room service is very quick; I asked at the reception and the order was already there before I reached the room!

The Colonna Pevero Hotel should re-design and re-write its website and/or lower prices significantly. If not, there will be more disappointed reviews and guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneColonnaP, Direttore generale at Colonna Pevero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Sir,
First of all I would like to thank you for your visit an for haven taken your time to write a comment about our hotel, that help us to improve and make our guests stay up to their expectation.
In fact the air vent in the bathroom could be for someone noisy, but it stops as soon as you turn out the light on the bathroom.

Just concerning the TV and the newspaper we do not agree. In all our rooms we have SKY TV and Pay per View, and when you turn on your television, there is always a welcome message that gives you the possibility to choose your preferred language between English, Italian, German and French. Sky offers more than 800 channels in about 10 languages.

Concerning newspaper we put in the breakfast room entrance every day some free copies of Italien, English and German Newspaper. These copies are at guests disposal so guests can take it. In the rack at the main bar, there is also a fixed daily edition of an English, German and Italian newspaper. .

We are sorry you did not contact our reception in order to show you how to use the SKY remote control and to keep a copy of your preferred newspaper every morning at disposal in your room. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you next summer.
Paola Mancini
Genreal Manager
Colonna Pevero Hotel Porto Cervo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spend 2 weeks at the Colonna Pevero Hotel. Wonderful and really exclusive location (five star) near Porto Cervo with excellent service and friendly staff fullfilling all wishes and requests. Breakfast and especially grill buffet at lunch with a variety of fish, meat and antipasti choices is really perfect. Rooms are not too big but provide enough space and are well equipped with everything you need. Bathrooms could be more spacious.The amazing pool area with five pools of different sizes in a wonderfull garden surrounding provides enough shady places to relax and you have as well great time to enjoy with kids. Beaches are close although Pevero Beach (max. 5 min. including Hotel Service e.g. umbrella, towels, etc.) is a little bit small. Grande Pevero beach is max. 10 minutes away with much more space and amazing scenery. All in all we had great vacation, kids enjoyed as well very much and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

we stayd 3 nights in this 5 star hotel and had really good time. Amazing swimmingpool where to spend good time of the day. We got a clean and large double room with balcony and good view. The staff is friendly and ready to give good suggestion for visiting Porto Cerco and the surronding area. The breakfast could be better but for the price we paied was OK. At the end we can say: good value for money and will return again in this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We arrived at this hotel with my wife at 8am. Of course the room was not ready, which was not a surprise.

We have been offered to have breakfast in the hotel. It was average at best with decent food and plastic glasses.

We then have been offered to use the swimming pool. They took us to change in the… toilets. No kidding, 1’200 Euros per night and they take you to change in the toilets!

On a general note, the hotel looks like big beach resort, low quality, and no charm.
The beach is a crowded public beach with no service what so ever and plastic chairs.
We had the matrimonial room which was small and the bathroom was minuscule and very dirty.

Stay away from this hotel…

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Geneva_Fats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Was the first stop on our honeymoon (July 2010) and was so disappointing that we checked out the same night. We were given a room the size of a cupboard practically. 2 people plus our 2 medium suitcases couldn't fit! Room was very very dark with a loft ceiling that dropped down quite steeply so you only had a tiny bit of high ceiling. Maybe we got unlucky, but since they knew we were honeymooners they really should have accommodated us better. We found this place to be extremely extremely overrated! Don't be fooled by their pics, websites and ads.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
16  Thank souha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Had a sea facing room for 9 nights and enjoyed every moment. Perfect location to access places like Palau, Santa Teresa di Gallura, Romazzino, and others (note: Sardinia requires a rental car). The hotel staff was always helpful in making our dinner reservations and assisting in our excursion planning. Don't bother with the hotel's private beach area; the beach on the opposite side is fantastic and the pool staff will gladly provide a lift to it in a golf cart. It wraps around a cove with plenty of room for beachgoers and is probably only about 5 feet deep of crystal clear water 75 yards out to sea. Pools are amazing; the hotel restaurant was surprisingly excellent; breakfast and lunch buffets are extremely convenient.

If I had to knit-pick, the hot water heater was unpredictable and didn't make for pleasant showers (going from your desired temperature to burning hot every few minutes). The general manager was aware of the issue and had maintenance working on it though. Also, wasps nest in the downstairs dining area columns and made for some nervous breakfasts while dodging their flight paths. Neither of these would deter me from returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chidawgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Cervo hotels
1.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
2.8 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#3 of 21 in Porto Cervo
701 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#7 of 21 in Porto Cervo
313 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Romazzino, a Luxury Collection Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Pevero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Pevero Hotel

Address: Loc. Golfo del Pevero, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cervo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range: £231 - £1,020 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Pevero Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms, equipped with the latest technologies, are designed to meet any need or wish.The Hotel features 102 guest rooms & suites, two restaurants, three bars, five swimming pools, conference rooms, business centre, fitness centre, Wellness & Beauty centre, private helicopter pad, independent car parks. The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf.The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf. All the rooms feature a private bathroom with bath or shower, direct telephone line (including in the bathroom), satellite TV, pay-per-view cable TV service and wire radio (including in the bathroom), mini bar, lockbox, internet connection, hair dryer, air conditioning, veranda or terrace. Room categories: • Classic room: double room, veranda • Superior Room: double room with a sea view, veranda • Deluxe room: double room with a sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Executive Suite: double room, living room, sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Royal Suite: double room, living room, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace • Presidential Suite: double room, living room, dining room with bar area, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Colonna Pevero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonna Pevero
Colonna Pevero Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing