We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
278
169
75
48
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
169
75
48
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool junior suite golf resort steam bath dama dama pleasant week relaxing place reserving sunbeds very friendly service large balcony beach club a real pleasure monte argentario relaxing days short drive off season negative reviews
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018

I thought it would be nice to spend two relaxing days in the Maremma before going to Rome for the weekend and heading home. I had heard nice things about Monte Argentario and this hotel appeared to be the best option in a very expensive area. I wasn't disappointed.

The hotel itself is very chic and lovely. The lobby is open and expansive and gives a good first impression. We booked a junior suite and the room was spacious and comfortable. The deck was a nice bonus and the bathroom and shower were great. Turndown service included a few bottles of water and the always needed clean towels. All in all the room was very clean and well taken care of.

I spoke to the front desk several times to ask questions about the various towns in the area and they were always very helpful. The instructions for the beach club were thorough and the directions were perfect. The beach club itself was really nice and we had a great day there.

I only ate breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on Dama Dama. The breakfast was very good with a lot of options and good service out on the terrace.

The pool are was terrific. I loved the views from the sun beds of all the greenery. The indoor pool was refreshing and it was cool to swim from there to the small outdoor pool. The whirlpool seats and the smaller hot tub and other spots were all really nice. All in all a very good pool setup.

It was a bit tricky to find the hotel the first time but once I found it I thought it was easy to get in and out. The hotel is in a good location for going to Porto Ercole, Orbatello, etc. And it is so nice to be out in the countryside, where we were able to truly unwind and relax for a couple days on a somewhat busy vacation. All in all I liked the hotel and would go back.

Room Tip: get a junior suite or above
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgentarioResort, Direttore generale at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear KellyC,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you appreciated our hotel, services and facilities. We hope to welcome you soon again in Porto Ercole.

Warm regards
Managing Director
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Booked a stay at this Hotel for 4 nights to play golf as reviews suggested its good. Stayed for one night and checked out next morning after having bitten by Mosquitoes in their dining terrace during dinner on first night. Woke up next morning to realise that my arm and Hand were swollen from Mosquito bites and could not close my fist at all. Went down to reception to ask for a pharmacy. After seeing my arm and hand even the receptionist was shocked and shook his head in embarrassment. He did say sorry and agreed that yes sir we need to do something about this issue in this hotel.
I checked out immediately because its no point staying at a property where I Cannot go out of my room or even play golf. I ha e been bitten by Mosquitoes before as well but no where as worse as this property.
Now I wait to see if they will refund my stay that I have not used.
I would suggest if visiting this hotel then do not eat on Terrace or even stand there.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgentarioResort, Direttore at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Silvia S,
We are extremely sorry for the mosquito bites and your allergic reaction. At this time of the year, mosquitoes may show up after sunset, however usually they last no more than an hour. The use of natural deterrents has greatly reduced the problem. Please consider that our resort is nestled in a high-value natural context surrounded by woods, and all our green areas are certified for their eco-compatibility.
Warm regards
Managing Director
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Great 1st visit to the hotel but a few points disappointed us.

What we loved.

Lovely staff really make the stay worthwhile, the main restaurant very nice, breakfast great choice, loved the golf course don’t be put off by the dry fairways as it’s an eco course.

Design of the hotel was impressive, lovely spa and sports facilities.

What we did not like.

The junior suite is not suitable for families ie 2+1. Very large bathroom but a very impractical bath. Wardrobe is barely sufficient for 1 person let alone 3. When we arrived we complained 3 times about the A/C the room eventually cooled down after 24 hrs we then discovered the true reason why it took so long, when we went onto the terrace the following day we discovered that 1 double glazing window was missing approximately 3.5m x 2.5m. Which in large was the main reason why the room took time to cool. Really surprised that room 217 was rented in this condition ?.

As noted above could have and should have been 5 but......

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Julianrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgentarioResort, General Manager at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Julianrs,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are pleased to read that you appreciated our staff, food and services. We are sorry for the inconvenience with the closet in the room, guests who need more storage space only need to ask our staff, and we gladly provide them with extra dressers and/or clothes stand with hangers. We apologize if this was not made immediately clear. The room was never rented without a piece of window that would affect the air conditioning indoors, it was simply missing an exterior piece for aesthetics. We did have a problem with the air conditioning system on one day, but it was solved in a matter of a few hours.
We hope to welcome you soon again in Porto Ercole.
Warm regards
Managing Director
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Where do we even begin here

Pros:
- hotel lobby is gorgeous although there is no AC now breeze running through
- pool and patio are lovely
- restaurant has great food

Cons:
- THE ROOMS — the air conditioning if you can even call it that, never goes below 26 degrees Celsius, aka 78 degrees Fahrenheit! We had to complain to management on multiple occasions. There was a whole charade of overriding the system that they control from the front desk, alas nobody has any clue what goes on. It was UNBEARABLY hot, and you can’t open the windows as it’s just as hot. If there weren’t swarms of mosquitos we would’ve slept on the patio for a minimal breeze. Additionally, there is a huge difference between your base room which is $400 euro a night, to the upgraded $450 euro a night hotel, so it is worth the price difference.
- hotel is huge and empty, it is a ghost town

We were supposed to stay two nights, but checked our after the first. Management was kind enough to refund our entire stay.

Will never be returning.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank travelladyy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgentarioResort, General Manager at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear travelladyy666,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are very sad to know that the stay did not meet your expectations. We apologize for the air conditioning inconvenience caused by a blackout which, fortunately, only lasted a couple of hours. In any case, all rooms have mosquito nets and, as you indicated, it is pleasant to enjoy the evening breeze. We are happy to know that you appreciated the design of our rooms and for our food.
Warm regards
Managing Director
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

What do i have to say about this hotel. A bit strange review it was good but not a vife star hotel. We spent a whole week with a big group. I will start with the good things, very friendly service in the restaurant and at the pool... nice pool. The golf is nice and beautifull. The breakfast was very good with delicious fresh fruit. The rooms are really not five stars, we had a room with view on the stairs and asked to change. It was not possible even if the hotel was almost empty... the smell in the hotel was terrible... and the most ennoying thing is that half the hotel is in construction. One day they started working at 7.30am with the hammer!! It was not very quiet inside the room, a lot of noise from the corridors. The rooms are not practical, there was one cupboard and no place to store anything. Luckly you don t spend much time in your room. This hotel is good but way too expensive for what you get and is not worth a five star. Maybe nice to stay one night or two and play golf but not for a week.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank pv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArgentarioResort, General Manager at Argentario Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear pv0,
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you appreciated our friendly staff and various services and facilities. We tried to minimize the impact and duration of the temporary works of the new entrance (works that are now over) and are very sorry for the fact that they impacted your stay so negatively. Also, we are sorry for the inconvenience with the closet in the room, guests who need more storage space only need to ask our staff, and we gladly provide them with extra dressers and/or clothes stand with hangers. We apologize if this was not made immediately clear. We hope you will give our resort a second chance and hope to welcome you soon again in Porto Ercole.

Warm regards
Managing Director
Argentario Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews