We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonna Pevero Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Porto Cervo
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is a great hotel led by the attentive and helpful general manager. Pools above the hotel peaceful and secluded. Lunch which was included was probably the best we have ever experienced, mozzarella and tomato, parma ham and melon, and the grilled swordfish particularly good. Waiters very friendly but not pushy. Spa again very well run. Rooms are on the small side but bathrooms are modern and were well stocked. Only small gripe was there was no concierge. Overall the hotel staff made for an outstanding holiday

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freshmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    36
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
32
107
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

I stayed at Colonna Pevero with my wife in August 2010 during a short trip to Sardinia. The hotel is located about 10 minutes away from Porto Cervo and has a great location that is within walking distance of a very nice beach. The hotel is very new and is finished in a relatively traditional style with modern accents. Rooms are relatively small but have all the modern conveniences. The hotel has a great pool that is set up on multiple terraces and is very large. It is, however, not heated and was surprisingly cool. Breakfast was very good and served in a restaurant overlooking the pool. Service was generally good but at times seemed disorganized. Our one critisicm is that the hotel lacks a sense of charm and warmth that you expect when you visit Italy. Although expensive, the hotel offers very good value for money in one of the most expensive areas in Europe. We have stayed at Le Ginestre in the past and visited the Grand Hotel, compared to those hotels Colonna Pevero is superior based on its location, amenities and finish. If we were to visit Porto Cervo again we would stay at Colonna Pevero.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

We originally booked a two week stay at the hotel, looking forward to a relaxing holiday at a 5-star resort. The hotel is beautifully set in the hills surrounding Porto Cervo, and has great swimming pool facilities and a small beach only a 5 minute walk away. The breakfast buffet is very good, and the waiters friendly. That is pretty much where our positive experience ended.

The rooms of the hotel are very small, we could hardly fit our baby's pram next to our bed for him to sleep in. The balcony was also small, and had very uncomfortable chairs (I did see that some of the other rooms had better outdoor furniture). The decor of the room was old fashioned, and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. We let the reception staff know that we wanted a top mattress for the bed, but even if they assured us it would be fixed that never happened.

Food at the hotel was OK, but horribly over priced. A regular club sandwich at the beach bar will cost you 22 euros, lunch and supper at the restaurants were also very expensive, and not corresponding with the quality of the food served.

The service we received from reception staff was very varied, a couple of the guys were friendly and helpful in recommending restaurants and other things, but most of them were not very helpful or friendly at all. An incident made us have to talk to the manager on duty on the day we checked out, and I have to say I have never met a less customer-oriented person at a hotel anywhere! We have tried to contact the hotel and the iti-hotels chain on numerous occations after leaving, but have not received replies to any e-mails or been able to contact them on the phone.

All in all I would say that even if this hotel is set in stunning surroundings and has nice swimming pool facilities it comes nowhere near being a 5-star resort. There are many hotels in the area that are nicer (with equally great views), and (at least when I checked) more reasonably priced. The horrendous service we received from some of the reception staff and the manager does not belong in hospitality anywhere.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank LineRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

The hotel is well designed, modern and comfortable, but would agree that given its 5 star billing it should offer more luxury, particularly as far as the rooms are concerned, which are fine but just not 5 star. The service is good and staff friendly and mostly efficient, however, prices are sky high, particularly for drinks, soft and alcoholic. It has a great location and wonderful setting (near both beach and port), but you do need a car if you're staying for more than a couple of days, but the enjoyment factor is diluted a little by the super crazy prices.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJohn1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We spent four nights at the Colonna Pevero, mostly on the recommendations on Trip Advisor. This hotel is not a five star and is certainly not worth the exorbitant prices it demands.

On the plus side, the staff are quite friendly. The five pools are nice and the location, close to the town of Porto Cervo, is a big plus.

On the negative side: the rooms are VERY small. The lighting in the rooms is poor and the amenities are sparse - more like a upclass motel than a 5 star hotel that charges over $500++ a night. The food and drinks at the hotel are super expensive. Be prepared for EUR 20 cocktails and EUR40 lunches per person on average.

Though the service was mostly good, our wake-up call on the last day rang 30 minutes before schedule which was quite annoying. Most troubling of all was the fact that they checked us into the room and the engineer walked in 10 minutes later to say that our bed was broken. We had to complain about it several times before they replaced it.

All in all, an okay experience but certainly not one would expect for this kind of money and for a hotel with 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KitchieKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
193 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

The hotel is beautiful, very modern decor and spacious room and bathroom.
The pool is very nice a lot of space and sunbeds.
The breakfast is great, lot of options but not as big as an american buffet.
The staff is very kind.
But the highest point is location, location and location.
The hotel is very close to the best ( and most expensive) hotels in Sardegna and Porto Cervo, the luxury center of Sardegna.
Close to the best beaches in North Sardegna.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adribuccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

I have just come back . The rooms are a bit small for a 5 star hotel but perfectly adequate. The swimming pool arrangements, 5 different ones coming down the hillside, are quite exceptional. We went half board , the dinner was excellent, each course cooked individually and therefore fresh and the service was firstclass. Probably because the manager was always on hand and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Experiencd_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto Cervo
2.8 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cervo Hotel, Costa Smeralda Resort
1.5 mi away
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
Hotel Luci di La Muntagna
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Pitrizza, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonna Pevero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonna Pevero Hotel

Property: Colonna Pevero Hotel
Address: Loc. Golfo del Pevero, 07020 Porto Cervo, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Porto Cervo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Cervo
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Cervo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Porto Cervo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Porto Cervo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Colonna Pevero Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms, equipped with the latest technologies, are designed to meet any need or wish.The Hotel features 102 guest rooms & suites, two restaurants, three bars, five swimming pools, conference rooms, business centre, fitness centre, Wellness & Beauty centre, private helicopter pad, independent car parks. The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf.The rooms, most with a sea view, have spacious verandas overlooking the Pevero Gulf. All the rooms feature a private bathroom with bath or shower, direct telephone line (including in the bathroom), satellite TV, pay-per-view cable TV service and wire radio (including in the bathroom), mini bar, lockbox, internet connection, hair dryer, air conditioning, veranda or terrace. Room categories: • Classic room: double room, veranda • Superior Room: double room with a sea view, veranda • Deluxe room: double room with a sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Executive Suite: double room, living room, sea view, sun beds on the terrace • Royal Suite: double room, living room, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace • Presidential Suite: double room, living room, dining room with bar area, sea view, jacuzzi pool and sun beds on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Colonna Pevero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colonna Pevero
Colonna Pevero Hotel Porto Cervo, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing