We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful setting and location but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting and location but overpriced”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The hotel is well designed, modern and comfortable, but would agree that given its 5 star billing it should offer more luxury, particularly as far as the rooms are concerned, which are fine but just not 5 star. The service is good and staff friendly and mostly efficient, however, prices are sky high, particularly for drinks, soft and alcoholic. It has a great location and wonderful setting (near both beach and port), but you do need a car if you're staying for more than a couple of days, but the enjoyment factor is diluted a little by the super crazy prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJohn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    38
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
110
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We spent four nights at the Colonna Pevero, mostly on the recommendations on Trip Advisor. This hotel is not a five star and is certainly not worth the exorbitant prices it demands.

On the plus side, the staff are quite friendly. The five pools are nice and the location, close to the town of Porto Cervo, is a big plus.

On the negative side: the rooms are VERY small. The lighting in the rooms is poor and the amenities are sparse - more like a upclass motel than a 5 star hotel that charges over $500++ a night. The food and drinks at the hotel are super expensive. Be prepared for EUR 20 cocktails and EUR40 lunches per person on average.

Though the service was mostly good, our wake-up call on the last day rang 30 minutes before schedule which was quite annoying. Most troubling of all was the fact that they checked us into the room and the engineer walked in 10 minutes later to say that our bed was broken. We had to complain about it several times before they replaced it.

All in all, an okay experience but certainly not one would expect for this kind of money and for a hotel with 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
197 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

The hotel is beautiful, very modern decor and spacious room and bathroom.
The pool is very nice a lot of space and sunbeds.
The breakfast is great, lot of options but not as big as an american buffet.
The staff is very kind.
But the highest point is location, location and location.
The hotel is very close to the best ( and most expensive) hotels in Sardegna and Porto Cervo, the luxury center of Sardegna.
Close to the best beaches in North Sardegna.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adribuccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

I have just come back . The rooms are a bit small for a 5 star hotel but perfectly adequate. The swimming pool arrangements, 5 different ones coming down the hillside, are quite exceptional. We went half board , the dinner was excellent, each course cooked individually and therefore fresh and the service was firstclass. Probably because the manager was always on hand and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Experiencd_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I was part of a group traveling throughout Sardinia and as a group we were split into 3 different hotels. The manager of this hotel made sure everything was perfect. Bellmen waited outside in the parking lot as we drove in. Rooms spacious with lovely views. Breakfast varied and plenty. Bellman waiting on the first floor right at the elevators for us to help with luggage in the morning. Granted, they were all on their best behavior but it was very impressive, nevertheless. I highly recommend this propery.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We stayed at the Colonna Pevero for 10 days in July with our 2 and a half year old daughter and our ten month old son. The hotel is not really set up for children but the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly with the kids. The children had room service every evening on the terrace and the chef would prepare some great dinners for them (including pureed food for our son).

We managed to get half board which I would recommend if travelling with kids. We booked a baby sitter for some evenings but for others they would just serve us dinner on the terrace of our room (at no extra cost).

The 5 swimming pools are gorgeous and the smaller ones great for kids (most of the time we would just have a pool to ourselves ).

The beach is one of the nicest beaches in the Costa Smeralda and its great to have an area just reserved for guests of the hotel. The walk to the beach is about 5 minutes.

I agree with some of the reviews that maybe the rooms / bathrooms are not up to the standards of the best 5 star hotels but its not something that really bothered us.

I would definitely rent a car if staying at this hotel as there is not much at walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BdBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Being a very demanding person it took me a week to select a hotel in Sardinia where I went with my fiance in July 2008. We first boooked a diffgerent hotel but after i read a few comments here I changed it to this one at the very last moment and did not regret at all.

Staff: great, pleasant and very helpful. Manager met us personally at the reception and took to the room. We arrived earlier so had to wait for about 30 minutes for the room to be ready but were taken to the terrace and offered as many welcome drinks as we wanted. I asked if they do not have a watermelon juice which I usually drink when in India and was told that unfortunately not. But manager heard it and it was very kind of him to arrange a fresh watermelon in the room. Girls at the reception were very helpful.

2. food: they have only 1 restaurant. Siesta starts at 3pm and ends at about 19:30. During this time you can have snacks only at the bar. Food is very good. We were going to different places for dinner though changing them every day.

3. Rooms are not big, but if you go to Sardinia to spend your time in a room then dont go at all. Room service was excellent. We had room 610 - perfect sea view.

4. There is almost nothing around the hotel which is normal for Sardinia. You will need to take taxi to Porto Cervo (20 euro on eway) and to Baja Sardinia (35-40 euro one way).

5. This is not a hotel for people counting every euro. I wouldnt say it is a 5star hotel but very close. Prices are far from being low but not very high as well - average for this region. Dont forget that it is Porto Cervo - one of the best resorts and so called VIP Paradise.

6. There is a nice club next to the hotel (opened just when we were there) - it is noisy and makes your nights not so quite as you want. It was the only bad thing about the area.

7. Beach is about 7 minutes walk from the hotel. There are 2 beaches, one is very close to the hotel but we were going to another one (about 600 meters walk) which was really nice. Hotel has it's own service at this beach so you pick up a voucher and get your place free of charge.

I would not recommend this hotel for families with the small kids.

All in one - great hotel, we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Euroedmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
2.8 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.1 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Pevero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Pevero Hotel

Property: Colonna Pevero Hotel
Address: Loc. Golfo del Pevero, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cervo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Pevero Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms, equipped with the latest technologies, are designed to meet any need or wish.The Hotel features 102 guest rooms & suites, two restaurants, three bars, five swimming pools, conference rooms, business centre, fitness centre, Wellness & Beauty centre, private helicopter pad, independent car parks. The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf.The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf. All the rooms feature a private bathroom with bath or shower, direct telephone line (including in the bathroom), satellite TV, pay-per-view cable TV service and wire radio (including in the bathroom), mini bar, lockbox, internet connection, hair dryer, air conditioning, veranda or terrace. Room categories: • Classic room: double room, veranda • Superior Room: double room with a sea view, veranda • Deluxe room: double room with a sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Executive Suite: double room, living room, sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Royal Suite: double room, living room, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace • Presidential Suite: double room, living room, dining room with bar area, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonna Pevero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonna Pevero
Colonna Pevero Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing